We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis in a food and drink desert.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Station Inn

The Station Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
walsall
Level Contributor
207 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Oasis in a food and drink desert.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Pembroke Dock is not the prettiest of towns and the availability of proper beer, properly kept is an extreme rarity. It's very easy to eat badly in this town but difficult to eat well. Thank God for the Station. I've been an occasional but regular visitor for a few years and I'm always pleased. My visit on Monday was exceptional. Two courses for two and three and a half pints for less than £28. Wonderful! Not fine dining but exceptionally fine pub food at low cost. Where else can you enjoy pâté, followed by ham, potatoes and parsley sauce and a decent beef bourgignone at these prices. The menu is surprisingly long and varied, something for everyone. If you are passing through (no one stays) it will be the saviour of an otherwise boring, hungry and thirsty night.
And! Walking distance from the soulless Travel lodge.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBillWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    5
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Very friendly welcome, they even advised me which was the free part of the car park (the far end). Comprehensive menu, all homemade and well cooked. The vegetarian choice is limited but the lasagne was very tasty. 2 mains, 1 sweet and 2 pints (excellent real ale) all for about £22! No hesitation awarding a 5.

Helpful?
1 Thank JICrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Though not the smartest pub in the world, the Station Inn is comfortable, and has pleasant, helpful staff. In fact, everywhere we went in Pembroke Dock people were pleasant. The food was good simple fare and amazingly cheap ( especially compared to Southern England!). We had a curry, which could have done with a bit more spice, but was tasty and home made, and there was plenty of it. An excellent tange of beers, many from micro breweries, complements the menu.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank bookworm59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend visit to Pembrokeshire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Visiting friends in the area, we looked in Tripadviser and, seeing the good reviews, decided to have dinner there. It surpassed our expectations. The menu was quite extensive, food was freshly cooked, generous portions and very reasonably priced. To complete the picture, the service was excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Great food, good portions, nice beer, good prices, amazing staff, lovely building, overall excellent value for money. The live music on weekends and the summer Beer Festival are also worth a try!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank pembs101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Station Inn also viewed

Pembroke Dock, Pembrokeshire
Pembroke Dock, Pembrokeshire
 
Pembroke Dock, Pembrokeshire
Pembroke Dock, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Station Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing