We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Ridgeway Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saunderton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ridgeway Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Saunderton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 April 2011

We have just returned to France after a week away walking the Ridgeway, staying at the Ridgeway Lodge for the last three nights.
Miv and John were lovely hosts, the rooms were immaculate and the breakfast delicious. Our ins and outs were graciously accepted and tea and cake offered on our return every day!
The location was beautiful and views all around stunning. We were extremely lucky with the weather which enabled us to enjoy the location to its full. Would definitely recommend to others as a place to stay.

Stayed: April 2011
1  Thank PJPMareil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2011

My husband and I stayed at The Ridgeway for 3 nights. Upon arrival we were warmly met by the proprieters Miv and John. We were given a lovely afternoon tea. Our room was so lovely and clean. Everything was absolutely spotless. The bed was extremely comfortable! As well as a tv there is also a lovely comfortable armchair which was so great I wanted to bring it home. Our room had a lovely view over the garden and we could see the chickens too. We had a lovely shower which was spotlessly clean and fluffy white towels. There was also a nice selection of toiletries. Breakfast was amazing. Home made preserves, fresh fruit, and fresh eggs. Sausages and bacon all localy sourced. We booked our next stay even before we finished this one! Truly the lovliest place we have ever stayed.. We have family in the area so it is going to be a regular place for us to stay when we are next in Buckinghamshire. 11 out of 10!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah_ludlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We were walking in the Chilterns and spent two nights here. Miv and John looked after us from the moment we arrived until we left. Greeted with tea and cake both on arrival and after a long days walk we were made to feel comfortable at all times. Having a living room to relax in, with well stocked books and information together with free wi-fi, was a bonus. The locally sourced breakfast was delicious and we were spoiled for choice. Many thanks for sharing your beautiful home with us.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pencils43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

A most pleasing and comfortable bed and breakfast in the countryside but handy for other amenities

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoffwgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

The rooms are so clean, the location is ideal, and the hosts are fabulous!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rxhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

My wife and I spent 2 nights here on our way back to London from the Northwest. Our hosts Miv and John had been held up by traffic in London so could not meet us. However they had arranged for others to meet us upon our arrival. Very thoughtful.
We had the loft room - huge! And the rocking horse was an unexpected delight.
John and Miv were most gracious, even inviting us in for a drink after dinner to meet family members staying with them - very thoughtful, we felt.
Breakfasts were hearty and helpful, and our hosts were most helpful in suggesting places to visit and to eat.
Another thing - if you enter the postcode of the area into your satnav, it takes you right to the front door!
We have no hesitation in recommending this B&B. It's a gem!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckspiccy, Owner at Ridgeway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2010

Thank you for such lovely comments-it makes it all worth while when I read things like this. It sounded as though the meeting arrangements were made easily, but in reality I was in a panic in case no-one was home to meet you! What would we do without mobile phones!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Miv and John were great hosts. When we arrived they had a cup of tea and cake waiting. Everything was spotless, the rooms were were ready and having just finished part of the Ridgeway walk was one of the most pleasant surprises of the walk. Definitely the best accommodation we found. It was better than some hotels I have stayed in with fantastic personal service.

Ridgeway Lodge stands in it's own grounds and is on the Ridgeway, surrounded by farmland about a mile from Princes Risborough.

I liked everything about Ridgeway Lodgeand would love to find a reason to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MultiverseX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ridgeway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgeway Lodge

Address: Ridgeway Lodge Upper Icknield Way, Saunderton, Princes Risborough HP27 9NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Princes Risborough > Saunderton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saunderton
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ridgeway Lodge is on the Ridgeway Trail one mile to the south of Princes Risborough. Accommodation provided comprises a large first floor en-suite room, used as either a twin or king-sized bedroom, large enough for an extra bed or cot. The ground floor annexe has two bedrooms, a double with kingsize bed and a twin, and these share a newly refurbished accessible shower room, if both rooms are occupied by a family or group of friends. Otherwise the bathroom can be private to either room, as only one room is usually booked at a time. Breakfasts include fruit, juice, cereals, yogurt, a full English breakfast using eggs from our neighbour's hens, toast, croissants and homemade preserves.Other options usually available with notice. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing