We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh local ingredients”
Review of The Beach House

The Beach House
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Vale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$17
Cuisines: American, British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Beach House, overlooking Pembroke Beach, Guernsey. We offer drinks, coffees, wines, snacks, cakes, ice cream, lunch, dinner etc etc. Takeaways available if you fancy sitting on the beach
Reviewed 25 June 2014

A posh fish and chip shop with everything from burgers for the kids to delicious crab salad for the parents. Our food was delicious and we were sitting outside in glorious weather with lovely views over the beach. Worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank UKcritical_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J, Partner at The Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear UKcritical_traveller,

Many thanks for your positive review.

It is great that our guests recognise our efforts and the staff have all been shown your kind words and there were smiles all around.

I do hope you get chance to visit us again sometime soon.

Regards,

Paul Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 165 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Great food, friendly service, and amazing views!
Rain hail or shine I love this place and the views are spectacular all year round.
They are kid friendly too!!
Honest food and service with a smile... These guys do a great job!
Love it

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank freobear11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J, Partner at The Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear freobear11,

Thank you so much for your kind review.

The team here are delighted that you enjoyed the food, service and views.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Many thanks,

Paul Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The food was really good, I suggest you try the seafood chowder. The young staff are no doubt just part timers and its really refreshing to see them enjoying their work and providing a nice atmosphere to eat in. The setting just by the beach makes it a lovely place to have a nice meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank frquenttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J, Partner at The Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear frquenttraveller,

Thank you so much for your kind review which I have already shared with our chef and team here today. I print and post all of our reviews for the staff to see and its really encouraging for them when they get to see a review such as yours!

I'm glad you enjoyed the food and atmosphere and that you were looked after.

Hopefully we can serve you several more times throughout this summer.

Kine regards,

Paul Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

If you are looking for somewhere for a yummy light evening meal with plenty of atmosphere, head to the Beach House. We've been there twice this week and it has been extremely busy both evenings. Right on the beach with beautiful views across the water, it's has a vibrant up market stylish beach hut feel to it. The staff are pleasant and friendly. It's not easy to understand the system of ordering but basically you order at the bar, pay and take a seat. We were pleasantly surprised at how tasty the food is - burgers are lovely, the mushroom and halloumi burger is delicious. We would say that a bit more attention to detail would take it from good to extremely good ie. a proper amount of salad would score browny points where a "salad" is shown on the menu - I ordered a burger described as mushroom and halloumi burger with salad and fries but the salad should have been described as "garnish", it was tiny. The sliders would look so much more appetising with a salad or salad garnish - taking them from bland on the plate to knockout. So I think what I'm trying to say is: the flavour is there guys, just put a bit more into the presentation - a bit of salad doesn't cost the earth! Other than than, well worth a trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J, Partner at The Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Michele R,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am glad you enjoyed your first visit so much that you came straight back and that you thought our burgers were lovely.

Thank you also for your suggestions which I will discuss with my chef at our next departmental meeting.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future,

Kind regards,

Paul Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Perfect beach side cafe, decent food with lots of choice. Great views out over the beach and ample parking.

1  Thank Gian-snowchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J, Partner at The Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Gian-snowchick,

Thank you for your very kind review which I have shared with the team here.

Hope we can welcome you again this summer!

Paul Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beach House also viewed

Guernsey, Channel Islands
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing