We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maison de Bas Villa
Ranked #1 of 2 Vale B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My mother and I hoped another visit to Maison de Bas Villa would be all we hoped it would be and we were not disappointed!
Beverley was just lovely, nothing was too much trouble, she went to great lengths to ensure our stay was comfortable, breakfast was to die for and the room, as ever was spotless. If you have never stayed here, you are missing a little gem on Guernsey! I wouldn't hesitate to go back again and again!
Thank you for another wonderful stay!

Room Tip: They're all fantastic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our room was very comfortable. The breakfast was a great experience and the food was excellent. The main plus point was the host Beverley who went out of her way to ensure your stay was the best it could be.

Room Tip: Herm is a good option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Thanks to Shelley's detailed description we found the B&B easely. It's a beautiful house with very nice and comfortable rooms. We felt right at home. Shelley is a wonderful host, we had a lot of fun chatting with her and she serves a great breakfast including her homemade marmelade and jams. The whole atmosphere was warm and welcoming. I can strongly recommend this place, I know you'll enjoy it as much as we did. We will definitely come back one day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We have just returned home having spent 4 wonderful nights at Maison de Bas Villa. A better B&B would be hard to find anywhere. Beverley made us feel so welcome and couldn't have done more to make our stay so special. From the excellent directions on how to find Maison de Bas (with photographs), the fresh flowers and the home made cakes left in our room each day, to the torches left in the porch for anyone wanting a walk and expecting to get back in the dark – these were such thoughtful touches. We had a lovely room (Herm) with a very large and comfortable bed and really excellent facilities. Breakfast around the large dining room table with other guests, catching up on their previous day's adventures made for an enjoyable start to the day. The choice of food was excellent and the home cooked breakfasts, simply superb. We can't recommend Maison de Bas Villa highly enough.

Room Tip: From the feedback from other guests staying at the same time as us, all rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A lovely stay...bright and airy spacious rooms, well appointed and immaculately clean. Homemade and local produce for breakfast...eggs, bread, jam etc. And homemade cake everyday in the room, yum...just the job after a days walking!

Beverley [Shelley is taking a rest for health reasons] is a charming, fun and friendly host always keen to help in any way if needed. Nothing is too much trouble ie fresh milk daily in a cooler in the room, drying out swim gear. No petty rules, do's and don'ts often encountered in a lot of guest houses...the emphasis here is to just switch off and relax...by the time we left it felt like we had been staying with friends.

Nice quiet location, 10 minutes walk from the beach, local buses pass close by, pleasant 1 hour walk to St Peter Port. Must do - fish and chips at Cobo Bay sitting on the beach watching the sunset.

Room Tip: All 4 rooms are similarly well appointed and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthbournePosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

After reading the other reviews, I knew it would be good, but it's very difficult to capture just how good in words. Yes, it's spotlessly clean, yes the room was lovely, yes the breakfast is super and the location is great - but the welcome, care and help from Shelley was the icing on the cake - and yes, she does make wonderful cake. It was our first time in Guernsey and we could make the most of our few days due to Shelley's guidance - which was there when we needed it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anne111uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We has a wonderful stay with Shelly (and Anne). The room, Sark, is fabulous. Loved the wet room. Breakfast is just the best. Homemade bread and jams, very fresh eggs. Thankyou to Billy, Millie, Meer and Mandu for making our visit quite special, we really hope to see you all very soon.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank artlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vale
0 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
865 reviews
0 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
630 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
La Roche
La Roche
#1 of 1 in Castel
126 reviews
0 mi away
Carlton Inn
Carlton Inn
#11 of 25 in Guernsey
6 reviews
0 mi away
Grisnoir Guest House
Grisnoir Guest House
#6 of 8 in St Peter Port
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison de Bas Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison de Bas Villa

Address: Maison de Bas La Grande Maison Road, Pleinheaume, Vale GY6 8LP
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Vale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Vale
Price Range: £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison de Bas Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Maison De Bas Villa Guernsey/Vale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing