We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cried When Had to Come Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vale
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cried When Had to Come Home”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The reviews I read before going were great and the hotel didn't disappoint. We booked with Just Go Holidays for 6 nights. On Sundays and Thursdays there is an eat all you can seafood buffet with oysters, crabs, mussels, king prawns and a whole salmon as well as salads for those who don't like seafood and that is just a starter!!! Every evening meal is four courses and in the morning there is a buffet of fruit, yoghurt, cereal and cooked breakfast items. You can also request kippers or haddock. The staff are all so friendly and very hard working.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    92
    29
    10
    3
See reviews for
74
132
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

As a regular visitor to the Channel Island of Guernsey, I'm thrilled to have recently "discovered" the Peninsula Hotel, tucked away at the side of Grand Havre bay and virtually on the beach. It's been there for some years (although it is one of the island's newer hotels), and originally had a big Scandinavian following. Now it offers inclusive holidays with the car ferry operators Condor, as well as welcoming individual guests, and visitors are in for a treat: huge, airy, public rooms, a heated outdoor swimming pool, and a restaurant so good that locals flock there to eat (the Thursday evening and Sunday lunchtime carveries are superb).

Bedrooms are standard business hotel layout, except that the en suite facilities are inexplicably split into separate bathrooms and lavatories – perhaps that is how Scandinavians like things to be? Mattresses are getting a bit old, and the towels are skimpy, but otherwise it is hard to fault this hotel. And the staff are universally cheerful, friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Many rooms have sea views, apparently at no extra cost - top floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robinmeadtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Rooms have been refurbished & looking spritely. Food up to usual high standard although one sweet was coming to end of "sell by date", possibly caused by not having customers because of recent bad weather. Staff are always attentive & polite, can't do enough for you. see you next year if not sooner.

Room Tip: try sea view overlooking bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WUFFA67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Yet another mini break spent in Glorious Guernsey made all the better by the service we received at the lovely Peninsula Hotel - All the staff were as friendly and as efficent as ever and even when the sun didn't shine the smiles were still there...
The food was excellent with the legendary SEAFOOD BUFFET back on the menu. Thanks to all at the Hotel - our batteries are now fully recharged and we are all ready looking forward to returning to you later in the year.

Room Tip: A sea view room is always worth the extra pennies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This is our third time at this hotel - we usually stay for a week as we did this time. Something going badly wrong here I fear. The service was much less efficient than usual , staff less helpful and too quick to tell you that you can't have what you want - previously the attitude was "how can I help?" - now it seems more like "have what you are given". This is a pity. The Sarne restaurant is still good for the food, but overrun with bookings and it is difficult to get to eat in there, even when a resident of the hotel! Also the weather was unusually cool for the time of year and yet the heating was still switched off most of the time - we had to get extra blankets and a portable heater in our room! The crowning glory was that we had previously told the hotel that this was a honeymoon break and there was not so much as a bunch of flowers in the room - no acknowledgement at all. The first room they tried to foist on us was tatty in the extreme, with a small double bed and an extra single one (not needed) - it faced the car park and was very much in need of revamping, smelt damp and musty. This in a very underoccupiedl hotel - I can't believe that they would try to put guests in the worst rooms when they are not even anywhere near full capacity. We travel to Guernsey regularly, and love the island - we will go back to Guernsey, and hope to get a better reception next time we stay on the island.

Room Tip: if you want a good room you will have to pay extra for a sea view - the rest of the rooms seem to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzbuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mossley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

My Gran was 100 years old in March but we couldn't visit on her birthday itself so we went just after Easter. The hotel is superb. The view from our bedroom window was as beautiful as any view could be with the panorama of Grand Havre bay.
The food was excellent and plentiful and, for Guernsey, reasonable value for money.
We hope to be visiting my Gran many more times and we will stay at The Peninsula.

Just hope the weather is a bit better next time we go!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Very good service, clean comfortable rooms, lovely view, if you have a sea view room.Staff very helpful, would recommend and would visit again. We went as a small family for a 100th celebration birthday and we were all satisfied.We even had adjacent rooms although not requested

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowyatfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vale
2.0 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
571 reviews
4.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
549 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Hotel

Property: The Peninsula Hotel
Address: Les Dicqs, Vale GY6 8JP
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peninsula Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Hotel Guernsey
Peninsula Guernsey
Guernsey Peninsula
The Peninsula Hotel Guernsey/Vale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing