We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it”
Review of Lord Nelson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lord Nelson
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milford Haven
Reviewed 16 September 2011

September 2011
Just spent 2 nights there using the Nelson as a touring base.
Yes the hotel is a little tired in places bit the two single rooms we booked were fine; clean, spacious, interesting views, shower and everything worked.
Food was typical "chain pub" fair but non the worse for that, always well cooked and served.
Breakfast, no complaints, perfectly cooked poached eggs (aka Britnies) every time.
Staff friendly and helpful.
Good beer too!
Value. Not bad for single rooms in a hotel but brilliant if you manage to get one of offers that Brains run (we caught a two nights for the price of one deal).
Would I use this place again, no hesitation.

Room Tip: Ring up and ask if they have any offers running.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2011

Nelson is old and not in a good shape, but that doesn't matter. The room was not fine (and we did not get the view to the sea) and old Tv poor, but all worked. Breakfast was OK and the supper too. The personnel was very helpful, thanks a lot to them. And the atmosphere - we liked that. So lively. Always people downstairs sitting/eating/drinking/discussing...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hannu-Sorsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Twin room very tired and showed signs of damp on ceiling and wall.Missing lamp shades main room light didnt work missing headboard on one bed .door wouldnt close and lock without slamming it.TV only four channels two were sport channels and reception very bad.No hangers in wardrobe .Only one member of staff on at breakfast and very slow.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank terry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

great place for a meal, big servings, fast and friendly service, cheap food. love curry night on a wednesday, curry and a pint for £5.75. will be going back time and time again!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toxicsgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lordnelsonmilford, Manager at Lord Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Thank you for the positive review we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

i stayed here in june 2011 the single room was recently renovated nice and clean lcd tv etc bathroom was also new and clean friendly staff but needed more staff at breakfast food was great and plentyof it would definately stay there again. alan australia

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lordnelsonmilford, Manager at Lord Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Thank you for the positive review we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

My in-laws live in the town. We have been to LNH quite a few times for Sunday Dinner and for drinking. Its always been pretty good but was really disappointed this time. Perhaps my expectations were too high? Also the staff are really friendly, polite - apologetic even. They are just so short staffed. Took ages to order drinks, ages to order food. Food arrived quickly. Couple on next table were complaining about their "roast". Our orders arrived incomplete and one of our party got the bill changed accordingly. The food is extremely basically put together and if I couldn't do better for guests that come as an amateur I would be ashamed. Chips cold. Steak over cooked and chewy. Tasteless and cold - gloopy peppercorn sauce. My 1/2 roast chicken was two luke-warm 1/4s slapped on the plate. Needless to say I was a bit scared to finish them so stopped eating. Veggies from one 1/2 of the party had to be shared with another as she had some boiled pots and fish in white sauce on a plate and that was it. Feel sorry for the staff having to serve this up to people. The Garlic / Cheesy Garlic bread was nice (just as well). The Cider Ice cold (You cant get a decent strength beer on draught in there - probably because "Brains" want to push their Ales?) To be fair others in our group said their Sunday dinners were OK but I was really disappointed esp. as it was a triple-special occasion. I wont be rushing back there again in a hurry. Cant comment of state of Bedrooms.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philjay05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Stayed here 2 years ago and the rooms were terrible, looks like they've refurbished some, I had room 210 which was a large double with a shower (no bath) and can't complain, the bar area needs an update though.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petergbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford Haven
5.4 mi away
Beggars Reach Hotel
Beggars Reach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burton
303 reviews
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Pembroke Dock
Travelodge Pembroke Dock
#1 of 2 in Pembroke Dock
258 reviews
15.1 mi away
Grove Hotel
Grove Hotel
#5 of 6 in St Davids
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Best Western Lamphey Court Hotel & Spa
15.2 mi away
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St. Davids Cross Hotel
#2 of 6 in St Davids
359 reviews
5.8 mi away
Old Kings Arms Hotel
Old Kings Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Pembroke
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Nelson

Address: 9 Hamilton Terrace, Milford Haven SA73 3AW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Milford Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milford Haven
Price Range: £66 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lord Nelson 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lord Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Nelson Hotel Milford Haven
Lord Nelson Milford Haven, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing