We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-So!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bowfield Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howwood
Erskine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“So-So!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I purchased an itison deal for a spa day & afternoon tea with a glass of bubbly. My mum and I came along nice and early and had intended on making good use of the spa facilities before our afternoon tea which was booked for 1pm. When I had phoned to book the day I was told that robes, slippers and towels would be included - however we were not given any and were told that we had to pay. Just as well I had packed a towel anyway.

Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna were all fab - absolutely no faults there! However, we were unable to use the swimming pool upon arrival as there were swimming lessons on. We were never told about this when booking, the woman had told us to come along at any time and there wouldnt be a problem. The lesson instructor then free'd up a lane for people to swim in.

Afternoon tea and bubbly was delicious, everything was fresh that day and plenty for us both.

Had a nice day, but probably wouldnt return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Abbie-Rose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your visit.

The package you reserved did not include robes and slippers, we apologise for any miss-communication regarding this discounted offer.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your day and made use of all our facilities, the pool should always be roped off to ensure access is available for all and we shall address this with our instructors.

I do hope you would return to enjoy another spa day at Bowfield, please contact us direct for the best available deals.

Kind regards

Craig Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    173
    83
    55
    54
See reviews for
145
201
18
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Had a groupon voucher for afternoon tea & use of spa facilities. My daughter & I had a lovely day. Afternoon tea was delish, nice & fresh and just enough for 2. Spa facilities were good. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments, we certainly hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Craig Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

booked a deal for two with an overnight stay, breakfast and spa treatment. We found the stay very enjoyable and although aspects of the hotel are old it fits into the look of the hotel. Certainly there are areas that need upgrading but overall for what we paid we had no complaints. The massage was lovely although my friend and I would have preferred to have our treatments at the same but this was unavoidable as a therapist was sick. The spa was nice although a big disappointment was the jacuzzi wasn't working. As we were talking to the hotel staff the day before this could have been mentioned. The evening meal and breakfast were lovely. There was no bar opened in the evening which was inconvenient. I would return for the price I paid but not full price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hendy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay. As I think you are aware we are beginning a period of development and your comments shall certainly be considered as part of this process. I am sorry that you were unable to use our Jacuzzi, but assure you of it's full operation now.

I am unsure of your comment regarding a bar being open, our bar is open from 11am to late every day.

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, this is vital for our continued development.

Kind regards

Craig Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renfrewshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We enjoyed a deal at the Bowfield last week!! The day started with use of the spa, on reflection we should have waited until the kids returned to school!! The steam room was enjoyable however the jacuzzi was out of order which we were not advised about on booking!! We then went to have afternoon tea and what a delight that was!! A full pot of coffee and a cake stand each, with delicious sandwiches, homemade cakes, shortbread, strawberry tarts and the largest scone I've ever seen!! Oh nearly forgot the nice chilled glass of bubbly too!!! The service was excellent, served by a lovely young man who checked back that everything was ok, then came back and asked if we required anything else!!! We will definately go back and enjoy the afternoon tea again!!! Well done Bowfield.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie01_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments, they are very much appreciated by all. I am soory that you did not get use of our Jacuzzi, but assure you this is all in operation now.

Kind regards

Craig Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Booked a spa day for myself and my friend through Groupon.

Was told in one email that towels would be provided, told in another that they wouldn't be provided but that we could rent them for £1 then on the day I phoned and was told to bring my own!

I was also told in an email that the back, neck and shoulders massage was £28 but I was charged £29 on the day!

While my friend and I were waiting to go in the swimming pool we watched a staff member scrub the floor up the side of the swimming pool with a brush then he scooped up water from the swimming pool and threw it over the floor he had just scrubbed and the same water all ran back into the swimming pool!

Being completely disgusted with this we decided not to bother using the pool!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachael1880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for your comments following your recent visit.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any disappointment you experienced during your visit.

I can confirm that we do indeed offer towels, however the package you describe which you have not bought direct from Bowfield Hotel & Country Club does not include towels. These can be hired on the day.

Our swimming pool is tested every 2 hours to ensure we maintain the extremely high cleanliness and safety standards we set for ourselves. This is also tested by an external independent company.

We are currently refurbishing and introducing new changing facilities and we aim to maintain the highest of standards during this period.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope you will return to Bowfield in the future.

Yours sincerely

Craig Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Howwood hotels

ayrshire scotland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Afternoon tea very disappointing with bread which was far from fresh with scanty filling and two little cakes one a mince pie ? in June !! and the other a tiny piece of shortbread A mediocre scone with a timy portion of jam and cream accompanied Thank goodness for the spa If I had bought this deeal without using the spa after it I would have been most annoyed The spa was very good although the spa bath a touch warm Would definitely return for use of leisure facilities

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointment with your afternoon tea recently. I assure you our Head Chef shall be taking action following your visit.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your treatments and facilities and our team are very grateful for your comments.

I do hope that you will return to Bowfield Hotel & Country Club in the future.

Yours sincerely

Craig Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just back from spending the weekend which included a spa treatment (from itison) and it was bliss! From the moment we entered the hotel the staff were helpful and attentive which continued to the lounge bar where we got an afternoon tea and later dinner. The food is delicious and reasonable priced. The spa area is lovely and the girls are very good at the treatments, i upgraded to an hour long full body massage and my friend got an hour long facial, fantastic! Would definitely go again.. soon!

Room Tip: The rooms are clean and the bathroom is a great size. The decor in the rooms are dated but in good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LR41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bowfieldhotel, General Manager at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and treatments at Bowfield Hotel & Country Club.

Thank you for your very kind comments which are appreciated by all the team and reward for the hard work we put in to look after all our guests and members.

Once again, thanks

Kind regards

Craig Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howwood
3.2 mi away
Lynnhurst Hotel
Lynnhurst Hotel
#1 of 1 in Johnstone
641 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
11.8 mi away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Uplawmoor Hotel
Uplawmoor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Uplawmoor
214 reviews
8.4 mi away
Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf
8.3 mi away
Ingliston Country Club
Ingliston Country Club
#2 of 3 in Bishopton
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowfield Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowfield Hotel & Country Club

Property: Bowfield Hotel & Country Club
Address: Bowfield Road, Howwood PA9 1DZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Howwood
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bowfield Hotel & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotels near Glasgow do not come better than this little gem, Bowfield offers quiet comfort, a superb leisure club & award winning restaurant, only minutes from Glasgow Airport, situated n a beautiful countryside setting. The hotel has copious areas of relaxation space, you cannot help but relax & de-stress, so next time you come to visit Glasgow, whether on business or for pleasure take some quality time out to visit Bowfield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bowfield Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowfield Hotel And Country Club
Bowfield Hotel & Country Club Howwood, Renfrewshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing