We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not ask for more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Aldergrove B&B and Inns
Rock Ferry, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could not ask for more!”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

After a long day's cycle it was a delight to arrive at Bay Cottage. Elizabeth and her family could not have done anything more to make us feel more welcome. The bedroom was lovely and it was great to be able to make use of the lounge which was so comfortable. We had stayed in some lovely accommodation during our holiday but Bay Cottage surpassed all the others in terms of atmosphere, comfort and the all important breakfast to send us on the final leg of our journey. We're already making plans to return to Northern Ireland and having Bay Cottage as our base rather than travelling around. Thanks guys for your kindness and friendliness very much appreciated by two tired cyclists!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobiasthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dilly61, Owner at Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Hope you enjoyed St. George's Market and Belfat in general. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
39
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This was my third visit to Bay Cottage and it is still just around the corner from Belfast International Airport on a quiet country road on the shores of Lough Neagh, and you are still greeted with tea, cake, shortbread and this time jelly! served in a comfortable sitting room warmed by a log burner. .Upstairs are two comfortable bedrooms with every convenience, and in the morning there is a wonderful breakfast, mostly home baked, home cooked, home laid and home reared. I would recommend Bay Cottage to any business traveller weary of the dreary round of characterless business hotels, and at a fraction of the cost as well.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NemoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Our room was very comfortable with lovely furniture and lots of room. Fabulous breakfast in the morning and Elizabeth couldn't have been more helpful - even getting her husband to have a look at our hire car to figure out the lights for us!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maura j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

This trip, I brought my wife, son and daughter-in-law to experience a B&B of the best type. Unfortunately, my son was quite sick from a stomach bug, but Elizabeth went far beyond the great hostess I had met the first time I travelled to Northern Ireland. She insisted that we check in early, so that my son could rest and recuperate.
Both visits I made were embellished by the fact that Elizabeth made us an awesome and authentic Irish Stew. Needless to say, the location was ideal and the rooms were absolutely exceptional. We had a great view of the Lough and a most spacious and nicely decorated bedroom.
Elizabeth not only opened her doors to us, but joined us in explaining some of the local traditions, as well as offering suggestions of "things" to see. Thanks so much for the wonderful experience. Nancy, George, Mike and Julie (Guelph, Ontario, Canada).

Room Tip: A must-stay if in Northern Ireland. It is about two hours north of Belfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwoodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Just back from our third stay in bay Cottage. A most comfortable billet and Elizabeth is a wonderful and helpful hostess. Large, warm room overlooking the Lough, binoculars provided for birdwatching. Fire in the lounge on wet, dark chilly evenings makes staying in the best option. In spring this is an even more superb location - walks from the door.
And terrific breakfasts!
Really recommended for those who want a peaceful and relaxing place to stay.

R H Marks

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed in one hotel and 4 B&B's while in Northern Ireland and Elizabeth provided easily the best breakfast of them all. We also had an evening meal with her which was equally good and great value. Most of food was home grown or home-reared. Location very quiet, despite relative proximity to the Int Airport and great views over the Lough. Well worth hunting out - only minutes from Antrim and 30 minutes from Belfast

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed 4 nights and although we arrived late we were greeted with tea and cakes. Bay Cottage is in a very rural setting overlooking Lough Neagh but it is only a few mins away from the airport (only noticed one plane), about 25mins. into Belfast and convenient to explore the coast and Giant's Causeway. Elizabeth is a brilliant cook and this shows in her home produce, Irish breakfasts and an evening meal of belly pork. Long time before we taste anything as good! We visit N.Ireland every year and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TILLY-1376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldergrove
3.3 mi away
Ballyrobin Country Lodge
Ballyrobin Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in Aldergrove
397 reviews
2.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Belfast International Airport
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Antrim M2, JCT.1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Dunadry Hotel
Dunadry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunadry
727 reviews
23.0 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
1,352 reviews
3.4 mi away
Stable Court Lodging
Stable Court Lodging
#3 of 3 in Antrim
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Address: 61 Loughview Road, Aldergrove BT29 4ED, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Aldergrove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aldergrove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast Aldergrove, County Antrim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing