We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West Wales Secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ashburnham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ashburnham Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pembrey
Burry Port
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“West Wales Secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a our daughters wedding, very good rooms, excellent food, great breakfast & service. The staff were really helpful and friendly. The room was not that big but was pleasantly furnished. Everything was spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pegaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    45
    19
    12
    7
See reviews for
26
49
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a friends wedding. Nice rooms, good food, great breakfast & excellent service.
The staff were really helpful and friendly. The wedding meal was very good and the room itself was beautifully set up - so pretty and welcoming.
The room was not that big but more that adequate. Everything was spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

After a hard days work I arrived at the Ashburnham Hotel for the first time. I found the hotel very pleasent with the food up to a very good standard. The whole staff where very pleasent and I would like to return here again for another stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escucha, Spain
Level Contributor
633 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We had been here many times before and I knew we would be well looked after, and I wasn't disappointed.
We were met in reception by a smiling landlady who took a moment out from planning a ladies wedding reception to say hello, and then in the bar by a very helpful bar lady. After a couple of drinks she led us into the conservatory where we all had a very enjoyable varied and different meals.
Afterwards we went across reception back into the bar area to round off the night with a coffee and brandy, altogether a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffyby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london via thailand and australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Very relaxed stay at this unpretentious place. Decor may be tired but this is made up for by friendly staff & relaxed atmosphere. Good home made food & draft ales. Excellent value for money. Great location for access to Pembrey forest. Skiing & tobagoning were great fun & the beach rivalled ones on the Queensland Coast (minus the weTher obviously).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbkingsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Stayed for one night, booked a room through laterooms.com at a price of £40 for a double. Upon arrival the room was pretty cold, but the rest of the hotel was nice and warm as was the bathroom. Messed with the control on the radiator, but nothing. Ventured downstairs and mentioned it to the receptionist who then went and flicked a switch in another room, hey presto, heating. It would have been nice to have got into a nice warm room upon arrival but it was soon rectified. It was pretty draughty by the window but next too bad with the curtains drawn. Sky TV in the room which was nice to relax to late evening. Bathroom was superb, couldn't fault it however, maybe a complimentary bottle of shower gel per person would have been nice as the wasn't much in a small bottle.. But no major concerns at all. There was some kind if wedding or party going in downstairs and could hear the music going until quite late on but that was to be expected as when we booked we were warned about that, nothing that a pair of ear plugs didn't resolve! Overall a great stay.

Room Tip: Ok as a base for visiting other places but not much in the local area otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welsh_jo_109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Ontario
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We recently stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and the experience was fine - not great, but fine for a brief stay if you are not looking for luxury. Our room was a good size, clean, comfy bed and perfectly decent and clean bathroom.
Breakfast was also perfectly adequate if lacking a bit on the service side. Staff were friendly. We ate in the restaurant both nights which was a mistake as the food was not good either night.
All in all there's not a lot to say. Value for money on the accommodation side but lacking on the food although they appear to be a popular venue for Sunday lunch and weddings.
A decent 2 star establishment.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TransplantedBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pembrey
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Diplomat Hotel
4.3 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Llanelli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
6.9 mi away
Three Rivers Hotel
Three Rivers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferryside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Llanelli Central West Hotel
9.9 mi away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
4.4 mi away
Vista Hotel
Vista Hotel
#8 of 10 in Llanelli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashburnham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashburnham Hotel

Property: Ashburnham Hotel
Address: Ashburnham Road | Pembrey, Pembrey SA16 0TH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Pembrey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pembrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashburnham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashburnham Hotel; a place to relax and unwind; a place to meet and dine; a place to start your married life; a place from which to play golf, to have a flutter on the horses, to enjoy the exhileration of motor racing, to enjoy relaxing walks in the woods, beaches and coastal paths. From the moment that you arrive at the Ashburnham Hotel, you will feel completely at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Ashburnham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashburnham Hotel Pembrey, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing