We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls night in”
Review of Hellaby Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hellaby
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Girls night in”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

just come back from over night stay called "girls night in ",for the price of £95 each was execellent value gorgeous rooms,spa treatment, 2 course meal,free wine plus chocolate and popcorn in rooms full breakfast next morning feeling very relaxed. the only reason i didnt give this a 5 was the service in the resteraunt was very slow 20mins for dessert!!! and waited 15mins for someone to come and serve at the bar .but apart from that lovely

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHgeneralmanager, General Manager at Hellaby Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank you for your review following your stay on the Girl’s Night In package, I am pleased that you found the hotel to be relaxing and comfortable. We are disappointed that we failed to achieve 5 stars from you and please allow me to apologize for the waiting time in the restaurant. We do pride ourselves on producing the freshest of ingredients in the restaurant and sorry that this gave you a delay. We will of course share this with the team and very much look forward to seeing you at the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    220
    163
    107
    76
See reviews for
147
285
20
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

A very nice, clean and comfy hotel. Large rooms and very comfy bed (King Room).
Very friendly and helpful staff, nice comfy bar and food was very nice.
One small criticism is that £12 for breakfast is too much - it's breakfast!!
Overall very good and would stay again.

Room Tip: I can recommend a King Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starky2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHgeneralmanager, General Manager at Hellaby Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for your time to review Hellaby Hall, I am pleased that you found it to be a pleasurable experience. We note your point about breakfast charges and sorry that you found this to be expensive,.
We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Attended an event at Hellaby Hall over a week ago and was shocked by the cleanliness of the place and the lack of customer service. When we arrived we had to queue for just over an hour to get a drink at the bar. When we finally got to the bar there no glasses left so the staff had to leave the bar to collect some more glasses and then wash them. They then ran out of change so some people could not pay for their drinks. The staff looked extremely stressed and management were no where to be seen. The price of drinks was ridiculous and after queuing for over an hour I would expect them for free! The toilets were filthy too. Not what you would expect for a 4 star hotel. My partner and I viewed this place in search of a wedding venue and I'm so glad we decided against Hellaby Hall. Such a shame for a lovely building.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda-james86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHgeneralmanager, General Manager at Hellaby Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Hotel which we read with disappointment. Understanding that the event you attended was well attended and due to everybody arriving to the hotel at the same time, this caused a delay in getting everybody served drinks, we do apologise that you had a short wait.
We are also sorry that you felt the cleanliness was not up to standard and please be assured that your comments have been passed onto the housekeeping team for review, I am happy to read that you like the 17th Century manor house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hellaby hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

We attended a seminar here and felt as though it was uninviting. The room was cold and the cups not clean - the organisers were having difficulty liaising with staff. The sandwiches were fine but the chips cold. I would not want to visit this place again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHgeneralmanager, General Manager at Hellaby Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for your short review on your recent visit to the hotel, we are sorry that on this occasion we did not hot the mark and please be assured that we have shared your comments with the operations team at the hotel. It is unfortunate that we were unaware of your concerns whilst at the hotel, which would have allowed us to do something about them. We hope you will return to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights on business, all expenses paid. Although the hotel states it's a 4*, it really isn't. I think it's over priced for what you get and I wouldn't pay to stay here. Apart from that, the receptionists were very helpful and friendly on arrival and departure. I had a room on the second floor which was right next to the exit doors towards the lifts and every time someone came through these doors, it would shake my bedroom door. Ver annoying so I asked to change rooms and thankfully they were able to do this. The room was clean but the radiator was playing up and so it was hard to get the temperature right to have a comfortable sleep. I was up most of the time tossing and turning. On the first day, breakfast was 10 minutes late and they were bringing the hot food out in stages - all at once. Breakfast starts at 7am which I thought was too late as I had to get to work for an 8am start. The bar wouldn't allow you to pay for your drinks in cash which I found quite annoying. On the first night, they ran out of steak. It was only 7pm and the restaurant wasn't even full so I don't understand how they ran out of steak so quickly? It's more like a 2* hotel if I am being honest. Saying here for work was ok but I would not recommend it for anyone who is coming on a romantic weekend or wanting to relax. Oh and one last thing, there was no network in either of the two rooms which was not good as I had to make my phone calls from the reception area.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 36.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHgeneralmanager, General Manager at Hellaby Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for your detailed review which we read with interest and disappointment. We are sorry that you didn’t enjoy a good night’s sleep as this is what we pride ourselves on.
The hotel does operate a four star status and works hard to achieve our high percentage through the requirements in order to secure and facilitate this star rating. We are however pleased that you found the team to be friendly and helpful and that you found our rooms to be clean.
The hotel restaurant opens during the week at 6.30pm and I am sorry that by the time you placed your order the special steak option had been sold, we do pride ourselves on cooking the freshest of ingredients and sorry that you had to choose something else on this occasion.
A 7am start for breakfast is general protocol in hotels and we do find that this suits the majority of our guests; we do certainly offer a room service breakfast that you were able to order in advance to your room that would secure an earlier breakfast next time you stay.
Finally we are sorry that your mobile network didn’t cover the area you required; we do understand that in most places in the hotel you can receive a good signal on all the major phone networks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2013

my mother and I visited maltby to see some family.
our expectations of hellaby was good as we had stayed there before but were surpised at the lack of enthusiasm and passion from some of the staff members.
such a let down as the hotel is beautiful.
the first room we stayed in was poor in comparison to a premier Inn room. - cobwebs on the ceeling sticky marks on the desk, coffee rings on the table and a floor that had clearly not been hovered.

after complaining we waited over half an hour for our room to be changed. the room we were then put in - morrell suite. was lovely, not 100% but its what you expect from an old fashoined room.

dinner was terrible.. the waitress was bordering on stupid.. first impressions were gathered when she told the couple sitting next to us that the bread was a bit stale so she wouldn't eat it but would they like some?... i asked for the honey roast duck , well done.. and she told me that the chef would recommend for it to be medium-rare. after a third time of asking for it to be well done she told me '' don't blame me if its a bit chewy'' great..

after complaining yet again to the manager we were given a complimentary cheese board.

all in all very disappointing. This hotel could be lovely, but with the unenthusiastic staff all more tired than the paint work it is defiantly in need of a revamp!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jess1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay (Sunday-Tuesday) at the Hellaby Hall Hotel. It was booked as a surprise for us to come to straight after our wedding.
The hotel was beautiful - It was very clean, the rooms were very spacious and comfortable.
We were greeted by very friendly reception staff who checked us in with no problems. We were asked if we needed any help bringing our things in and we said no but a young chap that works there must have seen us struggling and came over and helped carry all of our stuff straight to our room. We were later served by him in the bar and he was very friendly and he really made a difference to our first evening as a married couple - just wish we got his name to say thank you.

The first night we ate in the restaurant - we had a 2 course dinner which was absolutely delicious and well presented. We had the restaurant to ourselves and the staff again were very friendly. The second night we ate in the bar area where they serve meals - again - delicious. I had a home made Pizza.

Our breakfast on the first morning was made to order. We got to choose anything we wanted and was cooked freshly - there and then and was also very nice. There was also a continental buffet which we helped ourselves to.
Breakfast on the second morning was buffet style and was fresh, hot and tasty.

We were treated to afternoon tea - range of sandwiches, cake and scones. It was so lovely and relaxing in the old manor house.

We also made use of the leisure facilities - steam room, sauna, whirlpool and swimming pool which we thoroughly enjoyed and just topped it all off for us. Very relaxing.

So all in all - we had a fantastic stay at the Hellaby Hall Hotel. Please do not be put off by the 'picky' negative reviews. We will never forget our stay - it was just a perfect place to start our married lives. Thank you to all the staff that helped.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHgeneralmanager, General Manager at Hellaby Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words and detailed review. we are very pleased that we were able to give you special memories so close after your very special day. Very many congratulations to you both, we will of course share your comments with the team and particularly the bar person that evening that made a difference to you on your first night as husband and wife.
Thank you once again and good luck with your future life together, we hope you will return very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hellaby
5.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#2 of 15 in Rotherham
532 reviews
13.8 mi away
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#8 of 15 in Rotherham
735 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
11.1 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hellaby Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hellaby Hall Hotel

Property: Hellaby Hall Hotel
Address: Old Hellaby Lane, Hellaby, Rotherham S66 8EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham > Hellaby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hellaby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hellaby Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hellaby Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellaby Hall Rotherham
Hotel Hellaby Hall
Hellaby Hall Hotel Rotherham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing