We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I am not sure what those who have given bad reviews are looking for. This is a 3* hotel and very good at that level. It is clear comfortable, in a quiet location and the staff are excellent. We thought the food in the bar and the restaurant was good. We met a number of people who go back year after year and that is testament to the hotel.

If you are looking for a 5* hotel with a gormet restauarnt then look elsewhere. If you want a lovely holiday on a great island and somewhere out of the way to relax then this is ideal.

We would certainly go back again.

Thanks you to all of the staff.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the second floor away from the public areas. The "party" (weddings etc) r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grahve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

As regular visitors to Guernsey we thought we would give the Peninsular Hotel a try this year as we needed a base to explore the North of the Island. We found the hotel to be a rather mixed bag.
Situated overlooking a quiet bay and located close to an area of dunes and coastal grass land, the hotel is in a lovely spot and a great location for those wishing to explore " The Vale" area and northern coastline, particularly on foot. Despite initial appearances the building is quite old, the present owners are gradually refurbishing but there are still some areas where some updating would not go a miss, this is mainly public areas, corridors and stairwells etc. Most of the rooms have been updated and the hotel and accommodation areas are kept very clean, the domestic staff are very efficient and helpful. We found the beds to be comfortable and the rooms clean and reasonably well equipped with plenty of storage. Our room had a "sea view", but this was actually overlooking the end of a sheltered bay, and I would describe it more as scenic , you could see the sea proper if you hung out the window, still very nice though.
On the whole We felt the accommodation and general facilities of the hotel represented good value for money, it must be said that the hotel is usually very busy with functions at the weekend and it can be little noisy at times, fortunately they have a large car park so for those with cars, there is always somewhere to park.
The one area that left us feeling a little disappointed was the restaurant. We found the food quality average and uninspiring, the staff lacking in moral and although they were trying to be friendly and helpful we did not find the atmosphere relaxing. The hotel caters for touring parties of mainly older folk and the restaurant is not large enough to accommodate everyone when the hotel is full, on our first night we had to eat in the bar despite trying to book a table on our arrival at lunchtime. If you are on a coach tour this is probably acceptable, but there are so many good eating places on the island that we were not tempted to try the restaurant in the evening again.
Buffet style breakfasts were OK with a good choice of cooked offerings although fruit selection was a little limited and there was not much in the way of continental style foods as an alternative. They consistently managed to serve the worst coffee I have ever had in a hotel.
Public areas of the hotel were kept clean and the swimming pool well maintained, the open plan nature of the lounge and bar area lacks intimacy and may not appeal to everyone. Reception staff work very hard and most are extremely helpful. If you are looking for a convenient base and are not tied to eating in the hotel or looking for a cosy bar to spend the evening this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IanRG127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel is quite isolated and is next to some lovely beaches. The rooms are a good size with a tv that has access to a number of channels. The bathroom was clean and there is access to wifi (although not written down anywhere).

I had kippers and haddock at breakfast - these were delicious and above the standard of everything else available in the buffet. It was perfectly nice.

Staff were pleasant. Would I stay there again? Probably.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEM069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

fab hotel we found the hotel very clean in all areas. our room was large even for 2 adults and a child. food was great loved breakfast so much choice always fresh and hot . pool was very clean and nice and warm . the staff were all very helpful and always had a smile . but tracy laura and ann in reception were brilliant thanks girls xx

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie503933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Bathrooms need a makeover but clean. Good location with regular buses and helpful staff. All the food was very good and there is an excellent bistro a few minutes walk away. There is little passing traffic as the hotel is off the main road and a five minute walk to the bus stop. Nearest shop is a ten minute walk.ijij

Room Tip: Sea view to the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

I'm actually staying here now as I'm writing this.....
I cannot believe some of the negative reviews here... I was under the impression I was going to be staying in a care home... This is not the case..
The staff are so helpful, as we booked through hotels.com and they have buggered up our booking, so Helen is in the process of sorting it out whilst we're staying here...
I'm in my 40's and I think don't think it's dated infact I think it's quite tidy.
The only 2 negative I do have is it COULD have a minibar as a fridge would come in handy here in the hot months and a proper bar seating area with tv's...
It has a lovely outside seating area and pool what more could you want..

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank pollywoddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Very accessible and easy to find. Ample parking to the rear of the hotel which has loads of outside place for golf as well as badminton- able to borrow equipment from the hotel free of charge. Staff throughout the hotel were always accommodating and friendly. Breakfast was included with a wide range of choice for every taste, with extras of porridge and fish for those who ordered them. Pool was regularly used by us, temperature was perfect. Although sometimes it was a little busy there were always gaps when we were the only ones using it. Rooms were clean and comfortable, bathrooms were model and also spotless. Would recommend :)
Would also thoroughly recommend a visit to 'The Deerhound' food there was outstanding as was the service, and value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBrant2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vale
2.0 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
605 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
833 reviews
4.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
618 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Hotel

Address: Les Dicqs, Vale GY6 8JP
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vale
Price Range: £83 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peninsula Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Hotel Guernsey
Peninsula Guernsey
Guernsey Peninsula
The Peninsula Hotel Guernsey/Vale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing