We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vale
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice enough hotel”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The Peninsula sits on a nice bay on the North coast of Guernsey, not much in the area except the great outdoors, A hire car would be useful but Bus goes from just outside to link with the whole Island.
The public areas of the hotel are light and airy, there is a nice outdoor pool. The rooms are clean and adequate,perhaps a litle basic and tired but good enough, the shower was fantastic.
There seemed to be a lot of older visitors, they seemed quite hapy, the place is easy enough to move around if you have mobility issues. The price they quoted was far less than the published price on the wall, a bit strange but welcome.
One major, major complaint, this has to be the worst cooked breakfast I have ever had, the quality of the cooked items were probably ok, but day after day they were not cooked, pale sausages, limp bacon and black pudding served rare ??? Some cereal and toast was on offer this is ok,on my third day I went into town and paid for a breakfast, the dodgy breakfast would not stop me from staying here again, I prefer to be in town but thats just me.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_and_Daniel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    93
    29
    10
    3
See reviews for
75
132
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

What a great location & wonderful hoyel. the staff were attentive, polite & helpful. Rooms clean and comfortable. Food was of great quality,quantity & variation. What more can you ask?
Particularly impressed by the Hotel's restuarant manager & staff, who went out of their way to make sure our dining experience was of the highest order. Buffet style breakfast. Eevening meal consisted of four courses each night with dessert course/cheese & biscuits on a buffet style also, so you could help yourself to whatever you wanted. Spot on.
Single bar area, serving good range of keg bitter & lager.
Visited shortly after Easter and swimming pool was just being refurbished and refilled for season, so not available, otherwise everything else was very good about the hotel.
Happy to recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: First & 2nd floor rooms at front of hotel have sea views but expect to pay a small supplement. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Everything about this Hotel is Fine. Good Food. Friendly Staff. Rooms Nice and Clean. What more can you ask for. Any Fuss-pot who finds a fault with the Peninsula will never be satisfied In any Hotel and had best stay at Home.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level Contributor
384 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Been here to eat whilst on some training courses and there has never been a wow factor.

Hotel appears tired and in need of refurbishment.

Great location witha great pub nearby but this hotel does seem to be catering for the more older clientelle.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGGSarnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Visited for the fourth time. rooms have been redecorated again to the usual tasteful standard. The staff are always friendly and oliging without being swarmy or sub-servant. Excellent food, wonderful Chef.
Not a great change over of staff so they must be happy & happy staff give good service.

Room Tip: Sea view over look the bay but other rooms the views are not bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WUFFA67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We were very diappointed with our stay at this hotel. The rooms are still as they were when it was a novotel - white melamine furniture, get out of bed and bang your foot on wall as the bed is so close to the wall although it is a good size room. We arrived at lunchtime and the room was cold when we told reception that our heating wasn't working we were informed that the rooms were all on a master timer 5pm to midnight. Next morning was very cold didn't want to get out of bed. Staff were very courteous and helpful and did override the heating for us but this did not follow through to next morning. Food was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iain m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Hotel is right on the beach but has i nice but small pool to cool off in and relax and have a swim.
The hotel food was great and there is a fish buffet evening once a week. The entertainment is a little aged and the hotel on the whole is more for the senior person or coach party. I was there on business so this did not bother me.

Room Tip: chose a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlo198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vale
2.0 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
571 reviews
4.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
549 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Hotel

Property: The Peninsula Hotel
Address: Les Dicqs, Vale GY6 8JP
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peninsula Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Hotel Guernsey
Peninsula Guernsey
Guernsey Peninsula
The Peninsula Hotel Guernsey/Vale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing