We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge lovely rooms”
Review of Lord Nelson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lord Nelson
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milford Haven
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel but noises from beer garden not good when trying to sleep .The rooms were large and clean , good service , nice breakfast and evening meals good and also good for price , only complaint was noise from outside .

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HEIDI G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with my hubby and toddler. We were in a lovely room, which was a good size and was very clean. We had all the facilities we needed, cot was provided and made up too. There was a super king bed and it was so comfy. The room was very hot, no radiators was on, so we opened a window, it remained quite warm. The next morning we requested a fan for the room which was provided, so we were pleased. The breakfast is basic and there is not that much variety but it is easy to be flexible with what you order. They happily served our little one with 2 eggs and some bacon. All the staff were friendly and polite and the service was swift. To be a 5 star maybe try a bit more variety with breakfast and provide decaf coffee. Parking was very easy. I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jempyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed here over night on 20th March. From the bright, cheerful and happy check-in chap to the bar staff, this was a great experience. The hotel is not a world beating place but the staff were great and very helpful, it was clean and tidy and the views across the bay are superb! And for the price (I think it was £59 a night inc breakfast) I really could not fault it - great value for money.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms will offer the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Stayed for 1 night on Saturday 16th March Arrived at 1pm was told check in after 2pm we said we would wait in bar and ordered a drink within 5 mins the young man on reception came looking for us and said he had spoke to Housekeeping and our room was ready 201 on the second floor. The room to the front of the hotel with wonderful views over the Harbour and Marina. It was large with modern fittings, separate sitting area with sofa bed 2 chairs and coffee table. Dressing table and hanging space for clothes. The bathroom was small modern and clean and had really good water pressure for shower and the bath was filled very quickly with plenty of hot water.The bed was very comfortable but could have done with a mattress topper as I could feel the details of the mattress through the sheet. The windows are original and not double glazed so noise from outside could be heard until late but it was Saturday night and Wales had just won the Rugby match against England so we were quite happy to listen to the celebrations, which didn't go on too late. Having a very comfortable large modern room in an Old Traditional Hotel with a bar and restaurant with good food downstairs the Lord Nelson Hotel is well worth a visit especially for £70 B & B. Breakfast was very good too. We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening but instead chose to walk down to the marina to Harbour Master restaurant ( separate review) where we had a fabulous meal of the freshest fish wonderfully cooked, well worth a visit.
The Nelson staff were friendly and professional the visit was a pleasure from check in to check out Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Great tip, price for B&B, then ask for Bed Breakfast and Evening meal. Embarrassingly cheap for what I received at the Lord Nelson a couple of days ago.
Theres a small carpark but on-street parking is free after six. Very easily found. Nice veiw, over the marina, estuary, a ship or two.
Check in was easier than usual, pre-booked by phone. He didnt mind plugging my mobile into his computer's USB to charge up.
Probably one of the best places around to eat so eat in. Specials available, standard menu okay too. HUGE. Too much for me even when hungry. Good Beers (Brains) an extravagent welsh whisky to finish. Footie on TV discretely.
All 3 staff were freindly and genuinely helpful (I can spot, and hate, customer service training. Much prefer staff who are nice without being shown how). Their boss must choose and treat them carefully?
Great room, 202. spacious, huge bed, recently tastefully redone. Warm clean comfy. The original windows let in a little noise compared to modern glazing but I slept very heavily.
At under £75 all-in I had no right to sleep so well !
Outstanding

Room Tip: 202, large recently refurbished comfy king size. Large bathroom with bath and shower - and thank you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Been to visit west wales several times and always plenty to see.
Excellent value, great food and service.
We've stayed in many hotels and the breakfast was one of the best.
Definitely stay again.
Good base to visit all of west wales.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I visited this hotel/bar/restaurant last week, not as a hotel guest. My sister and her partner had rib-eye steak and thoroughly enjoyed it. The menu is reasonable, the food was good and service was Very good. The choice of draught ales/lagers was fairly broad. the staff were welcoming and knowledgeable. Parking at front and rear was good, view from front bar windows and beer garden over the harbour were lovely. Nice clean, friendly environment and atmosphere. I would happily dine here again

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Communinja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford Haven
5.4 mi away
Beggars Reach Hotel
Beggars Reach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burton
303 reviews
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Pembroke Dock
Travelodge Pembroke Dock
#1 of 2 in Pembroke Dock
258 reviews
15.1 mi away
Grove Hotel
Grove Hotel
#5 of 6 in St Davids
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Best Western Lamphey Court Hotel & Spa
15.2 mi away
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St. Davids Cross Hotel
#2 of 6 in St Davids
359 reviews
5.8 mi away
Old Kings Arms Hotel
Old Kings Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Pembroke
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Nelson

Address: 9 Hamilton Terrace, Milford Haven SA73 3AW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Milford Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milford Haven
Price Range: £66 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lord Nelson 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lord Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Nelson Hotel Milford Haven
Lord Nelson Milford Haven, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing