We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, welcoming & service a priority”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Some reviewers call the Peninsula ‘tired’, personally I’d call it unpretentious – which makes a pleasant change these days! True, the décor is rather 1980s motel vernacular – but it is scrupulously clean & well maintained and, with 99 rooms, there must be a limit as to how much the rooms could be ‘updated’ and still maintain the reasonable prices. The location right on the coast is peaceful & idyllic, and as a solo female traveller I felt no hesitation about going for a stroll along the bay after dinner by myself (not many places you can say that about!!). Nowhere in Guernsey is ‘remote’ but the buses from near the hotel are handy and run to time, so reaching St.Peter Port & places of interest is easy.
I found my room roomy, with plenty of storage/hanging room and hangars; the housekeeping service is brilliant – with towels, toiletries, coffee etc replaced as they are used. The restaurant menu is pretty comprehensive, but there is a dedicated dining area in the Bar if you don’t want 4 courses every night – good menu, same kitchen, and attentive staff. The twice weekly seafood buffets are a MUST – and the best recommendation is the number of locals who book to eat there.
I suppose you need to expect children at a large, coastal hotel with a swimming pool – but I personally didn’t find them ‘intrusive’. Even though I was there at half term, the children usually vanished before it got too late – and generally seemed to be kept under control by parents (don’t know what happened during the day as I was out and about).
The hotels best asset is their staff. Without exception (from top to bottom) they are charming, cheerful, efficient and helpful. Don’t know how they manage it, but I was impressed with the staff last year – and this year is no different, and it does make such a difference.
Final point, for fellow ‘sinners’ among you, there are a few rooms designated for smokers which makes a very welcome change. No smoking in public rooms of course, but it is lovely to feel you don’t have to hang around outside the doors like an outcast if you want a cigarette!

Room Tip: Ring the hotel direct - they often have offers,
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jillikins_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
There are newer reviews for The Peninsula Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2011

Hotel needs a complete refresh and refurb, especially the bedrooms/en-suites, which because of this look less than clean. Main lobby and furniture is dated and tired looking. Children playing with balls and toys in lounge area is a distraction, which should be controlled by Reception staff.

Quality and standard of food is disappointing, although good value, they should concentrate on giving 3 quality courses on the set menu rather than 4. The seafood nights are excellent value for money but eat out at Houmet or Crabby Jack's on other nights.

Staff are mainly EU nationals, who are very friendly and helpful. Bar staff need training on how to prepare a Pimm's and what a Wine List is.

I would rate this hotel as a poor to average 3 star but as I normally stay in 4* or 5* perhaps I'm biased. Nice location even if remote from the St Peter Port.

Room Tip: not Gd floor north wing next to Lift and Laundry
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank del490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

I have been to Guernsey man'y times before but this is one of the best hotels I have been to for value for money and location .
The bus outside is reliable and car hire delivery is reas'onable.The food is second to none and the staff can not do enough to help you .
There is no entertainment but it is such a lei'sure island that you you find yourself just chilling out and relaxing
There is only an out side pool from may and no inside pool facil'itys..

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank contentedKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

I stay away a lot, and generally stay with large multi national chain, none of which on the channel island , this hotel is perfectly acceptable , the rooms are a little tired but are not unclean . There is an outdoor pool and small play area . It is right by the sea. On both my visits I have had to leave before breakfast, both occasions the staff are more than willing to offer something, whether it be toast or cereal , without prompting which I feel is excellent just to offer. If you can cope with slightly dated decor this is a good hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nbyron1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

My wife and i have been to the peninsula many times over the past 9-10 years and we are planning another visit in April, we have always enjoyed our stays at this great hotel on a beautiful island , the food is great the atmosphere is friendly and relaxed and i would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a break away from the hustle and bustle

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spurry61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We stayed in the hotel all week and loved it. We used it as a base to try other hotels and restaurants during Tennerfest month - this meal was one of the best we had - at £10 fantastic value - and unlike some places they didn't claw back the cash on the wine - they had a special Tennerfest wine list which was great. The meals are always nice there and this menu is great value. We had garlic king prawns, roasted cod and salsa and delicious lemon posset - with a bottle of wine £30 for a 3 course meal for two is great. We will be back soon

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzbuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We stayed on the island for a long weekend and although the weather was bad the hotel more than made up for it.
Our room was large and comfortable. The staff, without exception, were welcoming and helpful and the food excellent and at very reasonable prices.
Thr coastal location allows easy access to paths that lead east and west affording views of rugged coastline and access to sandy beaches with ever present reminders of the island;s history in the form of stone and concrete defences.
This hotel helps to make the island worth another visit.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weekender37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vale
2.0 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
594 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
872 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
814 reviews
4.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
603 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Hotel

Address: Les Dicqs, Vale GY6 8JP
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vale
Price Range: £96 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peninsula Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Hotel Guernsey
Peninsula Guernsey
Guernsey Peninsula
The Peninsula Hotel Guernsey/Vale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing