We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantaastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vale
Certificate of Excellence
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“fantaastic location”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

First time to Guernsey for my wife and myself, and what a first time experience at the Peninsula Hotel.
The hotel Is in a superb location and is a must for coastal walks. We stayed 5th July for 3 nights on a B & B basis, however we did have evening meals on two occasions mainly because we were exhausted from all the walking. The food was reasonable, and although we had heard super comments on the seafood buffet we found it just average. Buffet breakfast was good and plentiful and lots of choices.
Our room 221 was overlooking the rear and not much of a view was adequate but the bathroom was in desperate need of an update as was the towels.
The staff were very polite and made you feel very welcome.
All in all the hotel was okay but I think the prices charged for B & B was too expensive for what you received.
Guernsey itself is a wonderful location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graval007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    91
    29
    10
    3
See reviews for
73
130
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We have just returned from our fourth holiday based at the Peninsula Hotel - and we very much hope to go again. The staff are wonderful - friendly, efficient and any problem is resolved with charm. The location and views are fabulous - there are some stunning walks starting just outside the front door. The food is delicious (we think it was even better this year than last) and well presented. The seafood buffet is a very special treat.

Room Tip: It is worth paying a little extra for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The whole of the hotel was immaculate clean including the swimming pool area all the grounds and golf course and play area - staff were immaculately dressed in their different uniforms and could not do enough for you and were always so very polite We were on half board basis with the most mouthwatering and hearty breakfasts on a buffet style - eat as much as you could. The evening meal was even better with the waiters being there for you all the time - Sundays and Thursdays were EXTRA SPECIAL as the starter was on a buffet style EVERY SEAFOOD POSSIBLE was there to help yourself to including lobsters crabs prawns fresh and smoked salmon mussels cockles and much more to mention, plus meat platters pastas salads of every kind - (and this was only the starter!!!!!!!! this was then followed by soup main course sweet (cheese biscuits) and coffee/tea what an excellent meal and every night the choice was yours !!!!
The location of the hotel speaks for itself Peninsula - with beautiful bays and beaches all around.
would give this hotel a five star status (not three) Thank You would certainly come back!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: the upper rooms 200 300 have the best views of the sea front from back and front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanie1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heanor, Derbyshire.
Level Contributor
126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We returned from Guernsey on Friday after a holiday arranged with Just Go coach holidays.
Because we have family in Poole and in Hampshire we decided to use our own car to get to Poole so the coach experience can not be reported upon. Some folks did travel long distances to arrive ast Poole and we learnt that some faced a three hour ferry plus an 11 hour coach trip both coming and going. The Peninsula hotel was in a lovely location and 5 or 6 really good beaches were within easy walking distance. We hired a car in order to see the whole island. We felt that the good beaches were more plentiful than in Jersey where we have been before.
The bus services are not as good as we thought with 2 hour delays so a car was a must we felt.
The hotel was very amenable and all the staff were genuine and hardworking.
The service in the restaurant was really excellent and left nothing to be desired.
Some of the food was not in this category however with the soups and deserts letting the hotel down a little .
Some of the main courses were good and some disappointing including a cottage pie which like some other mains had very little taste or protein in it. The belly pork main was excellent.
On Saturday and Thursday nights however we were presented with a wonderful and comprehensive sea food feast including, fresh and smoked salmon, oysters,crevettes, fresh crab,prawns , mussels,roll mops , cockels and mussels.
If you love seafood it was to die for ! Well done Peninsula.
For the cost of this holiday we felt that the hotel offerd good value.
We had good weather and drove everywhere , reading in the sun on the pristine beaches.
If it rains there or the weather is inclement , what does one do ??
The attractions on Guernsey are quite minimal in our view ; the museums small and modest.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms on the third floor are best commanding a £45 supplement. Hire your car from the firm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulDilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We spent a week at the Peninsula to celebrate my father's 80th birthday. We were a large family group ranging in age from 2-80 and we all agreed that the hotel was excellent. The website really doesn't do the hotel justice - it has superb facilities: extensive grounds which are beautifully kept; a 6 hole pitch and putt course (including a stream to pitch over!); a playground for little ones with swings and a slide; a volleyball court; petanque; table tennis and, most significantly, a lovely heated pool with a splash pool for the little ones. There are two beaches within a 5 minute walk, one of them was particularly good for the family, with extensive sand and rocks to scramble on and we had it almost to ourselves. The food and wine was very good (the whole crab for lunch was a particular highlight) and the restaurant and bar manager (Josue) could not have been more helpful and accommodated our various requests from real ale on the bar to a bespoke birthday cake. I have never before written a review on Trip Advisor, but our stay was so good and the hotel so lovely that I decided I must.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HMMcB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire, uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Where to start! We spent 4 days at the Peninsula for my Father-In-Laws 65th Birthday on half board.
We arrived on the Friday (May 24th) after the worst crossing from Poole to St. Peter's Port.
The reception staff were friendly and welcomed us with smiles, even if we couldn't reciprocate!!

Our room on arrival were immaculate, with information on room service, TV channels and
complimentary toiletries. Our children ( 6 & 2years) fell in love with their interconnecting room with their aunties and cousin ( 15months) who was provided with a travel cot that was wonderful.

I, My Sisters-In-Law and my Husband fell in love the beautiful view from our room and spent all evenings with the curtains wide open taking the view of the sea.

On arrival we met in the lobby/bar area for tea and a bite to eat. Even though there was a large wedding party taking their reception drinks in the area, the staff were still more than attentive to our needs. We had ham sandwiches, chips and a huge pizza for my son who was famished after his boat trip. The waiting staff were always on hand to check everything was ok and to take more drink orders so we didn't have to leave our table.

The tables were stylish with cream covers and pale lemon napkins, complete with high back leather chairs.

This hotel was the perfect base for our holiday. It was very close to a beach which, although VERY windy on our arrival day was still stunning with golden sand and lots of rock for our children to climb. We had a very pleasant walk from the hotel along a gravel area where many boats were moored. My son found "his boat" called " The Lou Lou" and had great fun having pictures taken.

The view was breath taking from the beach and from our room the whole time. When the tide was in the water sparkled and we could see a long way across the island.

The restaurant at The Peninsula was spectacular. We stayed half board so took breakfast and evening meals only. Breakfast was a buffet style affair. The selection of food on offer was extensive. From fresh fruit and juices, many types of cereals with fresh Guernsey milk, to a full English and pain au chocolate and toast, with many types of butters, jams and marmalade's.

The waiting staff were all too happy to provide us with apple juice and jugs of water for our children. While were taking breakfast we also heard the waiting/kitchen staff being very helpful to a lady who needed gluten free toast and they were more than happy to provide this.

The evening menu changed every evening offering lot of verity over its 4 course menu. A starter, a soup, main course and a desert buffet, including a separate children’s menu which was extensive enough that our children didn't have to eat the same thing every evening. The kitchen were also willing to provide children size portions of the adult menu.

The portions were by no means small; we left after dinner every evening with that “Christmas day feeling".
On a couple of evenings our children were exhausted by the time we took dinner at 7:15pm so the waiting staff made every effort to get their meals out quickly and provided them with coloring sheets and pencils ( much to the relief of 2 tense parents)

On the evenings where our children were too tired to make it through to desert the staff plated up our desert and we took it too our rooms, an added bonus with sleepy kids! I cannot recommended the sea food buffet enough, Myself and my Sister in Law both tried oysters!

We took drinks in the evening in the lobby/bar area and it was very pleasant with lots of windows allowing the sunlight in and "island radio" playing lightly in the background. The reception staff helped up to store a birthday cake for the duration of our stay and also organised for the table to be decorated with balloons and confetti for my father-in-laws birthday.

Room service were amazing. After the rough crossing our son was very unsettled and wet his bed. We pulled all the sheets off expecting them to just leave the bedding for us to make up the bed. They made both our bed fresh and folded the children’s PJs and put out their "special" pillows, blankets and toys we had bought along. This made such a difference for the kids. They even gave us a few extra towels as we had children with us.

The rooms were perfectly clean and tidy. We even managed to find Cbeebies on the TV which made 3 small people very happy when they could watch Mike The Knight and Abney & Teal!!!! There were also hair dryers in each room which helped with 3 women fighting over the one that was packed!!

The staff are more than happy to help with anything you need and the restaurant manager even gave my son a pad and pen as he wanted to take orders. They were also very friendly with my 15 month old niece.

There are luggage trolleys available and a lift to all floors which helps when you have packed a lot for a family holiday.

The hotel boasts a beautiful swimming pool, play park and a pitch and put golf course. The play park had swings, slide, volley ball net, table tennis and wooden climbing structures as well as plenty of green space for the children to run.
The pitch and putt was very well maintained and had a couple of quaint bridges over small water areas and clearly marked flags. The clubs and ball for the golf were free of charge, as were towels for the pool.

The pool is out door and heated well, with a separate kids area from the main pool, that ranged from 1m to 1.7m deep. It is perfectly clear and spotlessly clean with a beautiful terrace with sun loungers and garden furniture within close reach of the bar. As someone who has worked in leisure for a number of years I can honestly say this is the cleanest, most well-kept outdoor pool I have had the pleasure in using. The children’s pool was significantly warmer than the main pool which helped with our niece as she is used to a warm pool All 3 children loved it ( in fact we found it hard to get them out!!!)
All in all the peninsula is an outstanding hotel which boasts not only the ability to cater for couples but is also more than welcoming of families with children and makes everyone feel very welcome. Would I stay here again? A firm yes!!

Room Tip: Room 308 had a fantastic sea view!!! Very big room with a double and single bed and a family size ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steph_mc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We had a great time here - the weather was fab which I am sure helped. Our room was comfortable and had everything we needed. The seaview was wonderful. All of the staff were lovely and more than helpful. We ordered room service and had a bar meal and dined out the rest of the time. One point to mention is the pool - it was heated which was fab for the kids and I could have happily spent more time by the pool. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoppingturtle031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vale
3.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
2.5 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
1.5 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Hotel

Property: The Peninsula Hotel
Address: Les Dicqs, Vale GY6 8JP
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peninsula Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Hotel Guernsey
Peninsula Guernsey
Guernsey Peninsula
The Peninsula Hotel Guernsey/Vale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing