We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Penrhadw Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Penrhadw Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 Pontsticill B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

I booked the Penyfan and Cribyn cottages for a 2 night stay with 10 friends for my birthday in March.

Despite the decor being dated and a bit floral, you couldn't fault the attention to detail that went into every element of the cottages. The kitchens in both the cottages were modern and spacious, enough for all 11 of us to congregate in one in the evenings.

The breakfasts were cooked to order and of a high standard - and the staff serving the breakfast were really friendly.

The accomodation prices are very reasonable considering that breakfast is included. We all had a fabulous time and will definitely be returning at some point in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    11
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
24
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Although the weather was wet wet wet on my arrival the welcome made me feel at home. my room spotless the decor made me feel at home the on suite facilities excellent. The Breakfast Menu was all that one would have in a Hotel but was cooked on order. The staff happy and helpful. This is a must return in my book bu only if the sun shines.

Room Tip: When booking explain if you have any health problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pongo10Wimborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed as a group of 8, family and friends, for 3 nights over the Easter vacation.4 of us were in the B&B and the others, plus 3 dogs, in one of the houses.It would be misleading to call it a cottage as it was very spacious and beautifully appointed.Everyone was so friendly and the breakfasts were great. The cleaning staff were friendly but unobtrusive. We even held a party on the Saturday.
There are some great local walks to help burn off the breakfast calories and I must recommend the "Red Cow" in the village; log fire and excellent Wye Valley ale.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnwTamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Maybe the self catering houses are nice and well maintained but if you are looking for a room, don't stay there, you can find much better around Brecon. We stayed there during easter week end,the B&B is really old fashion, bedrooms are clean but look more like Motel's room,some things are not working( tv, bed side lamp..) the wall between bedroom is very thin you can hear your neighbour sneezing and from 7am smell the bacon they are cooking downstairs in your bedroom!!!! Service on arrival is poor, the only avise they gave was to go to eat to the only pub in the village because they do not serve any food, the pub is not very nice and it took 1hour to be served! The only honest thing about the B&B is the breakfast..

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We were looking for a wind-down weekend after the stress of a family Christmas and we came across Penrhadw Farm. We were lucky.

Arriving on the Friday evening (we only got lost once!) we were welcomed and shown to the room. We stay at a lot of B&Bs and you can tell immediately if a place is loved and looked after. We felt immediately welcome.

Asking about somewhere to walk over a hearty breakfast, we were advised to walk round Pontsticill Reservoir. This is a lovely walk through forestry and around the reservoir itself although the last section is quite steep if you follow the guided route. We made our way down and followed the reservoir. Although not the official route, the path/road along the reservoir makes for a gentle stroll (about 5 miles).

Feeling nicely refreshed we had lunch in the Butcher's Arms in Pontsticill- Good solid pub-grub type menu with a some nice touches. We both had the Thai Curry which was just what we needed - Light and tasty. We went back in the evening - Booking is recommended at weekends as it gets busy.

Feeling nicely relaxed, we spent the afternoon reading and listening to music in the B&B - The lounge is lovely, with views over the hills. They even provide a bowl of chocolates! (Parents be warned!!).

Penrhadw farm is an excellent place to stay for a weekend break with enough to do in Brecon for a longer holiday. Friendly staff, comfortable rooms and great breakfast. The cereals and fruit selection is amazing and the cooked breakfast will really set you up for a walk.

We will definitely be back - to find such a lovely area as Brecon within a 2 hours drive and such a welcoming B&B was great. Next time we are thinking about taking one of the cottages where we can bring the dog.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: Book one of the cottages of you want to bring your dog - Lots of local "Walkies"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimothyTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denbighshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Have stayed here a couple of times now and had a warm welcome each time when arrived. Breakfast is good and the homemade jams are very tasty. You would need a car if you were staying for a few days so that you can go out and explore.
The pub is literally down the road and less than 5 minute walk - great welcome there too, they do serve pub food there and have a lovely log fire when it's cold outside.
Will be using it again and again when in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zala_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Welcoming people, wonderful accommodation in the FSC cottages (bigger than many houses), spotlessly clean, peaceful, quiet, lovely outlook and nice breakfast. The only negative (which can't be controlled by the Farm) is that the local hotel is very popular and has limited hours for meals, so finding somewhere else can be a serious problem. You definitely either need to be prepared or else have a car so you can drive back into town.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_and_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontsticill
3.6 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
#1 of 1 in Pentrebach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
10.0 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
2.5 mi away
Arfryn House Bed and Breakfast
Arfryn House Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Merthyr Tydfil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
5.3 mi away
Beili Helyg Guest House
Beili Helyg Guest House
#1 of 1 in Penderyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrhadw Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrhadw Farm

Property: Penrhadw Farm
Address: Pontsticill, Merthyr Tydfil CF48 2TU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Merthyr Tydfil > Merthyr Tydfil > Pontsticill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pontsticill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Penrhadw Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penrhadw Farm is family run Guest House and holiday homes complex situated in the southern valley of the Brecon Beacons National Park.Established in 1997 whilst owners also running and developing a highly recommended hotel and restaurant in Merthyr Tydfil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Penrhadw Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penrhadw Farm Pontsticill, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing