We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's not to like”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Aldergrove B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 April 2013

From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome by Elizabeth for whom nothing was too much trouble. Picked up at the airport fed what has to be the best breakfast anywhere. Everything locally produced and prepared with such care. Baked plums for breakfast- wow! The bed has to be the most comfortable ever so much so we had to ask the make of the mattress. We loved it so much we went back again 2 days later. Go and enjoy this wonderful establishment

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank simon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dilly61, Owner at Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we hope all goes well in the summer. Glad you enjoyed the plums, and had a good nights sleep.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

We had three wonderful nights at Bay Cottage last week and were very happy to be there. Elizabeth and Norman are very welcoming hosts and their home is a lovely mix of furniture and paintings.
Our room was beautiful with a view over the lough which is right on their doorstep, we would never have known there was an airport nearby if we hadn't flown in to it! One of the nicest things was that Elizabeth came to pick us up from the airport (at midnight!) and took us back which of course saved huge taxi fares.
Elizabeth's breakfasts were fantastic and her home made bread and cakes made the whole experience even nicer.
Thanks for having us and we'll definitely come back

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dilly61, Owner at Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Dear Sue,

We are so pleased that you decided to come and stay, always lovely to meet fellow cat lovers. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Hope the cats were alright.

Best wishes,
Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Bay Cottage is the perfect place to stay when exploring County Antrim and Belfast. It is close to the international airport but is in a most peaceful location on the shores Lough Neagh. I stayed in the room overlooking the lough and enjoyed misty sunrises from the window. Elizabeth is a marvellous hostess. Her breakfasts set you up for a full day's sightseeing and her evening meals are very substantial! Produce is locally sourced where possible and everything, including the bread and the jam, is home cooked and very tasty. The two guest bedrooms are beautifully furnished with particularly "well-plumped" pillows that I loved. There are tea/coffee making facilities in the room, and everywhere is warm, comfortable and clean. I stayed there on the recommendation of a family friend and will definitely return!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dilly61, Owner at Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Thank you for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed yourself, and that you will return. There is so much to see in N.I, that you need several days. The frosty mornings are adding to our sunrises at the moment. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This was our second fantastic stay at Bay Cottage even managed to find it better this time on our motorbike !!! Once again Elizabeth and her family made us so welcome and the evening meal as well as breakfast was 1st class .I can still taste the lovely chilli beef stew and the lemon pudding. As I wrote in the visitor book ,if Bay Cottage were in the olympics Northern Ireland would have won all the golds ...... We will be back Thank you for making the start of our holiday great.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lollipop1155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

After a long day's cycle it was a delight to arrive at Bay Cottage. Elizabeth and her family could not have done anything more to make us feel more welcome. The bedroom was lovely and it was great to be able to make use of the lounge which was so comfortable. We had stayed in some lovely accommodation during our holiday but Bay Cottage surpassed all the others in terms of atmosphere, comfort and the all important breakfast to send us on the final leg of our journey. We're already making plans to return to Northern Ireland and having Bay Cottage as our base rather than travelling around. Thanks guys for your kindness and friendliness very much appreciated by two tired cyclists!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobiasthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dilly61, Owner at Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Hope you enjoyed St. George's Market and Belfat in general. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This was my third visit to Bay Cottage and it is still just around the corner from Belfast International Airport on a quiet country road on the shores of Lough Neagh, and you are still greeted with tea, cake, shortbread and this time jelly! served in a comfortable sitting room warmed by a log burner. .Upstairs are two comfortable bedrooms with every convenience, and in the morning there is a wonderful breakfast, mostly home baked, home cooked, home laid and home reared. I would recommend Bay Cottage to any business traveller weary of the dreary round of characterless business hotels, and at a fraction of the cost as well.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NemoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Our room was very comfortable with lovely furniture and lots of room. Fabulous breakfast in the morning and Elizabeth couldn't have been more helpful - even getting her husband to have a look at our hire car to figure out the lights for us!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maura j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldergrove
3.3 mi away
Ballyrobin Country Lodge
Ballyrobin Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in Aldergrove
408 reviews
4.8 mi away
Keef Halla Country House
Keef Halla Country House
#1 of 4 in Nutts Corner
222 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ballyharvey House B&B
Ballyharvey House B&B
#1 of 9 in Antrim
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Glendaloch House B&B
Glendaloch House B&B
#1 of 2 in Aldergrove
15 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Address: 61 Loughview Road, Aldergrove BT29 4ED, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Aldergrove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aldergrove
Price Range: £54 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast Aldergrove, County Antrim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing