We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lion Inn
Nearby Hotels
The Eagles Hotel(Llanrwst)(Great Value!)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$272
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gwydyr Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse(Betws-y-Coed)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Waterloo Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
US$175
US$170
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swallow Falls Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
US$135
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Lodge Conwy(Tal-y-Bont)
US$119
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bryn Tyrch Inn(Capel Curig)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
171
11
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
171
11
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorth waleslavender roomb bfood is locally sourcedffestiniog railwaylocal walksperfect hostszip wirerooms are greatperfect weekendpleasure of stayingexcellent place to staynothing is too much troubletwo nightscooked to perfectionfeel very welcomelittle gem
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2009

We would like to thank Rose for her wonderful hospitality and excellent food. We would definately recommend this hotel and would certainly return.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkAjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2008

We stayed at the Lion Inn from 27 to 29 December 2008 for two nights. Right from the start the signs were good. Many of the other places we tried to book simply did not answer the phone or never replied to emails. As most of the other reviews say, one of the best bits about the Lion Inn is Rose and Dai, the friendliest and most welcoming people I have met running a pub.

They seem to have struck a perfect balance between being a local pub and a modern and stylish B&B. The rooms are as good as they look on the website. Ours was Persli and had a very clean modern bathroom, nicely lit mirror, huge heated towel rail, plentiful bottles of soap, shampoo etc, and an electric shower over the bath. The room was snug, with solid reclaimed wood bed and furniture, nice lights, lovely white linen with a goose down duvet, and stylish Welsh bed rug on top. There is a good sized flat screen TV with DVD and no signal due to the location, so they offer about 60 dvds to borrow – ideal for a weekend break.

The bar downstairs was very warm with a lovely fire, and local Welsh speaking farmers in for a pint. They cannot make a living just from locals, but make a real effort to support the local community which makes it so much better than just being a B&B. There is a room for dining in which was a fraction cool, but as there were only two other rooms booked, all three couples ate in the bar area on the second night, and we all joined in each other’s conversations (good luck with the skiing trek across Greenland Raoul!)

There are lovely walks around the village, and we did one of about 8 miles with great views of Snowdon. Best of all they have printed and laminated not only copies of the large scale maps, but detailed route plans with photos of key landmarks etc!! Rose made us a lovely packed lunch with a flask of tea to take with us. Luckily we had beautiful frosty clear weather – not a given in North Wales in December.

Breakfast was included and was outstanding – bacon and sausage quality was superb. Unlimited fresh coffee or tea, and hand made jam and what may have been home-made bread – more on demand.

The meals were excellent. The menu is limited but it was very good homemade food. Of particular note were the best chips I have ever had!!!! These are handmade, hand-cut and hand fried by Dai, and are just amazing.

The room was £69 per night for the two of us including breakfast. Main courses for dinner were about £9-10 (steak £15) and starters and puds about £4-5.

Finding a place with nice modern, clean rooms, good food, a real pub atmosphere, and stunning service, at a good price is a holy grail for us, and I think we have found it at the Lion Inn. We hope you enjoy it as much as we did. You will not be interrupted by your mobile as it won’t work there!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmccuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2008

the most peacefull,romantic and magical inn we have stayed at.
we are both in our late fiftys,we had an excellent stay not one complaint. excellent food,cask local ale,good wine,and the rooms
are just brilliant. rose and dai are one of the best hosts you could
ever meet, we had a great warm welcome.we will be back to this real gem in the next few weeks.
great stay marg and tom

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PrestatynTonto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2008

This is the second time that I've stayed at the Lion and my opinion of the establishment is in no way reduced.

Getting there is always a problem (this time, we chickened out of the over-the-moors route from Pentrefoelas and instead tried the road from Llanrwst) but, even then, you do begin to wonder if you've got lost until Gwytherin opens up underneath you.

BUT - keep going, because Rose and Dai and the Lion Inn are worth the effort. The welcome that they offer makes you feel like you're back where you ought to have been all along, so you can relax and realise you've arrived where you wanted to be (if you see what I mean).

Rose is the most welcoming hotelier I have ever met. The Lion's "book in" time is 4.00pm but we arrived later than we'd said we would because we stopped to view the river Conwy waterfalls in all their wettest-August-on-record splendour. Not a problem - Rose was concerned that we hadn't turned up when expected, but that was because she was concerned about her guests, not because of her schedule.

And then there's dinner. Dai's cooking and presentation are excellent - try the raspberry and brie won-tuns for your starter - and the service is careful and timely.

The rooms are comfortable, the beds are sublime, and the en-suite bathrooms are the most spotless that I have ever enjoyed.

The only possible fault that I could find with The Lion is that is doesn't offer Internet access, and your mobile 'phone won't work in Gwytherin because of the geography - but if you're going there to keep on-line, why not try staying at work?

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2008

To find an Inn so close to many places of interest but totally away from all the hustle and bustle is unique in itself, but to also find an Inn that was characterful, spotlessly clean, friendly and so comfortable and serving good food is a rarity,well we think this is what The Lion Inn provided during our lovely stay recently, oh and we must mention the locals who were also great fun!
Our visit up Snowdonia arriving via the train had wonderful views and the train ride around the lake was also worth the trip at llanberis and this all only approx. 20 mins away from the Lion.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mounty41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews