We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“fantastic on all accounts”
other travellers have booked this property
Hill Crest Holiday Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hill Crest Holiday Cottage
Lounge with flat screen TV, DVD player & wide choice of movies, games, puzzles, books Lounge also has electric fire and both sea and garden views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Hill Crest Holiday Cottage
Lounge with flat screen TV, DVD player & wide choice of movies, games, puzzles, books
Lounge also has electric fire and both sea and garden views
View from lounge towards front hall .
Kitchen and breakfast bar
Fully equipped kitchen with breakfast bar
Dining room set for six ready for a relaxing meal.  Includes cosy gas fire.
Dining room has three windows all with sea views.
Gas fire in the dining room.  Cozy reading nook in the corner.
Main floor double bedroom with king size bed and ensuite shower room
Kingsize bed in main floor bedroom
First floor double bedroom with kingsize bed and sea views on three sides.
First floor single bedroom with window seat and sea view.
First floor single bedroom with garden and sea view.
The Gazebo overlooking Cullen Bay
Comfortable deck chairs
Decking overlooking the Bay
View from the deck of Cullen Bay including the harbour, beach and the golf course
Tides out - Cullen's Seatown in the distance
Back garden patio set.
Back garden view from the patio.
View to the gazebo from the kitchen.
Pretty things.
Sea views from almost every window!
An excellent spot for dolphin spotting
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cullen, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
nicholson...
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
“fantastic on all accounts”
Reviewed 16 March 2018 for a stay in October 2017

Cottage is excellent everything you could need a real home from home but top class facilities /views breath taking / local surroundings beautiful and Local fish and chips best I have ever had from Linda's chippy - you couldn't find anywhere better

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2018
Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay. We agree it is a pretty special place and we've done our best to give our guests a great experience. Hope to see you again!
Selma & Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pixxynixx...
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply FABULOUS!”
Reviewed 16 March 2018 for a stay in October 2017

If you are looking for somewhere homely that’s better than home, then you’ll find it at Hillcrest. Exquisitely furnished, this is house has it all! Magnificent sea views, historic charm, & home comforts, its also extensively equipped with things you never knew you’d need on holiday!

Ideally located a few steps away from the cliff paths that lead to Cullen Harbour, beach & Main Street, it’s elevated position affords guests uninterrupted views to watch the ocean & the dolphins. It’s also close & safe enough for us to allow our children some freedom to wander, which they thought was great!

All of the 4 bedrooms are beautifully furnished, bright & cosy. The kitchen, dining area & lounge provide ample space for a large family to enjoy peace & quiet & comfortable living. The modern kitchen has every conceivable piece of equipment needed to cook & prepare meals if required & the addition of dishwasher, washing machine & tumble dryer are essential luxury’s we love on holiday!

This was our second stay at Hillcrest & we’ve booked to return again next year as we have loved our weeks here to relax & recharge. I wouldn’t consider staying in any other properties in Cullen, except for the ones run by Rob & Selma - they are the perfect hosts. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2018
Wow what a review-thank you so very very much! Our reviews are the best advertising we could possibly offer and that one said it all. We look forward to your next visit.
Selma & Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annharthi...
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Magical stay from start to finish”
Reviewed 16 March 2018 for a stay in September 2017

This is a beautifully decorated and furnished cottage, with a spectacular location on a cliff top above the harbour in Cullen. There are views to die for out over the bay and sands. There is a stunning deck area for sun bathing, dolphin spotting and a G&T or 2 with friends and a safe garden for children or pets (do ask) with barbeque equipment. It's difficult to come up with anything this cottage does not have.
Selma and Rob are warm and friendly hosts always contactable to help although everything about the cottage has been so well thought out it's rare to have to do so.
We are coming back in 2018 for our 4th visit. Former Cullen folk ourselves, this is now our favourite place to be.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2018
Thank you so very much for that heartfelt review. You made my day. We look forward to your return.
Selma & Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morag2013
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A real gem! ”
Reviewed 23 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Our stay at Hill Crest was wonderful. Everything you could ask for was provided. We were greeted by Selma upon arrival. We were made to feel so welcome. The house is immaculate and furnished beautifully. We can't wait to return. Can't reccomended this house enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We really enjoy the great feedback we receive from our guests. We look forward to your next visit.
Selma & Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy1129
Bourbonnais, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic find!”
Reviewed 21 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

What a lovely experience staying at Hillcrest cottage. I've stayed at dozens of properties and this one has to be among my favorites. Although I chose the cottage after viewing it on line - the photos didn't do it justice. It was larger than it appeared and each room was tastefully and comfortably decorated. The kitchen was so well - equipped that we wanted for nothing and we were thrilled with the yummy welcome basket that included soups, whiskey, bread, cookies, jams, coffe and fresh eggs from the owner's chickens. The beds were super comfortable and had quality linens. And the location of the cottage, sitting on a cliff overlooking the North Sea, was amazing.The bathrooms were modern and well appointed - including luxury lotions, gels and shampoos. We were able to do day trips in all directions, visiting Inverness one day, and driving south through beautiful countryside another. We were so comfortable that we cooked every meal in, only venturing out during the day. My cousin who had the double room on the upper floor, couldn't get over leaving her window open at night and hearing the sound of the crashing waves. I would certainly return to Hillcrest and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a cozy, clean, well appointed holiday letting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location on the sea and the cleanliness and comfort.
Liked least: We had occasional problems with the wi-fi but otherwise no complaints.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2016
Thank you so very much for your review of Hill Crest. You really painted a picture of what is on offer and I'm so pleased that both of you enjoyed both the house and your visit to our area. We would love to have you come to stay again in the future.

Selma & Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennyBGla...
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Mrs ”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

So back again to the wonderful Hillcrest in Cullen. This amazing house will be a forever holiday for us. We just love the hospitality Selma and Rob provide every time we go.

When you walk into the cottage the first thing that is apparent is the care taken on cleaning the whole house after the last guests have stayed. It is absolutely immaculate and so clean.

The house is in amazing condition every time we stay here and I think that is a lot to do with the care the guests take when staying here and the care and attention Selma and Rob take to looking after it for the guests.

The welcome basket is always appreciated as is the kitchen and all it's utensils.

This year we were very fortunate that the weather was fabulous so we spent most of our time outside in the garden. The garden itself was perfect for our little boy and so beautiful to be in. Again the view and the location of the cottage is just perfect.

There really is nothing you could want from this cottage that is not already provided.

We have booked already to return and will do for a long time yet.

Unfortunately I left my purse in the cottage and Selma and rob very kindly posted it to me at their own expense. Not many people would take the time and care to do that.

This is the most amazing find and we just love now that we know our holidays will be spent here every year. Thank you Selma and Rob for a beautiful home to stay in. X

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words. Hill Crest has become a favourite haven for so many of our return guests. We love sharing it with everyone who comes to stay and do our best to make it feel special to everyone who steps through our door.
We look forward to your next holiday!
Selma & Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomdenova...
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“5 star & sheer bliss!”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Booked into Hillcrest Cottage for 3 days and nights.

On arrival a welcome pack - incl filter coffee, freshly laid eggs, butteries and a wee dram of malt.

Very cosy, luxurious cottage with fab facilities over looking Cullen Bay and a 2 minute walk to the beach. See many Grey Seals and various wildlife - lots of walking.

Cullen Bay Hotel - nice food & service.

You have a lovely place - thank you and we are having a fab time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2016
Thank you so very much for taking the time to review us. We are so very pleased you are enjoying everything that Hill Crest and Cullen has to offer. Hope to see you again in the future for another visit.

Selma & Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing