We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful attentive staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just back from a two night break here to attend my niece's wedding. On Friday night we ate from the table d'hote menu, four lovely courses and very reasonably priced. Breakfast was self service with a lovely choice or juices, fruit, cereals, cheese, ham and a full english selection, with wonderful hash browns. The wedding reception was superbly organised with attention to detail from the staff absolutey amazing. Facilities at the hotel are great, I even managed a swim when I arrived on Friday lunchtime and was able to use the table tennis and volleyball facilities. Wonderful wedding, wonderful staff. Thank s to all the team who helped maked my niece's day so special.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TONY&NIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We visited the hotel for the first time and it was excellent all the members of staff were so friendly the food was the best ever and every where was spotlessly clean. It is situated in a beautiful area with the sea at the back and the front and is very accessible with buses a really special hotel to stay in if you are wanting to be in that area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Lovely position,attentive staff.The bathroom in our room was looking a little 'tired'.Breakfasts fantastic.Sea food dinner one evening was 'out of this world!'
Other food tried was rather mediocre.Sweets the 'cardboard'type served up by bulk catering suppliers, so not impressed.
If you want a superb dinner suggest you try the pub opposite.Book first

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOHN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We visited this hotel as part of a theatre goers group - 27 in total. We were all very impressed with the friendly staff, good service, good food and general ambience. We all had a very comfortable feel about the place.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor. I would suggest that you would get a better view of the surroundi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

just back from a two night break with two friends. Stayed on the ground floor in newly refurbished rooms which were lovely. The staff were excellent and could not fault the food. Both the restaurant and the bar food were excellent, good quality and well priced. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracybabymk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Took very elderly mother-in-law for a short break. We have been before, so we knew what to expect - mother was visiting for the first time and and wasn't at all disappointed. The hotel has two (I think?) rooms specifically for visitors with reduced mobility and certain requirements. The room was well appointed with plenty of room for her wheelchair, comfortable bed and chair, grab rails in the bathroom, raised WC and walk-in shower with seat and was perfect for her needs.

The staff (as before), were polite, courteous, friendly and efficient throughout - excellent in all respects.

The food was superb for breakfast and for evening meal, (how do you do a four course set menu for around just £16-18 each?). Also, we were able to get soup and bread for her in-room or just a few sandwiches or tea and biscuits any time.

Nice heated outdoor pool, but no gym or spa, which didn't bother us, but might be necessary for some.

This hotel offers great service, accommodation and food for a very reasonable price. It is suitable for all ages and there were a mix of older visitors and young families there. Would recommend to anyone and will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If you need a 'disabled' room, book as early as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimSmith1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My wife & I decided to return to the Peninsula after 18 years, having been recommended to give it a second try on two separate occasions by islanders. We had accepted the fact that the hotel has a lower rating than those we had stayed in on Guernsey over recent years and so did not expect it to be as good nor the staff to be as efficient. And we knew that there are no balconies to the rooms which is usually an essential item for us. But it was considerably less expensive than the others and, overall, we considered it to be very good value for money. Although the Peninsula has not really moved on since our initial stay and does look a little tired (even the refurbished rooms), we had yet another excellant holiday on a wonderful island.

Room Tip: Choose 2nd floor for lovely sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bigboyjohn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vale
2.6 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
882 reviews
4.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
630 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
2.8 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Hotel

Address: Les Dicqs, Vale GY6 8JP
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vale
Price Range: £79 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peninsula Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your The Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Hotel Guernsey
Peninsula Guernsey
Guernsey Peninsula
The Peninsula Hotel Guernsey/Vale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing