We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still keeping up the Standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vale
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Still keeping up the Standard”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Visited for the fourth time. rooms have been redecorated again to the usual tasteful standard. The staff are always friendly and oliging without being swarmy or sub-servant. Excellent food, wonderful Chef.
Not a great change over of staff so they must be happy & happy staff give good service.

Room Tip: Sea view over look the bay but other rooms the views are not bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WUFFA67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    91
    29
    10
    3
See reviews for
73
130
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We were very diappointed with our stay at this hotel. The rooms are still as they were when it was a novotel - white melamine furniture, get out of bed and bang your foot on wall as the bed is so close to the wall although it is a good size room. We arrived at lunchtime and the room was cold when we told reception that our heating wasn't working we were informed that the rooms were all on a master timer 5pm to midnight. Next morning was very cold didn't want to get out of bed. Staff were very courteous and helpful and did override the heating for us but this did not follow through to next morning. Food was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iain m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Hotel is right on the beach but has i nice but small pool to cool off in and relax and have a swim.
The hotel food was great and there is a fish buffet evening once a week. The entertainment is a little aged and the hotel on the whole is more for the senior person or coach party. I was there on business so this did not bother me.

Room Tip: chose a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlo198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed at the Peninsula Hotel for 9 nights in October 2011. Hotel great, food excellent, staff friendly, servicing of rooms excellent. Would recommend to anyone.
Also stayed for a week prior in June, just as good, (apart from the weather which wasn't too good!)

Room Tip: mid or top floor with a sea view, lie in bed and see the sunrise over the vale church tower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Peninsula Hotel on a short break. We were very impressed by the total commitment to service demonstrated by every member of staff we encountered. The hotel is ideally situated with it's own beach and large gardens on a bus route that goes round the island. Although the rooms were not at the cutting edge of hotel decor we found them to be comfortable and clean. We especially liked the large lounge with its bar area and comfy seating, not often found in hotels these days. One night there was a live music, a jazz band. The outdoor heated pool was a bonus in September. We had not intended to eat in but having had a tremendous 4 courses plus coffee for £18 the first night we repeated the experience each night and very good it was.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alisonheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Had to stay recently due to no vacancies at my usual hotels.
Hotel was ok but bit dated in rooms, Staff very good on reception and meals.
Lovely setting and weather helped.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collegebankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

This was our second trip to the Peninsula - the last being back in 2008. The rooms have been slightly modernised since then and one thing that is much better is the food. Several nights we stopped in for the excellent food - seafood banquet night is fantastic. Staff are really friendly and helpful, everyone says hello to you (even cleaners and groundstaff). The pool is nice and warm and there are some nice, very secluded beaches just a short walk away. Just one negative - the rooms get very hot at night and could really do with some air conditioning. But, overall, a great stay and somewhere we will go back to.

Room Tip: Look out for their summer offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richak39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vale
3.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
2.5 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
1.5 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Hotel

Property: The Peninsula Hotel
Address: Les Dicqs, Vale GY6 8JP
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peninsula Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Hotel Guernsey
Peninsula Guernsey
Guernsey Peninsula
The Peninsula Hotel Guernsey/Vale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing