We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at Meadowbank House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meadowbank House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Liddington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Although we haven't reviewed much before, we feel it necessary to post a review about this fantastic B&B. We stayed in a dozen different places throughout our month long travels around the UK from Australia, and this one still remained easily the best. We were lucky enough to be the only people staying there at the time, and we were made to feel completely at home. We stayed three nights with our little one year old daughter Lola, exploring Bath, Stonehenge, and other surrounding areas. The breakfasts are exemplary, from the delicious full Wiltshire, the tasty blueberry pancakes, or the fantastic French toast. Jane is happy to give a few ideas about places to visit whilst staying, to help your stay be all that it can be. The warmth of the hosting is everything that you are looking for in a stay, and we could not recommend Meadowbank house any more strongly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane H, Owner at Meadowbank House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Wow! Thank you, Sam, Karla and lovely Lola Jane, what a fabulous review. You were very welcome here and we thoroughly enjoyed having you as our guests. It was super hearing about your adventures and explorations at the end of the day and seeing Lola practicing her first few steps and exploring the kitchen on hands and knees! I am so pleased and proud that you thought so highly of our Bed and Breakfast, that is exactly what we set out to do but it is only feedback from you that can tell us if we are achieving it. Thank you from Wiltshire and do come back to stay again. Jane and Matthew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

I don't often write reviews but felt that this one is really worthy of a mention! We stayed at Meadowbank House last night. We were going to a party local to the area to meet some old friends who were visiting from overseas. The house is immaculate! Lovely furniture, decor and the house has a very homely feel. We were made to feel very welcome by both Jane and Matthew on arrival and we were really very grateful for the lift that Matthew gave us to where we were meeting our friends. On our return from the party we slept like logs in the very comfortable bed with lovely crisp white linen. Both the room and the bathroom were spotless. We had the most delicious breakfast made with local produce and some of Jane's delicious homemade granola! I would much rather stay somewhere like this than a hotel. We were just sorry we couldn't stay for longer but we had to get back for our children and puppy! Feeling very refreshed and would highly recommend booking this - it really is fantastic!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brucenewb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane H, Owner at Meadowbank House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fabulous review of your recent stay at Meadowbank House Bed and Breakfast. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and only wish you could have stayed longer to relax, rejuvenate and indulge in the peace and hospitality that we like to offer. Do come back and see us again and thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed here together with our two children recently for a visit to Legoland and we had a really lovely time. The owners are super nice and enthusiastic and were really brilliant with the children. The bedroom was lovely and having the use of the guest lounge was a real bonus. Delicious breakfasts - it's well worth staying two nights to try Jane's fabulous pancakes as well as the traditional Wiltshire cooked breakast. Yum!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane H, Owner at Meadowbank House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you for a lovely review of Meadowbank House Bed and Breakfast. We certainly enjoyed your visit and am glad the blueberry pancakes were a huge success. Your children were very helpful picking the blueberries off the bush and I think that made it more delicious for them!
Do come back and visit us again and explore more of our beautiful countryside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Stayed with Jane and Mathew last Saturday. They have a beautiful home. Bedroom most comfortable and breakfast excellent. They are a lovely couple and chatted to us and breakfast and we felt like we were visiting friend. They had obviously gone to the trouble of giving us the sort of things we normally have for breakfast plus the added delight of Mathews cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golfer281046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane H, Owner at Meadowbank House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2015

We appreciate your tremendous review, thank you. We are glad we made you feel so welcome, that is our aim at Meadowbank House Bed and Breakfast, whether you are staying one night for pleasure or all week for business we like to go the extra mile with personal touches. I do hope you will come back and stay with us again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I have stayed in many B&Bs over the last view years and this has to be my favourite, a true gem!
Meadowbank House is situated in the quiet and idyllic village of Liddington in Wiltshire, which is the perfect spot for a weekend of walking and or cycling, relaxing in beautiful countryside or if you're visiting friends or relatives in Swindon and want to stay out of town. We were given the warmest welcome by Jane and Matthew who are superb hosts and make you feel at home and at ease immediately. The house, terrace and garden are just lovely and clearly very well looked after. Our room (The Barbury) was cool (in hot July!), quiet, spotlessly clean and the bed was amazing, best night sleep I've had in ages. Breakfast was one of the highlights with a full english for my very happy husband and Jane's AMAZING blueberry pancakes with maple syrup for me - de-licious. My only regret was just staying the one night! We will definitely be back soon - Thanks Jane and Matthew!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Barbury room, was quiet, cozy and comfortable with a lovely view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane H, Owner at Meadowbank House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Thank you for your marvelous review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. It was very kind of you to take the time to write a review of Meadowbank House and we appreciate it. Our motto is happy guests = happy hosts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed in 8 B&B when we were in UK, Meadowbank House would be the best one! When we arrived here at dark, we got big welcome from Jane and Mathew, made us feel like home at once. I will never forget that moment.

The house is so cozy, clean with high quality supplies. I enjoyed almost everything, from bedroom to living room, bathroom to dinning room, most important, the time with Jane and Mathew, they are helpful and friendly, just like my elder sister and brother.

The village near the house, has a love village pub serves good pub food. Of cause, I knew it from Jane and we did have a please dinner there:) We also made a nice walk aroud the beautiful village and the hillside in the morning, fantastic!

If I had choice, I would love to stay here longer and longer. It's the best choice for visitors of Cotswolds, Stonehenge and Bath!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twentyajax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane H, Owner at Meadowbank House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed having you to stay. Thank you for your superb review of our Bed and Breakfast, please do tell all your friends about us. You were our first visitors from China and we hope we have many more. We hope that you will come back and stay longer and explore more of our beautiful location. Thank you from Jane and Matthew at Meadowbank House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Meadowbank House is perfect, Matthew and Jane have it down to a T and are so welcoming and friendly.
We stayed overnight as a bit of a treat rather than just visiting the area for the day and we'll certainly be doing the same again.
The house and gardens are beautiful, everywhere is peaceful and the bed was so comfortable we slept like babies!
Tea on the terrace in the sun when we arrived set the scene for a wonderful stay and we felt as though we'd had a whole weekend away even though we were only away from home for 24hours!
In the morning after a lie in we were treated to a gorgeous breakfast full of home made and local goodness which left us satisfied until supper time.
We had a wonderful time at Meadowbank House and are already plannig our return visit with friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane H, Owner at Meadowbank House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Thank you for your fabulous review. Our aim is to provide the best service we can and make sure that while our guests are staying with us they are very happy. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Meadowbank House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowbank House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Meadowbank House Medbourne Lane, Liddington, Swindon SN4 0EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Liddington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Liddington
Price Range: £88 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful and contempory B and B in the lovely village of Liddington, close to Junction 15 of the M4, the Ridgeway National Trail, Swindon and we are 5 minutes from Great Western Hospital. Our location makes us ideal for business people working in Swindon; ie Nationwide, Intel, Honda, who require accommodation with a high level or service and attention to detail. We are also ideal for walkers, for exploring the Cotswolds, Oxford, Salisbury and Stonehenge, Avebury and Marlborough. Meadowbank House is a large detached house with lots of space for guests. We have three fabulous rooms with either private or shared bath / shower rooms. Two of the rooms have king size Sealy beds with superb white linen to guarantee a comfortable night. Rooms have kettles, fresh milk, a range of teas and fresh ground coffee. We have a guest sitting room with lots of books, a writing desk, flat screen TV and a Bose iPod docking station. The room has double doors to a terrace with seating to relax and watch the sun go down and an open log fire for when it is not so warm. We have free wireless Internet throughout the house. There is private parking, clothes and boot drying. Guests are welcome to use the garden.Jane makes a fabulous breakfast which includes a choice of Wiltshire breakfast, American pancakes and French toast with maple syrup. Jane uses local ingredients and everything is freshly made. Liddington is a lovely village. It has a friendly pub and shop, The Village Inn for evening meals within a few minutes' walk. There are footpaths up on to the Ridgeway where there are breath-taking views of the rolling downs.There is a bus service through the village to Swindon, the hospital and the station. We can usually arrange to collect and transport guests given a bit of notice. We love meeting travellers who come to stay. Jane knows all the local walks and sights and is a mine of local information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Meadowbank House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing