We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely relaxing stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bowfield Hotel & Country Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bowfield Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howwood
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here for a overnight spa deal with breakfast and massage. Whole property was lovely and clean. The staff were lovely and the rooms were very comfortable.
The massage was good, but could have been a bit firmer. I am used to being asked what kind of pressure i prefer, however next time i will request.
I had been a few years ago and the food was exceptional then, although not the same on this occasion and with a different menu, it was still very good.
Plan to return a little later for another relaxer, and would def recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JACS033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, along with treatments and use of the facilities.

Your comments are very much appreciated by the team here and valuable as part of our ongoing training and development program.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Craig Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    146
    69
    49
    50
See reviews for
120
177
17
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

I mentioned in my previous post that the water was not very hot. This time there was no hot water!!!

That there may be a problem with the hot water system I can accept. That the problem is not rectified over a period of 3 months I cannot accept....

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank DLP2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment you experienced during your stay. It is extremely disappointing that you have experienced a similar problem to your last stay.

I am delighted to confirm that we are investing over £300,000 in new infrastructure for Bowfield which includes new Biomass Boiler System. I do believe that we have fixed the water problem you experienced, but this will be guaranteed following installation of the new system in the next month.

Once again please accept my apologies and I do hope that you will return to Bowfield in the future.

Yours sincerely

Craig Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Howwood hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Glasgow
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

My mum and I went of a wee spa day at this hotel and it was lovely. The spa is a good size and very relaxing. Wee had a cream tea which was inclusive of the deal and it was so nice we ended up staying for dinner, again lovely and excellent value for money. The receptionist was lovely and very helpful. I would definitely go back and maybe book a wee overnight stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you very much for your extremely kind comments following your visit to Bowfield Hotel & Country Club.

The whole team welcome your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Craig Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for our 3rd time or so , the prices have always been reasonable for a night away at a hotel that's easy to get to .
It has good facilities like the gym and pool , but the room was a wee bit tired , the staff not particularly helpful ( especially at breakfast )
At night trying to get a drink at the bar was difficult with long periods of time without anyone behind the bar to serve you .

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Gazfloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club.

We welcome all feedback, both positive and negative to ensure we continue to improve the high standards we set for ourselves.

Please accept my apologies for the disappointments you experienced during your stay. I am particularly upset that you felt the team did not assist you during your stay, as we pride ourselves on our friendly and welcoming attitude. I can assure you I will be addressing this with the team with action and retraining taking place.

Over the weekend we do open a second bar for our guests to enjoy a more relaxed and peaceful environment, although this bar is not supported enough to allow it to be manned by itself, but is provided as an additional service to our customers. Service is always available by contacting reception.

You may be aware that we have started a period of refurbishment and this is due to begin in the hotel rooms later this year. We are very excited about these improvements and what they will bring to Bowfield Hotel & Country Club.

Once again, please accept my apologies and I do hope that you will return to Bowfield Hotel & Country Club in the future to experience our true hospitality.

Yours sincerely

Craig Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The food in the dinning area was excellent and very reasonably priced and has a relaxing feel about it. Their is execellent gym and swimming pool facilities.
The driveway into the hotel needs the pot holes to be filled in as this does not give a good first impression when arriving at the Hotel. Overall experience we had a good stay but let down by the room which was average see comments below.

Room Tip: Room was clean and tidy, however there was a few areas for improvement. The bed was not made correct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback following your recent stay at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club.

Your very kind comments regarding our customer service and food are welcomed by the whole team. We are glad you enjoyed the refurbished facilities in our Leisure Club and we are pleased to advise that this shall continue later this year in the changing areas and soft play area.

We shall also be re-surfacing our driveway, following completion of our car park last year. I assure you your comments regarding our bedrooms will be considered as part of our refurbishment program.

I am pleased that you felt our prices offered value for money and I do hope that you will return to Bowfield Hotel & Country Club in the future.

Yours sincerely

Craig Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

A cosy hotel with fantastic facilities including gym,restaurant,pool and squash courts.the restaurant served tasty food and although the rooms were quite dated they were fine.One piece of Advice though try and get a room upstairs as the floors and wall are quite thin so noise travels.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ConorBhoy97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback following your recent stay.

Thank you for your kind comments, they are very much appreciated by all the team here at Bowfield. We welcome your feedback as part of our ongoing training program.

You may be interested that we will be developing all areas of the Hotel & Country Club over the next few years.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Craig Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

The shower area was dirty it looked like cockroaches in the corners, the jaquzzi was full of dirty water because of the amount of kids they allow in it, the swimming pool was frozen and dirty.

I asked for the TV to be turned in the relaxation area from the BBC News channel, the member of staff Mark Butler, refused to turn tv so it turned into a screaming match, it was not my idea of relaxation.

The senior manager also refused to turn tv from BBC News Channel, I complained about the treatment I received from the staff and their answer was that their staff wouldn't act like that.

There is NO WAY I would use this hotel, if that is the way their staff have been trained and if that is their level of cleanliness.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deef121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave feedback through trip advisor, we always welcome comments from our guests both positive and negative to ensure that we can remain at the forefront of Scottish Hospitality and Leisure.

I was disturbed to read your review regarding our club facilities, the Leisure Team here at the Bowfield club work tirelessly to ensue that we achieve the highest standard of customer service and guest satisfaction. This view is also shared by our members having been nominated for the Members Choice Health Club Awards 2013, winning the Silver Award for 'Health Club of the Year'.

I would highlight your comment about the cleanliness of our facilities and would stress that we maintain the highest standards to ensure that all of our facilities are maintained and cleaned to the highest level and in conjunction are regularly inspected by management and visiting local authorities.

I would also like to address the comment regarding your dissatisfaction with our choice of channels displayed on our television screens. I would bring to your attention that the BBC news is simply displayed as a chosen channel as it serves to be informative in all aspects of life news and weather. We can confirm it is not our intention for it to be used as a political tool.

The staff within the hotel are trained to the highest levels of customer service and are there to assist and offer guests every comfort whilst using our facilities and as such we do not condone any abusive behaviour towards our team.

I once again thank you for leaving feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howwood
2.4 mi away
Lynnhurst Hotel
Lynnhurst Hotel
#1 of 1 in Johnstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
15.1 mi away
Torrance Hotel
Torrance Hotel
#4 of 7 in East Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
11.6 mi away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf
7.1 mi away
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
10.4 mi away
Redhurst Hotel
Redhurst Hotel
#54 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowfield Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowfield Hotel & Country Club

Property: Bowfield Hotel & Country Club
Address: Bowfield Road, Howwood PA9 1DZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Howwood
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bowfield Hotel & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotels near Glasgow do not come better than this little gem, Bowfield offers quiet comfort, a superb leisure club & award winning restaurant, only minutes from Glasgow Airport, situated n a beautiful countryside setting. The hotel has copious areas of relaxation space, you cannot help but relax & de-stress, so next time you come to visit Glasgow, whether on business or for pleasure take some quality time out to visit Bowfield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Bowfield Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowfield Hotel And Country Club
Bowfield Hotel & Country Club Howwood, Renfrewshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing