We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but food is average”
Review of The Beach House

The Beach House
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Vale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$16
Cuisines: American, British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Beach House, overlooking Pembroke Beach, Guernsey. We offer drinks, coffees, wines, snacks, cakes, ice cream, lunch, dinner etc etc. Takeaways available if you fancy sitting on the beach
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

In a great location overlooking Pembroke Beach. Lots of outdoor and indoor seating. Also has a takeaway shop next door. Staff are friendly.

We had drinks there once and ate on a 2nd visit.

Food was average, the Pint of Prawns were disappointing, portion seemed small and the prawns were all small, thin and tasteless.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kevingbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J, Partner at The Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Kevbell,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am glad that you enjoyed the location and that you found our staff friendly.

I am concerned to hear that you did not enjoy the food. I'm disappointed that you found the pint of prawns to be too small a portion. The kitchen uses receptacles to measure the prawns (a plastic half pint glass and a plastic pint glass) before assembling so normally the portions served are correct. I am sorry if this was not done for your order and I will address this with the chef as a matter of urgency during our next departmental meeting.

In terms of taste and size, we use a standard size shell-on prawn and do very little to them as simplicity is the key with seafood such as this. I am sorry these were not to your liking and will discuss with our fish supplier to see if they have received similar comments regarding taste.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Regards,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for The Beach House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 158 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

Summer Saturday so very busy but slick food operation with good choice of specials, excellent seafood, pricing is fair, good disabled access, friendly staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChrisAscea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J, Partner at The Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear ChrisAscea,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit here and hope we can welcome you soon.

Regards,

Paul Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Visited on a stunning hot afternoon this Monday with elderly wheelchair bound parent. I must say the accessibility within the restaurant for disabled people is excellent - flat walkways, good sized disabled loo and enough room to manoeuvre between tables. The dark haired female order taker was a little terse but the young man (maybe Latvian) who bought out food was very helpful and efficient. The 2 crab sandwiches and 2 teas I felt were a little overpriced at £18 for the standard. Previously have gone out of our way for the crab sarnies here but on this day there wasn't much of a taste of crab and the bread was a little dry as tho it had been left to stand. I hope this is just a slip on a busy day???!!!
Shame on States of Guernsey for not providing wheelchair friendly car park - the stones were impossible to wheel over and many thanks to the man who assisted. All it would need is Tarmac for 3 or 4 disabled allocated spaces near the cafe. There was another disabled young person during our visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J, Partner at The Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Janice D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your visit to us.

I am glad that you found us to be easily accessible especially as you had a guest who is wheelchair bound. We have gone to great lengths to ensure that our bathrooms were configured correctly, along with our new entrance, ramp and decking on the outdoor terrace to make life a little easier for people with disabilities. As you say it is a shame that the car park is not quite as user friendly and I have forwarded your concerns onto the relevant department within the States of Guernsey who own and maintain the car park.

I was concerned to read that you did not fully enjoy your sandwiches and that you felt they were over priced. I will address this issue with the kitchen to ensure that our high standards are adhered to in future, no matter how busy we are.

We hope we can welcome you back sometime in the future.

Kind regards,

Paul Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We ate here for breakfast and lunch. The staff were friendly and efficient and it was very busy at lunch time. The food was fresh and tasty and was a reasonable price. Beautiful location and wouldn't hesitate to recommend, however it seems to be very busy at the weekend so plan ahead. We will definitely return on our next holiday to Guernsey.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J, Partner at The Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Sarah L,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor and for your positive comments.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed things so much that you returned for another visit! Your review has been shared with the team here who were all happy to read that you had a good time and we all look forward to welcoming you again during your next holiday to Guernsey.

Kindest regards,

Paul Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a lovely place to visit, from an ice cream through to lunch or a snack, we have never been disappointed. Recently we didn't enjoy one of the ice creams, so the Manager offered us a replacement straight away. It's normally a very busy place so go early if you want to eat inside. The view and the beach though are worth it, it's a stunning part of the island.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank guernseygal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J, Partner at The Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear guernseygal2013,

Thank you for your review, its great to hear that you enjoy coming back time and time again.

It does indeed get very busy here, we are so lucky with the amazing view, but I'm glad that you have never been disappointed.

Can I ask what we need to do to boost your 3 star rating for us?

Kind regards,

Paul Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beach House also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
Guernsey, Channel Islands
 

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing