We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best sunday lunches around Cambridge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stow Cum Quy
Newmarket, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the best sunday lunches around Cambridge”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is my second visit to the restaurant and again the food was outstanding. The first time I visited the service was terrible, but today it was the complete opposite. The staff were attentive, polite and couldn't do enough to help, and the food was outstanding with plenty to eat.
It's quite hard to find a decent sunday lunch in and around Cambridge but I couldn't recommend this enough. Will defiantly be visiting again soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, General Manager at Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank-you for your excellent review on our fantastic Sunday Lunch offering. I am pleased that we have changed you original opinion of Sunday Lunch in our award winning Mill House Restaurant and that you have seen the difference in service and offering. We all look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable visit to Cambridge Quy Mill Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    267
    111
    56
    28
See reviews for
115
338
23
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Me and my girlfriend have stayed here numerous times. Very nice hotel with polite staff. Nice modern rooms. Spa was very nice, and the breakfast is the best part. Would definitely recommend staying here. Location is great, easy to get into the center of Cambridge and easy access to the motorway.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekumi00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, General Manager at Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank-you for your excellent review, I am delighted you enjoy your stay over and over again!! As you have said, the Leisure facilities and rooms are of excellent quality. Of particular not are your very positive comments regarding the staff and breakfast!! We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The hotel is wonderfully located. Rooms are dark and dated, but manage to be comfortable. Bed and bath were fine. Staff welcoming and kind. Breakfast ends on the dot so get there in time. Cambridge is spectacular.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony to be able to sit outside without the crowds.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank EB502014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, General Manager at Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank-you for your positive review. Our location is ideal for visiting Cambridge with easy access routes in and out of the city. We are currently refurbishing our bedrooms to enhance our already excellent bed stock whilst maintaining a lot of the original features. Thank-you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed for 3 nights .. The hotel was very clean and friendly.Unfortunatley this was marred when we tried to book an evening meal on the Saturday evening. We went to the bar to book early Saturday afternoon to book a table for dinner that night,only to be told they were fully booked we offered to take a late dinner being as we were residents, We were refused point blank ,we were told to go to Cambridge by cab as we had explained we were unable to drive into the city.This cost just underI £40.00 return.I thought Basil Fawlty retired, however we appear to have been dealing with his Grandson over the week end.. The resturant was a complete disaster. from day one. On Sunday we sat down for breakfast at 9.10 am it eventually arrived at our table 10.20.am Cold.!!
The rooms were very good and the reception staff were very friendly and polite.. On our last day (Monday) we expressed our disappointment to the receptionist whilst booking us out ,She advised us
she would report this to the G.Manager and he would be contacting us.We waited 4 days to no avail we then telephoned on Friday.and Spoke with Cathy Nibbs who took details again and assured that G.M. or herself would call that day. Still waiting.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, General Manager at Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank-you for your positive review. I am delighted to read your comments regarding the staff and the bedrooms. However, I am disappointed to read your comments regarding dining in the restaurant and breakfast. Please accept my apologies for any shortcomings in experience received during your stay and can assure you that this is not the normal standard at Quy Mill. We have reviewed the communication processes in the hotel to ensure I am made aware of any such comments in order that I respond in a timely manner. Please accept my apologies for this breakdown, however I am delighted to hear Mr Beattie picked up on your comments and resolved them accordingly. Thank-you once again, for your feedback, as this helps to monitor and improve our operation as necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed at the Quy Mill last weekend for a family break. The hotel itself is lovely and is perfectly located. My room (in the main building) was very clean, the bathroom was super and we had a lovely view of the river. The hotel is well decorated and the communal areas and gardens are all lovely. The thing that lets this hotel down is the restaurant. We booked on a dinner, bed and breakfast rate for two nights and on both evenings we experienced severe delays with our food, poor service and tepid meals. We had booked an early dinner (7pm) as we had two children in our party and on both evenings we had to wait until approximately 9pm for any food. We were told on one night that the chef was having ‘issues’. The hotel has a lovely private dining room which we had booked for the Saturday night to celebrate a birthday but were very disappointed to find the room had been double booked. We also experienced long delays when ordering lunch in the bar. There does seem to be a general problem with the kitchen/restaurant as we overheard other guests complaining about delays with food. However, the Quy Mill is a nice place to stay so I would suggest staying on a bed and breakfast basis and eating out, unless they can sort out the issues with the restaurant!

Room Tip: Room number 24 in the main building is lovely and has a great view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LankySarah2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, General Manager at Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank-you for your comments, and particularly your very positive comments on the facilities, cleanliness and bedrooms.
Having investigated your comments regarding the restaurant, I am pleased to understand that my management team were able to resolve this for you during your stay. Such feedback is a valuable way for us to monitor and improve our operation as necessary, and the way in which we deal with some minor incidents is how we stand out from the rest. On departure, I am delighted you conveyed your satisfaction to our team in the way we had handled your comments. Thank-you once again for your review and was delighted you enjoyed your stay with us as a whole, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I booked this hotel on Late Rooms and got a bargain. The room was one of the newer ones over the mill. It was lovely. I had been shown these rooms by the manager the day before they went out for public to use a couple of years ago, when I stayed in a four poster room. Theses rooms are lovely. Spotless clean, warm, beautiful shower room and just couldn't fault it in any way. This was the forth time I have stayed here and it will be used by myself lots more times. The swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi all great too. The staff are very polite and friendly. Just a great place to stay and located in a good place to get out and about locally. Thank you.

Room Tip: We had an orange room over the mill. There is different coloured rooms in each floor level. We actua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C12jax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, General Manager at Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank-you for your excellent comments. I am delighted you enjoyed another good stay with us and experienced one of our fantastic newly refurbished rooms!! We are currently up-grading another block of rooms to the same excellent finish as the Mill House.
Thank-you also for your comments on the staff and leisure club and we all look forward to welcoming you back on many more occasions for even more enjoyable experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

just retuned from a family 2 night break at this hotel where do I start ? firstly when entering my hotel room for the first time I found that the room had not been cleaned . there was a welcome gift for me in the loo. and the waste bin was full , then a member of our party ordered food in the bar , which took OVER an hour and half to arrive cos the chef had an issue with the fryer ?. this became a common issue with food , taking a very very long time to arrive . the manager can not be contacted weekends due to only working week days . have you ever heard anything so stupid ? the assistant manager is a complete waste of time too.. he can not make a decision and found him rather rude at times , we spent as a family well over £1400 for a 2 night break and feel completely let down there is soooo many things wrong . the hotel itself is a really clean ,fresh place but the chef and bar staff have not a clue , orders where wrong so many times , food cold and sent back many times . do not use this hotel ,,, if your looking for a relaxing stay and want good service

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, General Manager at Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank-you for posting your comments regarding your recent stay at Quy Mill. Please accept my sincere apologies for any shortcomings you may have experienced during your stay with us. Please rest assured that your comments have been taken very seriously and have been addressed with the relevant department heads to ensure such lapses do not occur again. In relation to your bathroom, I can only apologise for this complete oversight and assure your the people responsible have been dealt with in an appropriate manner. An issues is not and will not be tolerated at Quy Mill, and further re-training has been carried out to ensure this does not happen again.
Upon investigation, your comments regarding the service of food, please accept our apologies for any issues in relation to this. I am delighted that these issues were rectified by my Duty Manager, and that you left happy with the resolution to this on check-out.
I have addressed the apparent rudeness of one of the assistant managers and again can only apologise for this. There was no intention of being rude and this is not normally in his nature.
Once again, thank-you for your comments and am glad everything was resolved for you on check-out. Such feedback was a valuable way for us to monitor and improve our operation as necessary. We look forward to welcoming you back to Quy Mill, to show to you that this is an unfortunate isolated incident and certainly not the normal standard offered at the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow Cum Quy
4.2 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,284 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,720 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
411 reviews
4.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#12 of 36 in Cambridge
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection

Property: Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Address: Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection Church Road, Stow Cum Quy, Cambridge CB25 9AF, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cambridge Quy Mill Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Stow Cum Quy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stow Cum Quy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever you expect from a four star luxurious small hotel in Cambridge, you will be pleasantly surprised by the Quy Mill Hotel & Spa! Once an historic watermill, Quy Mill Hotel & Spa is a secluded haven which offers charming hotel accommodation in Cambridge, award winning 2 AA Rosette food and unfailing courtesy. It has long been a magnet for visitors from across the world, and they come here to Cambridge for a great many reasons. Guests enjoy the University City of Cambridge, and the easy access to Newmarket and the range of treasures to be found in the area. They appreciate the peaceful atmosphere, the excellent food and the attentive service of the Mill. We often welcome back couples who were married here so they can remember the enchantment of their Cambridge wedding. Our business clients comment on the ease with which any arrangements can be made and how they look forward to a session in our Health Club when the day's business is concluded - available free to guests, it is complete with a stunning deck level pool. Our business clients recall the enjoyment and benefit of corporate team building exercise in our famous 'five acre field' and Quy Mill Hotel & Spa has become their first port of call when looking for places to stay in Cambridge. All our rooms feature en-suite bath and shower and some offer the height of exclusivity with four poster beds and double whirlpool spa baths. Our award-winning restaurant will create a tempting selection of local and international dishes, while room service is on call 24 hours a day. A full list of amenities can be reached here. Welcome to Quy Mill Hotel & Spa. We promise to provide everything you would expect from a luxury hotel in Cambridge - and much much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cambridge
Cambridge Best Western
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection Stow Cum Quy, UK - Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing