We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely birthday”
Review of Cullen Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cullen Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cullen
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely birthday”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We came to Scotland to meet my two sisters for my 65 birthday.
My husband and I stayed at Cullen Bay hotel for the night and had my birthday dinner with my sisters and their husbands at the hotel.
It was wonderful. The food was first class. The staff amazing. They had put birthday banners on the window by the table and the birthday cake they made very very tasty.
The bedroom was a little small but the view made up for that and the room was spotlessly clean.
All in all wonderful.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    115
    34
    13
    15
See reviews for
81
141
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Staff are excellent . found a room after trip advisor failed to confirm or make a booking . Meal was ok starter was poor main course and desert made up for it .location well suited for access and town clean . nice beaches worth a visit ..

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aboyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We recently had our wedding reception here. Staff were hugely kind, approachable and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and they were very flexible in their approach, which was great. Food was excellent and our turret room was lovely with stunning views. The owners have recently taken over and have already made a great difference to the decor. They have lots of great ideas in the pipeline too! We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends and family. We will be booking in for our first anniversary! Be sure to ask for a Loyalty Card as there are some great offers attached to it. Couldn't have had a better wedding day. Well done Cullen Bay Hotel!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We have just spent 2 nights at this lovely hotel and would highly recommend it. Our room had a fantastic sea view, the food was lovely both breakfasts and dinner, the staff are very attentive and are always polite with genuine happy faces. Lots of beautiful walks and awesome coastal scenery lots to do in the area. It's a must for a relaxing break away from the daily routine.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here for a family wedding. The room was lovely with amazing views. The food was really good too - especially the wedding breakfast. I would say they could think about adding more to the children's menu that is vegetarian - both our kids are veggie and there wasn't a lot of choice. Having said that, the staff were totally amazing and bent over backwards to make our stay comfortable. They were always friendly, polite and extremely helpful. I would definitely stay here again. The location is just stunning.

Room Tip: Sea view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just spent a weekend at the hotel attending a local wedding. My wife and I were pleased with the overall standards. Our room was very clean and comfortable and we enjoyed the superb view out over Cullen Bay. The location of the hotel makes the dining room a spectacular place to enjoy breakfast & dinner.
Dinner of Cullen Skink followed by scallops and tiger prawns was delicious, portions were adequate and well presented. Kippers and smoked haddock for breakfast were excellent but the portion of haddock was disappointingly small.
The food provided for the wedding reception was very good and served efficiently. The hotel still needs a little updating but the new owners have a list of ideas and making working progress as their business grows. They deserve support and I am sure they will create a very successful business in the time ahead.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We travelled up from Aberdeen and went in for Sunday lunch, an absolutely stunning location with beautiful views over the golf course and the bay. I had the Cullen Skink soup which was delicious and my husband had scotch egg with black pudding which he had never tried before but thoroughly enjoyed it followed by the fish and chips which came with pea puree and home-made tartare sauce. He said he was going to share his main course with me but I never got near it so I suppose that tells it's own story!
For the quality of food we were pleasantly surprised at how reasonable the bill was.
We found all the staff very friendly and attentive and also the owners spent some time with us which was a nice touch.
I also used the baby change facilities which was absolutely spotless.
This is a gem of a hotel in a beautiful part of the country and was well worth the trip, we are looking
forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda5774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cullen
11.3 mi away
Banff Springs Hotel
Banff Springs Hotel
#1 of 2 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
11.7 mi away
Fife Lodge Hotel
Fife Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Banff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
5.6 mi away
Durn House
Durn House
#1 of 7 in Portsoy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kintrae Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cullen Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cullen Bay Hotel

Property: Cullen Bay Hotel
Address: A98, Near Buckie, Grampian, Cullen AB56 4XA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Cullen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cullen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cullen Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular views over the bay with one of the most enviable sites along the Moray Coast. The restaurant offers a fantastic selection of dishes using the finest fresh local produce where possible. Our two restaurants have breath taking views of the coastline so why not come along and Rest, Relax and Rediscover........ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cullen Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cullen Bay Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing