We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”
Review of Hellaby Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hellaby
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We used a Wowcher coupon - £99 for dinner B&B for two, Hotel reception - very good. Room OK - a little dated. but comfortable bed. Bathroom good. Dinner - a room with little or no atmosphere BUT the staff were very good and the set 2 course meal was better than we have had anywhere in recent months. Imaginatively chosen ingredients, well presented, and very tasty. A real surprise and a welcome one.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarefulScreening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHgeneralmanager, General Manager at Hellaby Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for your recent review, I am delighted that your enjoyed your time at the hotel and you felt you received value for money.
I have of course passed on your feedback to the team and the head chef as they too will be delighted that you enjoyed your meal in our restaurant.
we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (900)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

622 - 628 of 900 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

Having had a lovely christmas lunch at Hellaby hall two years ago, we decided to go again this christmas. What a complete let down! To be fair, on entering the restaurant, the tables looked beautifully laid out and the service was very friendly, we thought we were in for a treat! Having ordered a bottle of white wine we had to ask for a wine bucket, which wasn't a major problem, we were served our starter, my husband and myself had pate, which was quite nice but the toast it was served with was rather turned up at the edges, our daughter had the tartlet, which looked like something from a certain freezer shop (the one that mums go to). But still, we could have forgiven the starter, if the main course of turkey etc hadn't have been so bad! We were served about three pieces of turkey, with a slice(!) of stuffing on top, and the only gravy on the whole plate, three very white looking roast potatoes, a 'pig in blanket' which was strangely, over cooked on the outside, and undercooked on the inside, don't really know how to describe the vegetables except to say they tasted as bad as they looked. To be fair the dessert was nice enough, but even that looked like it had come from the same freezer shop as our daughters starter! We didn't stay for mince pies and coffee, by this time we just wanted to leave. I have written this review because i have phoned Hellaby hall four times to speak to someone about the christmas meal, one chap said he would e-mail me when he 'found out what went wrong, then i spoke to their events manager (a lovely lady) who said she would get the manager to call me back. Still waiting for both! I would have given five stars for the waiting on staff and the table presentation and absolutely none for the food. worst christmas meal ever, which is compounded by the fact that we paid forty nine pounds each.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carnadem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHgeneralmanager, General Manager at Hellaby Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for your very detailed review regarding Christmas day lunch, we are sorry that you didn't enjoy aspects of the day and can assure you that we take all feedback very positively. we are also sorry that you haven't received a response from the hotel, perhaps we have the wrong email address for you as we have tried to make contact.

Please be assured that the food prepared in the hotel is prepared in house and of the freshest ingredients, we pride ourselves on our food offering and we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

We are pleased that you enjoyed aspects of your visit and one being the team that were on duty to serve you, I will certainly share this with the team at the hotel.

Finally please do not hesitate to contact me direct at the hotel should you wish to discuss further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We arrived New Year's Eve to afternoon tea before the gala dinner and disco. After we booked we read some of the reviews, so were a little concerned. We need not have worried as the food was excellent and the service was very attentive. Rooms perhaps a little tired, but overall the experience was very good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NasusWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHgeneralmanager, General Manager at Hellaby Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

thank you for your review we are very happy that you enjoyed your New Years Eve meal and you chose to not listen to the previous reviews on TA.

We pride ourselves on the quality and service we offer at the hotel and we are delighted that you experienced this first hand. we wish you all the very best for 2014 and perhaps we will see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We have been coming to this hotel for our Christmas party for the last 4 years and we shall be coming again for many more years. The staff are incredible especially Nathan who managers the bar area. He is very efficient, helpful and great at his job making sure everyone is ok and the drinks are flowing and so on. The food is lovely and the rooms are great for the price and very clean.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abigailch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHgeneralmanager, General Manager at Hellaby Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

thank you for your very kind comments, we are delighted that you have enjoyed yet another years festivities at the hotel and look forward to seeing you back at the hotel very soon.

I will of course ensure that Nathan sees a copy, he will be very happy to have received a mention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We held a celebration party (December 2013), for my daughter and her new husband and I must say the weekend was fantastic! They live in America so the planning had to be done via skype and email but our wedding planner Kirsty was a gem, very organised, very helpful, and got everything just right - thank you Kirsty, we couldn't have done it without you.x The evening was perfect, all our guests thought the room looked wonderful (thank you Paula from cover-in-style), and the food was excellent. Our event manager, Sebastian, was so efficient, nothing was too much trouble, and any requests were dealt with quickly and without any fuss. Our room was large and very clean so was the 20 rooms occupied by our Irish guests, albeit in need of a little facelift but this didn't spoil a thing! The breakfast was tasty and plentiful and the service was excellent - Thank you Hellaby Hall

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolH798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHgeneralmanager, General Manager at Hellaby Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you so much for your very kind words regarding the recent wedding celebrations at the hotel, Weddings are what we do best and we are delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of yours.

Please be assured that we will pass all the details on to the team involved and we wish you all the very best for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Went away for 3nights with my sister for a getaway weekend and meet special friends.
What can I say, reception staff very friendly, 2 of the 3 nights that we ate in the restaurant, the food was excellent as were the restaurant staff. The bedroom was nice and comfy, although no wifi in the room and to get a signal the phone had to be put on the window ledge.!!'
The swimming pool was lovely, although the pool was quite chilly, both the sauna and steam room are a must, as is the gym, if you like a bit of a workout!!
Would defo come back here again.



  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flossy196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHgeneralmanager, General Manager at Hellaby Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

many thanks for your very kind words, we are delighted that you enjoyed your extended stay and please that you would recommend this to others.
I will of course pass the details onto the team and the head chef and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

A really impressive reception, good staff and a decent meal, but the stay was spoilt at times. On the first night we arrived tired but still had to visit family before settling down. Mentioned we had asked for a quiet room when booking but this had obviously not been passed on. This hotel is popular for functions and there was a wedding reception being held, about 30 meters from our room. No problem, not much noise at first. We went to the restaurant for our meal which was good but it was quite a restricted fixed priced menu and the prices suited a more a la carte menu. Service was very good and the food was very well presented.
After a drink in the bar we retired to our room for an early night. We're woken by guests from the wedding running screaming down the corridor. Woken again by noisy guests leaving, our quiet room happened to be above the entrance. This didn't go on for long.
Next day went out quite early and were out with family all day, very tiring and were pleased to get back to the wonderful little bar for a quiet drink, until a large party of Irish people arrived and they were a really happy bunch and on another night we would probably have enjoyed their company. But they took over the area forcing us back to our room with a bottle of wine. Once again woken at various times by guests at another party decided it fine to go screaming and shouting down the corridors. Very disappointed not to hear any staff intervene. No, I did not phone and complain as this doesn't always work.
Public areas are excellent but the rooms are very tired, pillows smallest and thinnest I have experienced anywhere, towels are thin and rough and altogether not up to the standard expected from a hotel of ilk. It could be so much better with very little effort, I often stay at a nearby Ibis hotel, half the price but towels are lovely and fluffy, pillows are of a good standard.
Would we return, yes, some of our issues probably would not happen again. One last thing, we were -almost-charged for a breakfast we did not have.
Summary, good staff, nice meal, nice bar when it was quiet, just a few noise issues...and change those pillows and towels!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHgeneralmanager, General Manager at Hellaby Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Many thanks for your review and detailed stay, we are sorry that other guests attending a function impacted your stay and it is a shame we weren't given the opportunity to put this right for you.

I am pleased however that you did enjoy the aspects that the hotel and team were in control of and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hellaby
5.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#4 of 15 in Rotherham
559 reviews
4.5 mi away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#7 of 15 in Rotherham
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
2.0 mi away
Best Western Consort Hotel
Best Western Consort Hotel
#9 of 15 in Rotherham
345 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
#1 of 15 in Rotherham
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hellaby Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hellaby Hall Hotel

Address: Old Hellaby Lane, Hellaby, Rotherham S66 8EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham > Hellaby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hellaby
Price Range: £55 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hellaby Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hellaby Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellaby Hall Rotherham
Hotel Hellaby Hall
Hellaby Hall Hotel Rotherham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing