We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedwellty House and Gardens”

Bedwellty House and Park
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Tredegar
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tredegar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bedwellty House and Gardens”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

A Regency villa set in lovely garden and parkland in Tredegar town centre (NP22 3XN). The house was built for the Master of Tredegar Ironworks and houses an exhibition related to Aneurin Bevan. Thw walled kitchem garden is very interesting. Refreshments are available in the Orchid House Tea Room.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank barbiwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    20
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“what a little gem of a place”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Really lovely place to visit. Nice tearoom with freshly prepared food. Visited a few timed now and always welcoming staff. Just a shame this place is not advertised I'm sure loads of people don't even know it's there.

Helpful?
4 Thank laughlen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The biggest lump of coal in the universe”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Now, when you live in a place for a while, you'd be expected to be pretty much unsurprisable by the local sights and sounds.
BUT one thing in Tredegar is beyond all your wildest imaginings. . . .

A LUMP OF COAL wait... THE SIZE OF THE MOON!!!!!

The latte is nice and they even have amaretto syrup to plop into it, and the ice creams have combined with the Brass-Band-Every-Sunday thing, and made the scorching summer of 2013 the stuff of vomiticious guitar-rifflingtonion anthems. (Maybe Bryn Efans, rather than Bryan Adams). We experienced violent mal-de-mer and nearly forehead-tarmac interface scorching due to the vertiginous side-effects of the carousel-roundabout thingy in the playground (DON'T GET ME STARTED on the deathslide and gryoscopic rope-work lever-arch, swing-thing) but nothing really says Welsh Attraction to me than a piece of coal so monstrous in its volume that it requires not only its own postal code, but it has a GDP bigger than Austria and what's more...

...

...

NO LIGHT CAN ESCAPE from its dreadful gravitic pull.
No wonder there are fewer and fewer toddlers in the county of Gwent.

Go To Bedwellty Park.
It is Phenomenal.
(Best enjoyed warm)
DK
And no, I will not post a picture of the coal. The pictures look rubbish.
Go and see it yourself. It will freak you out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Superb Local Attraction”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

A beautifully restored house and garden with a very nice Coffe shop/restaurant which provides freshly made sandwiches, good coffee and a very reasonably priced Sunday Lunch. Disabled parking is available right by the house and general parking just outside. There are some very interesting wartime memorabilia including the memorial to the local men who participated in the Battle of Tredegar Hill in Burma during WW2. Definitely a place to visit for peace and quiet and a Break.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I got married here back in August and we cannot give the place enough praise...they were more than helpful, the food was fantastic!! Matt was just a great help and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for any of the staff...Thank you all for helping make our day extra special :-)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lizzybarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bedwellty House and Park also viewed

Tredegar, Blaenau Gwent
Cwmcarn, Blaenau Gwent
 
Newport, Southern Wales
Merthyr Tydfil, Merthyr Tydfil
 

Been to Bedwellty House and Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing