We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique wedding venue, amazing food.”
Review of The Missing Sock

The Missing Sock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$37
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: There are a lot of restaurant names which make us happy, but none more than The Missing Sock - a quirky dining room on the outskirts of Cambridge in the equally wonderfully named Stow-cum-Quy. Not just a restaurant, The Missing Sock is a part of the community with its strong values making it the kind of place that you���ll want to come back to again and again. Not only is the food - made with high quality ingredients - unusual, intriguing and delicious but the atmosphere is fun and laid back, the staff friendly and welcoming and the restaurant itself attractive and comfortable. Introducing a wide range of international cuisine, The Missing Sock has introduced a whole host of new ethnic cuisine to the folk of Cambridge. So you might attack a spicy little number from the wilds of Africa while your friends indulge in Irish, feast on French and enjoy Japanese. Children are equally important customers here at The Missing Sock too and the restaurant has provided numerous first dining experiences, meals equally well thought through and exciting for small visitors as for their parents.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique wedding venue, amazing food.”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had our wedding reception at the Missing Sock and couldn't have asked for a better day, it was beyond what we ever imagined. Hugh and the team went out of their way to help us with every aspect and worked tirelessly to make our day so special. The food was amazing, part of the reason we picked tMS was because we didn't want the usual wedding food, and their ethnic menu suited us perfectly and was very VERY reasonably priced for the quality. Our guest couldn't stop raving about how unique the venue was, there are so many different areas, you can chill out and chat, have a good boogie and there is an area for every age. We didn't have kids at our wedding but if you do there is a great play area and a movie room to keep them entertained. We can't recommend tMS highly enough, if you want a unique, quirky, exciting wedding then this is the right place, and it doesn't cost ridiculous amounts, they are not in it for profit, they are a charitable venture and the least pushy salespeople you'll ever find in the wedding industry. Go and have a chat to them, you won't regret it!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KairaM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    27
    7
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One unforgettable wedding”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We held our wedding at The Missing Sock last Saturday and we couldn't have found a better venue.

Our friends and family embraced the tMS vibe which is relaxed, chilled-out and full of character and soul.

At every turn there is something fun, quirky and beautiful. Whether it's the karaoke bus, toasting marshmallows on the fire-pit, the movie room for the kids or the outdoor dance floor, every single one of our guests left with their own special memories and a smile on their face.

The staff were over-helpful and full of great spirit. There's even a Greg Rutherford lookey-likey among them (much to his denial!).

This Cambridgeshire wedding venue embodies the character of Hugh, whose laid-back and inviting nature put us right at ease from the very beginning - 'anything's possible here' he said - 'We try to make whatever you have in mind come to life.' My over-arching memory of the day is lots of jokes, love and laughter which I know would not have been the same anywhere else.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karyn461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The missng sock”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed here on Friday 18 July , what a great find this place is I felt like I was in Ibiza , very far away from uk. Very child friendly , the owner was very welcoming . The rooms were just right and the bed was comfy . Nice to open the door to countryside and chickens and ducks kids loved it and asked when are we going back to the missing sock. We will defiantly be staying here again next Time we are in the area. I would like to see more diversity on the food menu as I am a real foodie .
10/10

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Retrobaby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Don't go near the Babootie”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I remembered Babootie from Student days in a mighty mince cookbook so my wife and I thought we would try it ! Very disappointing, small portion, overpriced, but the worst aspect very bland and tasteless(couldn't Find any apricots either) I would have let the staff know directly but no one asked if we were enjoying the meal so we left. The pub is otherwise pleasant and different, service was ok so I guess we picked the wrong thing on the menu

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoogie123, Owner at The Missing Sock, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Retrospective remedial action is always difficult, i understand the reluctance to express dissatisfaction on the night, we just dont do it as a nation. If the guest had done he would not have paid for the meal. Its always difficult to identify dissatisfied customers if they dont say and their plates are licked clean. The babootie recipe like its spelling is very varied, definitely our best seller, however we have taken on board the question of value but have chosen to stick with the organic beef steak option rather than devalue the dish contents.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect for a quirky, alternative wedding - thank you!!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

When we were hunting for a wedding reception venue, we knew it needed to;

Be a little different
Not charge a premium just for the word 'wedding'
Be relaxed and quirky
Have a great ethos

We didn't think we'd find our venue quickly or easily, or upon a first google... but we did! After visiting the place for a lunch to check it out, we knew it was the place for us.

Our wedding took place on 21st June 2014, and knowing we wanted a Saturday date in June, we booked this over a year in advance. Thankfully - Hugh told us lots of people had asked about that date!

We kept things fun, relaxed and simple with canapes and glasses of sangria (at Hugh's suggestion) on arrival, followed by bottles of wine on the tables along with sharing platters (kangaroo burgers, ribs, wings, chips *, babooti, veg thai green curry, rice, salad).

The karaoke bus - something we weren't initially fussed about using but which came as part of our package - proved very popular with our more vocally talented guests and in hindsight it was a great extra option to have, and the fire pit provided great evening entertainment with marshmallow sticks. We hired the chill out room and brought along a games console and 'Guitar Hero', which proved very popular too! We skipped having a DJ or band, and instead brought along a 'meal' playlist on a memory stick and a Spotify playlist for the post-meal rock-out, which worked exceedingly well.

The 'childrens' play area proved just as popular with some of the older guests (swings, climbing tyres and a space hopper), and our photographer had a blast taking quirky photos of this brilliantly odd, silly, fun place. Having cones of chips and sausages in the evening rounded things off nicely, and our guests were well fed.

There was a brief technical hitch with the outside speakers but this was resolved very quickly - it was just a shame that it happened as we were attempting to have Dad and Daughter rock-out for the second dance, but Hugh and the team were quick to set things right. We booked the outside marquee, just in case the rain came down, but the weather was so brilliant we didn't need to worry - lets face it though, you can't book the weather and a wet option is a must!

If you like pristine manicured lawns, silver service and a grand hotel style, this is not the place for you. But, if you want to have a blast, feel like you're at home (my Mum went without her shoes for most of the day!) and relaxed, and love a little organised randomness and chaos, this place is perfect.

I can't speak highly enough of all the team - and a number of our wedding guests enthused to each other (and not to me just to be polite) that it was the best wedding reception they'd been to.

My family stayed here in the accommodation too, which was immaculately clean, and they felt very welcomed and part of the team - the resident dog got lots of fusses, and my brilliant but rather conservative Gran was so chilled out that Hugh managed to convince her to give the Shisha pipe a go!

* as any bride will tell you, giving up certain foods to fit into your dress is hard. When I was asked what I wanted on the wedding day, chips was top of the list!

This was a hugely special day, made so very special by Hugh and the team. Thank you, all of you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma_D_Goth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Missing Sock also viewed

Stow Cum Quy, Cambridge
Stow Cum Quy, Cambridge
 
Little Wilbraham, Cambridgeshire
 
 

Been to The Missing Sock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing