We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb! I wish we'd had the time to stay longer”
Review of Penrhadw Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Penrhadw Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 Pontsticill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Harris Cottage has all the space we needed for two families with young children, the ensuite family room for our friends and the double and twin for us. The large kitchen with its Aga became the focal point of the house and an equally large lounge with a big TV is all the kids could want. The views over the valley are superb and a short drive into the Beacons to the nearby reservoir is absolutely stunning. Everything we needed was ready and the whole experience was friendly and welcoming. A very memorable weekend and excellent value for money, we'll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GWiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2010

If you are looking for old and quaint, this it not the place. However, if you want a place away from the city with convenience, a good breakfast, pleasant and prompt service, that is near a fairly good pub (Butcher's Arms) try this one. It is a little hard to find, especially at night, but the effort is worth it. There is beautiful scenery and it is near enough to Merthyr Tidfyl that you can get to shopping and most anything else you require. Access to main A routes is actually fairly easy with a good map. We drove out from London during a visit from America and found it to be a very good place to stay with good value.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hank4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Spacious bedroom and bathroom, spotlessly clean and furnished to a high standard.
A really warm welcome from all the staff. The breakfasts are wonderful, very plentiful, excellent choice and variety, cooked to order and nicely presented.
The location is very convenient with a range of walks, cycling and fishing in the immediate area.
The local pub [The Butchers Arms?] is very friendly and serves a good evening meal at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueandaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

After staying in B and B's on working farms before, we were under the impression that this would be a similar experience (the clue is in the name). It is a very modern building that looks purpose built as a hotel. The breakfasts were excellent but the place lacks character, and is about £10 per night overpriced.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_edward2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2008

A peaceful retreat away from the big bad world. Friendly, attentive and knowledgeable staff. Freshly cooked and delicious breakfast after your choice of cereal, fruit, yoghurt etc. We had booked a superior room and on arrival were shown to our own 4 bed detached house in the grounds with all amenities. Comfortable, warm, sky TV and a complete dining kitchen.

Would highly recommend if you want to get away from it all. The only negative point is, unlike previous reviewers, our towels were unfeasibly small!

Apart from this, everything was just perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gordies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2008

We stayed at the Cribyn cottage in August 2008. The bottom floor of the house has a large kitchen, a sitting room, and a place for the washing machine. The top floor has two double and two single rooms.

The house is stocked with everything we could think of, including a stove and oven, microwave, washing machine, TV, DVD and VCR. The place is spotlessly clean.

The location is very convenient for touring the Brecon Beacons area, but you'll probably need a car as it is in a small village.

The owners were helpful in any way they could.

Two things missing are a map of walking paths in the area and maybe a few books and DVDs. Otherwise, its simply perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank eladyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2006

I booked this on activehotels.com. I was worried from the previous review that it was booked on the internet but was not reliable. I had phoned the hotel directly the day after I had booked it and a lovely lady had reconfirmed it. I also received a phone call on the day of the booking to confirm that I was still coming down which was a nice comfort that they were expecting me. Absolutely great and lovely hosts. Lovely cooked breakfasts with an large array choice including cereals, fruit, croissants and yoghurt. A shame that we couldn't stay longer. I would definitely stay here again if I was staying the Brecon Beacons. If I had to be really picky - the TV did not have all the 5 channels but not a big deal!!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlueBubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontsticill
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
#1 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
334 reviews
3.6 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
7.7 mi away
The Mount Pleasant Inn
The Mount Pleasant Inn
#5 of 11 in Merthyr Tydfil
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Studios at Glenthorne
Studios at Glenthorne
#2 of 11 in Merthyr Tydfil
92 reviews
2.5 mi away
Arfryn House Bed and Breakfast
Arfryn House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 11 in Merthyr Tydfil
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrhadw Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrhadw Farm

Address: Pontsticill, Merthyr Tydfil CF48 2TU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Merthyr Tydfil > Merthyr Tydfil > Pontsticill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pontsticill
Price Range: £68 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Penrhadw Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penrhadw Farm is family run Guest House and holiday homes complex situated in the southern valley of the Brecon Beacons National Park.Established in 1997 whilst owners also running and developing a highly recommended hotel and restaurant in Merthyr Tydfil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Penrhadw Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penrhadw Farm Pontsticill, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing