We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Place”
Review of The Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Gwytherin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

The owners Fiona &Tim go out of their way to make you feel at home. Stayed for surprise birthday weekend in June which was a fantastic choice. Stayed in the Lavender room which was very well presented, spotlessly clean with modern facilities. Had 3 course meal for birthday celebration that Fiona cooked with local produce, which was delicious. Tim looked after us in the bar and we enjoyed the banta with the local farmers. Places visited Bewts-e-Coed, PortMeirion, Porthmadog and the biggest zip wire in Europe at Zip World. Well worth 5stars.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank woolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    11
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
124
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We've just returned home after spending two wonderful nights at The Lion Inn and we couldn't be happier with how well it went. The room was perfect and the breakfast was delicious! We'll definitely be returning soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in the small double and it was more than enough for both of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We`ve just returned home from a wonderful weekend stay at the Lion Inn with my Brother and Sister in Law.
The hospitality extended by Fiona and Tim can`t be bettered and is matched by the stunning food and excellent accomodation.
Nothing is too much trouble and you are made to feel really special during your stay.
We had evening meals and breakfast at the Inn both nights and special dietary requirements were accomodated. All meals were outstanding in every respect, with timings adjusted to accomodate our needs.
The rooms are immaculate, well equipped and homely. We stayed in rooms named Parsley and Sage, both with lovely views of the fields to the rear. They`re a lovely place to recharge after a long day sightseeing in this beautiful area of Wales.
We also made the most of relaxing in the lovely bar and found a most friendly welcome from the locals. Elwyn, "Boy" and "The Squire" entertained us with stories about the tough life they endure as local farmers.
All in all the perfect weekend break. We can`t wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: Our rooms were equipped with Baths and an overhead shower, but some rooms only have shower cubicles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a two night break at The Lion Inn.. We had previously stayed in Betws y Coed, and wondered if we were making the right decision by staying further out into the countryside.. Good decision!! We were made to feel completely at home by both Tim and Fiona.. nothing was too much trouble! The room was beautifully decorated, immaculate in every way, and the definition of pure comfort!
We had booked a meal for the first night of our stay, the food was home cooked by Fiona, and truly delicious!.. The regular 'locals' of the area were really friendly and made us feel welcome.. We would not hesitate to recommend The Lion Inn to our family and friends, and I am already looking ahead to when we can plan our next visit!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leanne-DarrenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Have just returned from a short holiday at the Lion Inn with my husband and very elderly father. Tim and Fiona really couldn't have done more to make us welcome and to make our stay as comfortable as possible. A special thanks to Fiona for going to so much trouble to make me some wonderful vegan meals. I think the spicy vegetables done in coconut milk was my favourite. Will happily recommend it to anyone looking for a well placed, relaxing holiday in a beautiful spot.

Room Tip: We couldn't have stayed in the room called the Bothy because my husband is disabled but it looke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marian008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Last weekend I made a return visit to the Lion Inn with my daughter and we spent two nights at this very special place. There is a great welcome from Tim and both he and Fiona do their utmost to make your stay memorable. Fiona takes a lot trouble with the meals she prepares and uses local produce wherever possible.

Room Tip: Room Rosemary is over the bar area so can be noisy at weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just returned from a two night stay at the Lion Inn and, from the warm welcome we received to the fond farewells after breakfast on our last day, Tim and Fiona were the perfect hosts. The Inn had such a relaxing feel, from sitting around the wonderful open fire with a drink in the bar to those amazing rooms with robes, TV, DVD and WiFi access - the room exceeded all our expectations. Fiona s use of locally sourced produce is a real winner, we had two wonderful meals during the course of our stay as well as those amazing cooked breakfasts.

The Lion Inn was an amazing find, we will return again on our next visit to Wales! Thank you Tim and Fiona

Tony and Jane

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swearly69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gwytherin
6.0 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
9.9 mi away
Groes Inn
Groes Inn
#1 of 1 in Tyn-y-Groes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
6.3 mi away
Black Lion
Black Lion
#1 of 1 in Llanfair Talhaiarn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Inn

Property: The Lion Inn
Address: Gwytherin LL22 8UU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Gwytherin
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gwytherin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lion Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lion Inn Gwytherin in beautiful Wales is a great place to come and eat fresh food, drink good wine and real ale and recharge your batteries. Close to Snowdonia it is a great centre from which to explore North Wales. Dating from the 16th century, but the bedrooms take their design cues from the 21st century - Wales Great Little Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion Inn Gwytherin Hotel Gwytherin
The Lion Inn Gwytherin, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing