We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kindness and perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Aldergrove B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We found this place by chance, but we were very lucky.
The owners are a really gentle people.
Mrs McBride is a perfect host and a special cook.
The room and the bathroom were very comfortable and clean.
Our room had a great special view on the lake and the sunset.
We came to stay one night but we appreciated so much this place that we decided to stay one night more. ...so we could taste their breakfast one more time

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Edoardo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dilly61, Owner at Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and that the North Coast was all that you hoped. We hope to see you again.

Best wishes,
Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Bay Cottage is ideally situated close to Belfast International Airport - but you would never know.
The cottage is hidden away down a pretty lane and stands within its own grounds, and the front of the cottage overlooks Lough Neagh.
I confess this BB was not our choice- my daughter (who loves in South Africa ) arranged our holiday itinerary and scoured websites for the perfect accommodation- and this was the perfect place- I cannot compliment this BB highly enough.
We booked two rooms both of which had lovely views of the water- classic furniture and quality linen, it was like visiting an old friends house for the weekend- rather than a B&B.
Elizabeth serves homemade bread and jam and home grown fruit - all of which are in plentiful supply- and are complimented by other quality ingredient choices at the breakfast table.
Arriving at Bay Cottage after a long day out- guests are greeted with a tray of home made cakes and scones and tea or coffee.
Elizabeth is a lovely lady who wants her guests to enjoy their holiday- be comfortable in her home and take away good memories of Belfast ,she achieves all of that and more.
If I go back to Belfast I cant imagine staying any where else.

Room Tip: The Blue Room has an en -suite, the Green Room has a bathroom just on the hallway. Both rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank july1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dilly61, Owner at Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments and I am glad you enjoyed the breakfasts. We look forward to your next visit. Enjoy the rest of the summer.

Best wishes,
ELizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This was our second time staying at Bay Cottage B & B, and yet again the experience was excellent. Norman & Elizabeth made us very welcome and allocated us to their Green Room which was a very calm & soothing room, with amazing views over Lough Neagh. The bed was extremely comfortable and the pillows excellent! Our evening meal was delicious and the breakfast was divine. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dilly61, Owner at Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you for your kind comments, we enjoyed seeing you again and look forward to your next visit. Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Very comfortable and cosy accomodation, just in front of the lough (it is worth having a walk early in the morning !). Lovely room, with beautiful pieces of furniture, paintings. Excellent breakfast, with colourful fruit salad, home made bread. We also recommend the irish stew for dinner and the apple crumble. The outsides of the house would deserve to be better kept .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thibaud M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dilly61, Owner at Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and your evening meal. We are rural but only half an hour from Belfast city centre and 10 minutes from either Antrim or Crumlin. The outside of the house is a work in progress and if you return in a years time you will notice a major difference. Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at Bay Cottage for one night on the 28th March. We chose the location as my dad was brought up along the lough shore from the cottage, and we were so glad we chose Bay. It is run by the most amiable lady who works very hard to ensure your stay is perfect. The three rooms me and my family stayed in were perfect. My parents and two eldest stayed in the main house in Green and blue rooms and they were delightful, home from home rooms, spotlessly clean with the "comfiest beds ever" (apparently). My husband and smallest child stayed in a self contained apartment that was superbly kitted out with everything one could possibly need to stay there for as long as you would need. All items were to the highest spec. Breakfast was a fantastic affair with Elizabeth cooking for 7 to order and all plates stacked with great food, piping hot (with breads, james, fruits, cereals and yogurt as a starter!)
The special touch for me was arriving back from relatives at 8pm to a batch of fantastic handmade scones & Butter for us to have as a snack with a cup of tea.
I cannot praise Bay Cottage enough - a perfect location, with a perfect host and we cannot wait to go back again. A very special location for us - with now a special place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mellymel41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dilly61, Owner at Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

So glad you enjoyed your stay here and we hope that the party went well. We look forward to your next visit. Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed here three nights (oct 9-11, 2013), and what a gem it was. It is remote from the city of Belfast, but just the right distance for some solitude amid the farm country. This BB is in an old but nicely restored house overlooking sheep pasture and the lough. Our room was upstairs to the left in a large corner space, and since we were the only lodgers there, it was wonderfully quiet. The room not only had a nice bed, but also other furnishings such as a sofa, chair, desk, and a large wardrobe. The extra touch was the artwork and collectibles through this room as well as the rest of the house. It truly looked more like a home than a lodging. The bathroom was large with nice fixtures and shower. Breakfasts were made to order, with typical Irish eggs, bacon and ham, plus many extras. The woman of the house was most delightful and responsive to our many questions about the surrounding sights. In the yard is a nice little sheltered patio away from the house where one can enjoy the surroundings even if it is raining or windy.

I would rate this BB a very good value. We stayed in BBs all over Ireland and Northern Ireland for nearly a month, and no place was better than this one. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Thank you for looking after us for our first visit to Ireland. The room was lovely and the private bathroom was great with fluffy dressing gowns. Lottie and I had a great time and the food was a treat. Thank you and we hope to return soon. Amanda and Charlotte.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dilly61, Owner at Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to N.I. There is a lot more to see and do so we hope you will return. Thank you for your kind comments, Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldergrove
3.3 mi away
Ballyrobin Country Lodge
Ballyrobin Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in Aldergrove
406 reviews
2.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Belfast International Airport
5.4 mi away
Dunsilly Hotel
Dunsilly Hotel
#1 of 3 in Antrim
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Rosspark Hotel
Rosspark Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ballymena
329 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Antrim M2, JCT.1
7.7 mi away
Templeton Hotel
Templeton Hotel
#2 of 2 in Templepatrick
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Address: 61 Loughview Road, Aldergrove BT29 4ED, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Aldergrove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aldergrove
Price Range: £62 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast Aldergrove, County Antrim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing