We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heaven on Earth”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mountain Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Mountain Lodge Cosy area with log fire under 'crog loft',TV oak dining table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Welcome to Mountain Lodge
Cosy area with log fire under 'crog loft',TV oak dining table
Fully equipped kitchen with breakfast table seating 4
A very tranquil location
Sit and enjoy some of the best views in Wales!
Beautiful oak beam ceiling and heated flooring throughout
Solid Ash kitchen with slate surfaces
Bedroom 1 with a king size bed,TV, ipod station
Bedroom 2 with double sofa bed
Bathroom with rainfall shower and separate bath tub
Early stages of the build
Award winning restoration by Heritage 2000
Stunning views over Worms Head and the Gower coastline
Great views across the Gower coastline
The drive (during the building work)
Preparation for the restoration
The ever changing view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Pembrey, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kim H
Westbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous week, totally away from it all, with only the sound of birds and sheep.
The cottage is lovely, with all you need. We hardly went out as the views were stunning and we enjoyed cooking in the well equipped kitchen. Civilization, including large supermarkets and retail parks are only ten minutes away, if you so desire. Beautiful beaches and the coastal path are minutes in the car. Would highly recommend.......... would live there if I could!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H
Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous cottage with stunning views, perfect for getting away from it all”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Another wonderfully relaxing and restful stay at this fabulous little cottage. We stayed for 5 nights and didn't want to come home! Totally in love with the place and can't wait to return once again in the not too distant future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, peace and quiet and the layout and decor of the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate N
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in an idyllic location”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. It was just what we needed to escape from our busy lives. We love to cook and the country kitchen was top spec and very well equipped. The local butcher in Burry Port is great, do buy the local lamb and cockles! After that just sit back and admire the impressive stone mansonary and carpentry in the cottage, listen to the birds and neighbouring sheep & cows, breath in the sea air and soak up the stunning coastal views. If you're really lucky you'll catch Rob in his jodhpurs upon arrival!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H
Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A little piece of paradise tucked away on a mountainside”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had THE MOST fantastically relaxing, peaceful and restorative 3 night break at Mountain Lodge last week and can honestly say it is the best cottage we've ever stayed in! The cottage is just gorgeous, the location idyllic, the views spectacular - day and night (starry skies like we never ever see at home!) and the owners are great!

The cottage has been beautifully and lovingly renovated to a very high standard and was spotlessly clean. It is very much a home from home (but nicer!) with almost everything you could need (a couple of hooks for damp coats - maybe outside the utility room - would be a very handy little bonus) and some lovely little extra touches which we really appreciated.
I've never before stayed anywhere where I've felt so totally at home, slept so well and gone home feeling so refreshed. It's an absolutely perfect place to escape from it all and completely switch off.

Well done Rob & Ffion and thank you for a wonderful stay - Mountain Lodge is a very special place and we can't wait to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGD197...
Worthing
2 reviews
“Perfect rural getaway”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed for a week in late October. The cottage was everything we hoped it would be - beautifully presented, cosy and private.

Our daughter loved the secret doorway and our dog loved sleeping in front of the wood burner in the lounge!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The armchair by the wood burner!
Liked least: Having to go home!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma M
Truro
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The same as last year - fabuolous place - peace and quiet in bucketsful”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We love this place. It is our second visit and hopefully not our last.

There are so many places to walk, which we love, in particular the Millennium Path which is fantastic. Not forgetting Pembrey forest which also is wonderful.

The peace and quiet at Mountain Lodge is, to us, first and foremost. Hopefully we shall be there next year.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne B
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“the ultimate romantic escape”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

A really enjoyable stay wonderful views from cottage door, extremely comfortable, quiet location. Dog friendly, thoroughly enjoyed by all my dogs we have been home two days and the dogs are still tired from the amazing beach walks! We will be returning to this cottage again, i am already planning my next visit and that is a first for me.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing