We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what were we thinking?!”
Review of Taberna Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Taberna Inn
Ranked #35 of 42 Restaurants in Milford Haven
Restaurant details
haverfordwest
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“what were we thinking?!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

we passed this place in the car on our way back from a walk and thought it looked nice in the dusky evening light, we could see the welcoming lights and bottles glistening full of spirits. so we went inside.
oh. my . word.
the bar was full of slack jawed yokels, who stared at us like we were from the future, we decided to check out the other room. tables from the 60's and hadnt been wiped since, floor sticky and seating sporadic and mostly broken. for some bizarre reason we stayed for food and drinks which was at best, deep fried and at least cooked i suggest going down to tesco and buying a ready made sandwich. we wish we had.
ugh.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank toxicsgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    6
    2
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasant local pub”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Pretty standard pub menu. Local fish and chips was good, steak less so. Portion sizes tended to be huge. Good value and very handy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jennyj5027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Good food at a Reasonable Price”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We were glad to stumble across this pub as so many in the area seem to be devoted to ripping off the tourists. The Taberna is a proper country pub where locals meet for a drink or a meal. We had a friendly welcome on the two occasions we ate here and had some very nice food - plentiful and well prepared.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Layces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“OK but far too slow getting our meal”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Had our evening meal in The Taberna while staying at a B&B nearby. Quite a nice atmosphere and the food was ok but it took well over an hour from ordering to the food arriving. Not worth the wait!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank walkerSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“after a confusing start, all ended excellent!”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Similar to first reviewer, our little group stayed nearby and wanted to go somewhere local to eat after spending the whole day outdoors. At the first glance you can see that Taberna Inn is a local place and, as it was said, a bit tired. Fortunately for us, all similarities with the experience of the first reviewer stop there :-)

When we entered the place we were greeted by two friendly ladies (one at the bar and one waitress). Apart from two people at the bar we were the only guests. Obviously not accustomed to ten people making orders at the same time, there was a bit of confusion in the beginning. However, the food arrived quickly, there was plenty of it and, although we were all eating different things, we all liked it! The fact that we had the room to ourselves and there was no loud music allowed all 10 of us to participate in conversation, which was very nice change to usual overcrowded places where you have to shout in order for your nearest neighbour to hear you during meal. The prices in this pub are very reasonable – I had a starter (carrot and coriander soup), the main course (southern chicken) and a desert for less than 15 GPB.

In the end all I can say is that this pub has not succumbed to the new “gastro” pub trend (large plates, lots of decorations, small amount of food and large bill) and I loved it!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cybona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taberna Inn also viewed

Milford Haven, Pembrokeshire
Milford Haven, Pembrokeshire
 
Milford Haven, Pembrokeshire
 
Milford Haven, Pembrokeshire
Milford Haven, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Taberna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing