We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of character - and characters!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rhymney House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Tredegar B&B and Inns
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Full of character - and characters!!”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights during May half term and found it to be extremely friendly and very accommodating. The hotel is more like a pub/restaurant with rooms really and is a lot nicer inside than it looks from the outside!! Our family room was pleasant enough with a nice en-suite and our towels were changed daily - not usually expected in a B&B. The staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble - they gave us a lot of local information and were great with our very excitable 7 year old daughter!! We even met and chatted with a few of the locals and had a great evening joining in the quiz and winning it!! The breakfasts each morning were delicious - served to order and even a fresh pot of tea brought to the table - a lovely touch. The area isalso lovely and there are a few nice pubs close by for meals in the evening - we would recommend the Prince of Wales and also the Nags Head - although the hotel does lovely evening meals very cheaply with the best childrens menu i think i have ever seen!! All in all a great little find and we will definitely be back. NB: we didn't experience any superatural occurances but the hotel is suppsed to be haunted!! Ooooohhh!!

Room Tip: Room 4 a good triple/family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smonksey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    18
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
14
13
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

On arriving at the hotel i was immediately made to feel very welcome and was shown to a very spacious room which was comfortable and well stocked with tea and coffee. As this was a business trip i also asked for an iron and board which was promptly delivered to my room. Throughout my stay the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and made the effort to strike up conversation. Although i didn't have an evening meal the breakfast was very good and there was more than enough, so much so that i didn't need to eat again until the afternoon.

The Rhymney House Hotel may not be the most modern and plush hotel, but it has bags of character and staff who go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TommyP330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We nearly drove away but are SO glad we didn't. First impressions don't always count and in this case we were so pleasantly surprised.
A historic building in an industrially historic setting. Wonderful food and a great welcome. After a few hours you feel as if you are at home -or visiting a dear loved relative or friend!
The valleys of South Wales have taken a huge hit from the demise of the mining industry but so much effort has been made to preserve a fascinating heritage for the visitor. From a trip down Big Pit to a walk in Silent Valley -a wonderful 3days and a wonderful atmosphere at the Rhymney House Hotel.
Don't go expecting a modern plush hotel. Do go expecting eccentric interiors, a huge menu for evening meals, warm rooms and a huge breakfast

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We are a family of 5 with 3 young children. We were pleased to find a room large enough to accommodate us all. We had a connecting room. We enjoyed our stay and were happy with the room which was clean and comfortable. We had breakfast each morning and the food was excellent, well cooked and good choice. We had an evening meal the first night we arrived and there was lots of choice. It was excellent also. Although this is also a local pub, we were not disturbed by any noise from the bar or any other guests. Would recommend this as a good place to stay. Don't expect it to be a completely modern hotel, that would not fit in with the character of the place but the facilities are good and clean. The owners are lovely and staff all very helpful. Thanks very much for an enjoyable stay. :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FamilyT79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Stayed here whilst visiting family. Location superb for what we needed. All the staff very pleasant and extremely welcoming. We were made to feel like part of the family. Great to see locals using the venue for food and beer so thats always a good sign. Rooms lovely and clean and comfortable

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Found the place to be clean and tidy. Prices were good throughout. Evening meals and breakfast were excellent. Staff were great and made everybody welcomed. Even the locals were very friendly. I stayed there during the National Eisteddfod week, and it was good to see non-residence coming back for evening meals - night after night as the food was so good! Should I be back in the area - I would definitely stay there again. "A proper home from home"

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeganAberystwyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2010

we had our wedding reception at this hotel.all our friends stayed the food was fantasic and the atmosphere so friendly.cant wait to visit again so many places close to visit

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dido2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tredegar
0.5 mi away
The Prince of Wales Inn
The Prince of Wales Inn
#1 of 1 in Princetown
30 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Cambrian
The Cambrian
#1 of 5 in Tredegar
60 reviews
2.9 mi away
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#1 of 4 in Ebbw Vale
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Coach & Horses
Coach & Horses
#3 of 5 in Tredegar
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Nags Head
The Nags Head
#1 of 3 in Tredegar
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhymney House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhymney House Hotel

Property: Rhymney House Hotel
Address: Rhymney Bridge, Tredegar NP22 5QG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Blaenau Gwent > Tredegar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tredegar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rhymney House, grade II listed building, was built c1801 as the residence of the manager of the Rhymney Iron Company. As a family run hotel we offer a warm welcome to business travellers, tourists and contractors. We are close to the A465 Heads of the Valleys road, which runs between Abergavenny (30 mins) and Swansea (1 hour). We are also close to the A470, which gives access to Cardiff (40 mins) and the M4. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rhymney House Hotel Tredegar, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing