We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at the peninsula at the beggining of september, for 10 days as a birthday present for my wife. everything about the hotel was excellent, as soon as we arrived we were greeted by a friendly and helpfull receptionist. Our room on the ground floor at the front of the hotel overlooking the well kept gardens, was beautifly bright and clean, with plenty of tea/coffee making facilities,TV, a large very comfortable bed, sheets were changed regulary, the bathroom had a fantastic shower plenty of hot water, and clean towels were provided daily.
The quality and standard of food served in both restaurant and bar area was excellent with a large vaiety of dishes to suit all tastes, every sunday and thursday the seafood buffett should not be missed (it is advisable to book early as this is very popular with the locals) at breakfast there is a numerous choice to suit everybodys taste.
There is a large comfortable lounge area where you can relax anytime of the day with live musical entertainment some evenings. The pool area is well equiped with sunloungers, patio furniture where you can relax after enjoying a nice swim in the heated swimming pool, there is also a heated pool for the children, the whole area is clean and well maintained.
And finally Joshua the manager and all his staff are to be congratulated for the excellent and friendly service they provided my wife and I cannot thank them enough for making our holiday so enjoyable.

W0ULD WE STAY AT THE PENINSULA AGAIN DEFINITELY.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

Stylish hotel in an enviable position as the name suggests on a peninsula at the north end of the island , nestled in a semi rural area and just yards from a tidal beach which harbors both small fishing boats and leisure craft, it all ads up to a most appealing setting.
Hotel is clean and well laid out with open plan reception come lounge come bar with the restaurant set to one side. Outside there is a small pitch and put golf course, pond and outside swimming pool which is well maintained and furnished with patio furniture and sun beds.
Clientele seems to be split into two groups , those with kids who take advantage of the beach and the young at heart who want a quieter style , its a contradiction but it works , buckets and spades on loan at reception for the beach lovers and singer in the evening for everyone else.
Restaurant service and food is very good quality with plenty of choice as is the breakfast.
The choice of beers at the bar could have been better but one has to accept that this hotel is not big enough to justify a wide range. .
Room was clean and a good size , more pillows would have made it more comfortable.
One big problem was that the toilet was very small and separate from the shower room , when exiting the toilet one has to return into the bedroom suite in order to get to the shower room to wash, there was no extraction in the toilet nor any locks on the doors , most uncomfortable considering it was a family room.
Other than that it was a most enjoyable visit and a big thank you to all of the staff who made us feel most special, WELL DONE!!

Room Tip: Pick a sea view room , the view is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STEVE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We recently returned to Guernsey for the first time since 1990 and stayed at the Peninsula hotel between 9 and 16 September 2012. We had previously received a recommendation from friends who had taken their grandchildren here in 2011 and again in 2012 so we were fairly sure the hotel would be good. We were delighted with the hotel position on a small peninsula and just moments from the local beach. The service we received from the staff here really was very good, nothing was too much of a problem and any questions / requirements were dealt with immediately and efficiently. The room was perhaps a little tired but it was clean and comfortable and suited our needs. We stayed half board and the food was both very tasty and plentiful at breakfast and the evening meal and drinks were reasonably priced. As the weather was so good we were able to use the pool several times, but in any case the pool was heated. Overall we were very satisfied with the Peninsula Hotel on all aspects and would happily return there again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have a beutiful sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bazcoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed 6 nights in early September 2012, were blessed with wonderful weather which allowed us to take full advantage of the heated outdoor swimming pool. The hotel is situated on a small peninsula on the north of the island, 15 mins or so from St Peter Port by bus - which runs every 20 minutes (30 mins on Sundays) for a flat fare of £1. The bus route is in effect a circular tour of the island in both directions and makes car hire not essential as the bus also calls at the airport.

It's worth paying the modest additional premium for a sea view room, as the sea/bay is just across the road and the premium is modest. Our bedroom was slightly dated in terms of decor but perfectly acceptable and spotlessly clean. On several days the room had already been serviced when we returned after breakfast. What made this hotel particularly special was the fantastic food in the evenings. On two evenings there was a seafood buffet to start with, which would have been adequate for the main event. But this was followed by soup, then a main course and finally a choice of cheese/biscuits or self-selected desserts.

Also the hotel had a comfortable lounge and the poolside seating area was a pleasant place to relax after a day out. Lots of coastal walks available from this hotel, and easy to return by bus or to take the bus to a starting point and walk back. We took the bus to Cobo bay, walked to the Folk Museum (well worth the visit, take your UK national trust tickets for free admission) and then walked back along the coast. The great thing about coastal walks in Guernsey is the frequency of kiosks for refreshments, ice-creams, cream teas etc.

We would highly recommend this hotel, particularly for its location and food.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room. They are on higher floors (hotel has 3 floors) at front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poolsbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My wife and I have been lucky to have visited many hotels in UK and abroad, but we have to admit to being completely bowled over by the Peninsula Hotel.
As I am partially disabled, we took the car (complete with mobility scooter in the boot) on the fabulous Condor Seacat ferry from Poole to St. Peter Port, a stress free, very comfortable smooth 3 hour trip, and a 15 minute drive took us from disembarkation to the hotel.
The receptionist made us very welcome and directed us to our room on the 2nd. floor with a fabulous sea view, as booked. The room was large, the bed was over 5ft. wide, decent sized flat screen tv, tea/coffee making facilities and a bathroom, with separate toilet. The decor was modern and smart and everything was immaculately spotless. Bedding was changed 2/3 times a week and towels every day.
We had booked a table for dinner in the dining room and we were presented with an excellent 4 course multi-choice menu plus cheese and biscuits followed by coffee for only £18. The presentation and quality of the food was without fault and the spotless cutlery and crockery told us everything we wanted to know about what to expect during our 9 day stay and we were not disappointed. Most of the dining room staff were foreign (Latvian, Polish, Spanish, Argentinian) and, as they all understood English very well, there was never any problems with communications. Their politeness and efficiency were exemplary and the restaurant manager, Joshua was nothing short of 1st. class.
Meals could also be obtained in the bar restaurant and they too were of very good quality and very reasonably priced. Breakfast next morning was also excellent with again all the choice you could wish for.
The location of the hotel could not have been better, only 50 yards to the white, sandy beach, 50 yards to the bus stop and 200 yards to another pub/restaurant further up the road. A gravel cycle path went all along the nearby coast and this was also very convenient for anyone with a mobility scooter. Walkers are in paradise because the path goes all the way around the island and there are some wonderful sandy beaches and clifftop locations to visit. I admit we were very lucky with the weather during our stay and as such we were able to spend a lot of our time on the beach or in the sea. The bonus however was being able to come back to the hotel and swim in the glorious heated outdoor swimming pool, and have a beer on the terrace.
All in all, the Peninsula is the place to go if you want good service, good food, a good nights sleep and be able to chill-faultless!!!

Room Tip: Sea view on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonboycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This hotel enjoys a good position just minutes walk from the beach and the coast path. Rooms are fine and the food is good value. It is quite a big hotel so it maybe lacks a bit of the personal touch, but all the staff were very helpful. And no need to get a taxi transfer to/from the airport - the bus takes you virtually door to door!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank oldvole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in August and found the hotel very pleasant, staff helpful and the breakfasts wonderful! Our room was spacious, though the double bed was quite close to the wall on one side, and we had an interesting view over the grounds to the sea. An added bonus was being able to walk to a beautiful sandy beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hijean05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vale
3.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
866 reviews
2.5 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
2.6 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
630 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
2 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Hotel

Address: Les Dicqs, Vale GY6 8JP
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vale
Price Range: £80 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peninsula Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your The Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Hotel Guernsey
Peninsula Guernsey
Guernsey Peninsula
The Peninsula Hotel Guernsey/Vale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing