We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the food and boss!”
Review of The Mountain Air

The Mountain Air
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in Tredegar
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A Family friendly pub that has been running for nearly 14 years with the currant owners. They serve traditional pub grub and have a varied menu which they hope suites most peoples tastebuds. A warm cozy enviroment to relax in while you enjoy your food. They have received certificates from mystery shopper companies for customer service and the cleanliness of this old traditional welsh pub/restaurant. So why not pop to the mount and she how you like it and please feel free to leave us a honest review after your visit or speak to any member of our team.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Avoid the food and boss!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Overpriced, hair found in food more than once, boss refused to accept blame, Sunday roast is way over priced as the roast potatoes were rock hard; the beef tough; mean portions of meat. Don't complain unless your prepared for a fight! On a positive it looks nice and quite pleasant! Beware also: I notice this place is listed as the mountain aie! It's mountain air in case they're trying to avoid the comments!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Mostyn212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMountainAir, Owner at The Mountain Air, responded to this review, 27 May 2015
The last time this Gentleman complained about his meal ,there was supposedly Two hairs on his wifes Gammon and the loaf shaped bread roll supposedly was our attempt at being a restaurant. On that occasion he also complained about a scruffy man behind the bar. That person was actualy me. The staff had called me down to the bar ( I was having a day off) because this gentleman claimed about his wife`s meal having hair on it, but they could not find these hairs. In fact neither could I, and by the time I had looked at the meal and returned to the bar this couple and gone. It is stange that his meals always has hair on it. very very strange.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    31
    17
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice little pub”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

A fairly quiet town with this pub nocely sitiated on the outskirts of town overlooking the countryside. We ordered mixed grills and found the meals well cooked and generous. Good service with nice family atmosphere.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank peter meagan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Totally recommended AAA+++”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stopped here to eat and break up long trip to Wales to see family. Menu excellent and very clear with £5-6-7 meals -incredible value -staff friendly and service very good.

Have never had better pub food and service. Thanks to all.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Cliff1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best sunday roast ever”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Never visited before today but will certainly be back. My son josh never eats his dinner and today he even had seconds! Thank you all for a superb traditional Sunday lunch. Great food great service and so so accommodating. It was very busy and without a booking we thought there is no chance of food today but we were found a table and has a fantastic cooked dinner. Looking forward to our next meal at the Mountain Air Tredegar. Beautiful!!!!!
Thank you!!!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Salwas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great reception”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

went to mountain air on Monday lunchtime well 2.30 carvery had just finished but I was able to still have it and it was delicious , staff were very pleasant and helpful we will return , keep up the good work folks

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mountain Air also viewed

Ebbw Vale, Blaenau Gwent
Tredegar, Blaenau Gwent
 
Tredegar, Blaenau Gwent
Brynmawr, Blaenau Gwent
 

Been to The Mountain Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing