We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B & great hosts”
Review of Penrhadw Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penrhadw Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 Pontsticill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2006

I booked this on activehotels.com. I was worried from the previous review that it was booked on the internet but was not reliable. I had phoned the hotel directly the day after I had booked it and a lovely lady had reconfirmed it. I also received a phone call on the day of the booking to confirm that I was still coming down which was a nice comfort that they were expecting me. Absolutely great and lovely hosts. Lovely cooked breakfasts with an large array choice including cereals, fruit, croissants and yoghurt. A shame that we couldn't stay longer. I would definitely stay here again if I was staying the Brecon Beacons. If I had to be really picky - the TV did not have all the 5 channels but not a big deal!!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlueBubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for Penrhadw Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2006

Could not recommend hihgly enough. Beautifiul rooms as good or better than any 4 star hotel. Great breakfast, lots of choice. Friendly welcoming staff.

2  Thank zelda7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Dublin,Ireland.
13
Reviewed 29 September 2004

I have stayed at Penrhadw Farm several times in various rooms from doubles to the cottages when bringing a group.The facilities are as good as any 5 star hotel in Dublin,my home town where I have my own taxi business.
The breakfasts are absolutely superb and quite the best I have ever enjoyed.The staff are delightful people,as befits the south Wales people.
I can recommend this place to anyone from World traveller to the day tripper.
Martin Deignan.

  • Stayed: March 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
14
Reviewed 8 September 2004

Well, firstly may I suggest the person that posted the entry that referred to this place being unable to organise a 'p------up in a brewery' actually book again and experience the fact that they very much COULD!!! We booked as accomodation for a training session (a 20km hike across the mountain ridges), and need somewhere that would feed and house us in very much more comfort that the 7 hour walk would provide. We were NOT disapponted. I would conceed that I felt more comfortable re-confirming a booking change the week before via a telephone call rather than e-mail (as we'd been forced to cancel one of the booked rooms), but anyone that's worth their salt would never just submit a internet booking from and just turn up somewhere........(would they??)
The rooms were very comfortable, warm, and well stocked with 'unfeasably big' towels, and more than enough tea and coffee. What's more the breakfasts could feed you for the day (and did!!). The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the local pubs were friendly and welcoming.
The only problem with singing the praise so much of a place like this - that still considers good service to be paramount - is that more people read it and go there, leaving it fully booked for the rest of us!!! ..........but go on treat yourself!!!

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
26
Reviewed 19 July 2004

Our family stayed at Penrhadw Farm's Crybin Cottage over the w/e of 16-18/07/04. We enjoyed....well appointed accommodation, wonderful breakfasts & friendly service in a pleasant location. A good experience from initial booking through to departure. The only downside was having to leave - but we will return!

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Bristol
14
Reviewed 17 May 2004

This place couldn't organise a ---------- in a brewery!! We booked in advance and then were told our booking didn't exist - this has completely ruined a weekend i have been looking forward to for ages.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontsticill
3.6 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
#1 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
324 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
959 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bessemer Hotel
Bessemer Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dowlais
137 reviews
2.5 mi away
Arfryn House Bed and Breakfast
Arfryn House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 11 in Merthyr Tydfil
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrhadw Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrhadw Farm

Address: Pontsticill, Merthyr Tydfil CF48 2TU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Merthyr Tydfil > Merthyr Tydfil > Pontsticill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pontsticill
Price Range: £76 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Penrhadw Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penrhadw Farm is family run Guest House and holiday homes complex situated in the southern valley of the Brecon Beacons National Park.Established in 1997 whilst owners also running and developing a highly recommended hotel and restaurant in Merthyr Tydfil. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Penrhadw Farm Pontsticill, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing