We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Penrhadw Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Penrhadw Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 Pontsticill B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

This will be the third time I have stayed at Harris Cottage with a group of friends for a long weekend. Excellent location, excellent and quality accommodation, best breakfast I have had anywhere and really helpful and friendly staff.
We shall be visiting again in a year or so, and all of us have no hesitation in recommending this venue. A real gem in a lovely area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toostressedout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    11
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
24
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

Beautiful surroundings, fabulous room (nice and warm, but easy to turn heating off/down if you don't like warm!). Loads of great choice for breakfast, all well cooked and presented. Staff were brilliant, nice mix of firnedly and helpful, without being intrusive. Country walks on your doorstep, and two lovely little pubs a short walk away. Couldn't ask for more, excellent value for money, highly recommended. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Stayed 1 night at this B&B and had the best nights sleep ever.From the fabulous welcome to breakfast in the morning...our stay was perfect.A little bit difficult to find however directions from the owners were spot on.Immaculate room and ensuite with tea/coffee facilities and even offer of fresh milk.Breakfast was a joy with gorgeous mixed fruits and nuts and seeds for cereal as well as homemade cake.The staff couldnt do enough to make you comfortable.The house was immaculately clean and the views(even on a grey day) were so lovely.This guest accommodation is ideal for all sorts of guests from business to sightseers.Ideal base to explore Brecon and surrounding areas.
Thank you to Kath and Co. and look forward to seeing you when next visiting Wales.
Best Wishes Julie and Athena

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaFields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

A remote area but just in the Brecon Beacons and beautiful. Hiking in the area is amazing. This is not a farm but more a B&B and some small houses to accommodate families. Staff is very helpful, breakfast the best and the room was very comfortable. Don't miss the Brecon Beacon Railway.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliviaHayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

In the middle of nowhere - a bit difficult to find even with satnav but very nice when you get there. The staff are most welcoming and friendly, our room was the smallest in the hotel - the 2 single beds parked in corners but we managed OK. Bathroom and shower OK. The lounge was big and comfortably furnished with big furniture and TV - very good. The breakfasts were excellent with every variety of food available including fresh fruit and dried fruit and nuts of every kind - as good as a 5 star hotel!! Will recommend to others.

Room Tip: Ask not to be put in the small room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandalwood40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Great spot.
Travelled to the Brecon Beacon's bank holiday weekend and booked Penrhadw farm after reading reviews on here and it did not disappoint.
The room was very clean and cosy, the breakfast was spot on and just what is needed before a yomp around the lovely valleys.
Kath the owner cannot do enough to make you feel comfortable and welcome, if your ever in this part of the world you would be hard pushed to find a better plae to stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed at the farm for one night during our cycling trip from North to South Wales. We arrived soaking wet and received an extremely warm welcome. Excellent facilities for safe bike storage. Lovely rooms and the best breakfast we had during our whole journey. I would strongly recommend the B&B to anyone - I only wish all the places we had stayed were this good. Another small but positive point was they were perfectly happy for us to come into their kitchen - always a good sign.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 1 , which had two beds , a double and a single - both excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HowardB49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontsticill
3.6 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
#1 of 1 in Pentrebach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
10.0 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
2.5 mi away
Arfryn House Bed and Breakfast
Arfryn House Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Merthyr Tydfil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
5.3 mi away
Beili Helyg Guest House
Beili Helyg Guest House
#1 of 1 in Penderyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrhadw Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrhadw Farm

Property: Penrhadw Farm
Address: Pontsticill, Merthyr Tydfil CF48 2TU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Merthyr Tydfil > Merthyr Tydfil > Pontsticill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pontsticill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Penrhadw Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penrhadw Farm is family run Guest House and holiday homes complex situated in the southern valley of the Brecon Beacons National Park.Established in 1997 whilst owners also running and developing a highly recommended hotel and restaurant in Merthyr Tydfil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Penrhadw Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penrhadw Farm Pontsticill, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing