We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Is this really the best on offer?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lord Nelson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lord Nelson
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milford Haven
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,720 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 880 helpful votes
“Is this really the best on offer?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed here with two walking chums at the start of 6 days walking part of the Pembokeshire Coastal Path. Apparently this is the best that Milford Haven has to offer, but we were not overly impressed. My single room was very small, although the bed was reasonably comfy - the other 2 shared a twin room (they at least got two double beds) which was very tatty. The whole place needs some TLC as it is looking very tired.
The bar food was OK (I had home made pie & chips) as was breakfast, but the beer was rather disappointing - just Brains Smooth and later SA, when we were hoping for some real ales.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrumpsDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    42
    29
    12
    24
See reviews for
25
43
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
swansea
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed here for one night as we had a party nearby. The staff were very welcoming and extremely friendly. We asked for a sea view if possible and they kindly gave us one. Our room was spacious, recently decorated and very clean - easily four star standard.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: 203 is a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joycecme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

I travelled solo tracing the lovely Pembrokeshire coast and stayed at Lord Nelson for a night. Centrally located, staff were pleasant, polite and professional. The room I stayed however was too small even for a single bed, but did the job, though the single large window had to be kept open all night to beat the heat was a bit uncomfortable. There was a wedding on that evening at The Lord Nelson, which wasn't specified during the booking. So the sound, music and general drunken bustle didn't help that much. These were possibly incidental and on a different night, I can imagine it might have been just another place I stayed.

Room Tip: Check the single rooms before booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandering_Bloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed here for business and found the whole experience terrible.

Rooms were far too hot in an extremely muggy time of the year the radiators were on full and the window barely cracked open. Room had lights not working and very noisy. King Size room consisted of two single beds pushed together with a massive ridge in the middle of the bed where the mattresses met. Shower was meek, at best!

Hotel food was appalling. Ordered a two course meal, after being ignored at the bar for 15mins by all staff. Waited 45mins for cold mussels, a further 40mins to have the table cleared by prompting staff and asking where our meal was, to be served mojave desert dry tasteless fajitas with a weak apology.

If in the area I would not recommend this if it was the only hotel available. I would sooner camp on a fishing box on the harbour wall!

Truly terrible stay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beavercarr86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milford Haven hotels

Derby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

The rooms are quite big, but there was plenty to pick fault with, dirty bed base, dirty marks on walls, no fans in rooms during extremely hot weather, The house keeping was poor a big dead fly on winder sill and still there the next day even after housekeeping had been in. There was mould round the shower cubicle and the towels were dirty.

We were put on the top floor despite having a new born baby travelling with us. We were offered no help with our bags.

The car parking is rubbish not near enough spaces for saying its a 21 bed hotel think at max they had 6 car park spaces.

The pub menu was expensive and the sandwich selection was not great more traditional fillings needed.



Good points: The pub garden open all night for smokers.

The beds were a good size and sheets changes each day, tea/coffee kettle etc in room, shower cream bath wash provided, The breakfast included in hotel price was good, however I still would not pay 70 per night again for a hotel of this standard at tops I would have paid 50 per night, over priced and not so great

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel this was disappointing !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

There is not much choice in Milford Haven. The Lord Nelson is OK if you're looking for convenience to the railway, marina, docks, etc, and you want to stay in the town itself. The rooms are fine, but the rest of the hotel looks and feels like they haven't quite got their act together. Reasonably priced for what it is but there are better offerings in Pemrokeshire if you don't need to be in Milford. We would use it again, but only because from time-to-time we need a room in the town.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BluedragonWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Very enjoyable stay. Excellent room, good breakfast and very helpful staff. This was one of the best places we stayed on our walk along the coastal path. We didn't eat here in the evening but the breakfast service and food was very good. Although our room was on the front of the hotel the street noise at night was not a problem at all. Recommend you choose this place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRev66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford Haven
5.3 mi away
Beggars Reach Hotel
Beggars Reach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Pembroke Dock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
7.9 mi away
Premier Inn Haverfordwest (North/A40) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Davids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
9.4 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 7 in Haverfordwest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
15.0 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Nelson

Property: Lord Nelson
Address: 9 Hamilton Terrace, Milford Haven SA73 3AW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Milford Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milford Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lord Nelson 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lord Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Nelson Hotel Milford Haven
Lord Nelson Milford Haven, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing