We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Polmont
GreenLeadersSilver level
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Romantic Break”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We were given a night dinner bed & breakfast as a wedding gift so we paid for a second night to try make it a mini honeymoon with us having to travel 3 hours to the hotel. It was not what I had hoped with it being 4 AA stars. it was a little tired and our Delux room was not very Delux, the rooms look fab on the website and I expected a little luxury but not at all. It was just an average room (was probably a little roomy compared to a normal double) with nothing to rave about. Spa treatments were pricey and nothing great, I've had better treatments in Aberdeen and much cheaper so wouldn't bother paying top dollar for a treatment there. Assistant manager working in bar/restaraunt was very helpfull and very attentive but but he was very busy attendig to everyone as his young staff wasn't as up to par as him but were friendly. Breakfast was nice but a little like faulty towers waiting for food and no toast with breakfast as we asked for it to come with our food instead of when we sat down as it was being served, think it confused them. dinner was very very good on the Saturday night and we rushed back for a repeat on Sunday but unfortunatly must have been a differant chef as it wasn't the same, it was good but not as good as Sat night. Cosmo cocktails were lovely and I had a few the house red was good also. When leaving thefre seemed to be alot of confusion at front desk as people were questioing the bills, came to ours and it was all wrong, we were being charged for everything a second time! but once explanined it was resolved quickly and we weren't charge again. Just very disapointed it wasn't as nice as I'd expected so didn't get to dress up as expected over the weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jools737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    551
    345
    168
    105
See reviews for
382
644
27
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were staying for a friends wedding.
The staff were very friendly and attentive. Kindly recommended a good spanish place in falkirk and a great bar (behind the wall)
However the hotel itself is a wee bit tired and dated in places....the carpets in particular and the lift was in a very shoddy state. The room was a good enough size and quite traditional, a little mould behind the shower (room 359) that I thought again with the price, should be sorted.

We paid £100 a night which was with a discount and i feel it was slightly over-priced. THis is made worse by the fact the bar prices were over the top, i am from edinburgh so used to a big price tag but given the surroundings,....i think they are chancing their arm a little. Also, we paid for bed and breakfast and were then greeted with "supplements required" for smoked salmon and kippers! Bit of a joke



The wedding venue (menteith suite) was lovely however and again, the staff were all lovely. The wedding food was some of the best I have ever had too.

Overall I think this hotel needs some serious TLC to convince me its worth a stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Check in was Ok. Room was looking a little tired. No mobile reception and no WiFi signal in room. If I did get a signal, I would have had to pay for it .... come on guys, it's not that much to add as a free extra?? Meal in restaurant was good but so over priced .... even the specials (think in the region of £30+ for a three course meal and drink). Breakfast was very good, check out, easy. But I won't be staying here again as its not good value

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Polmont hotels

Scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We were attending a joint celebration of a 50th and 25th wedding anniversary in the evening and needed some nearby accommodation, somewhere where we could also have dinner and breakfast
Inchyra ticked all the boxes
we booked with friends and arrived early Saturday afternoon, after a couple of drinks in the sun the girls decided to go for their spa treatments and "the boys" went off for an afternoon of geocaching.
On our return we all met back up again and had another couple of drinks in the afternoon sun

We had booked a table for an early dinner before our night out and made our way to our rooms to get ready for the ceilidh that evening

We met in the restaurant and were welcomed warmly and shown to our table,
We enjoyed a mixed platter to share and had the most tasty and perfectly cooked steaks !!!
The girls steaks were mixed up, we got the attention of the restaurant manager and the situation was resolved perfectly... as we had no time to order more steaks, and the girls were happy to eat the steaks they had and just felt the restaurant should know they had made a mistake.... The manager quickly said he would take the price of the Prosecco off the bill.

We left perfectly satisfied and enjoyed our ceilidh

We had booked a late checkout, and decided we would meet at 10 for breakfast. Breakfast was perfect plenty coffee and a very tasty cooked meal

After enjoying the pool and saunas etc for a few hours we all agreed that we were extremely chilled out and what a perfect idea it was to come here

We had a late lunch, again the food was perfect and excellent value ....I have never tasted roast beef so good

We checked out of our rooms and bid our farewells to our friends

Our whole stay was perfect, the staff in all areas of the hotel were attentive and most courteous, the accommodation (a little bit dated) was clean and just what we needed, the spa facilities again perfect and the restaurant again 10 out of 10


Highly recommend and we would most certainly come back

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg_Crawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed one night on a special Sunday deal.
All Staff we had contact with, from Central Reservations to Reception and Dining/Bar, were great. Hotel staff were friendly and welcoming and could not have been more helpful sorting out our meal plan, drink/food credit (for online booking) - special thanks to Carlene and Steven. The Leisure club had a large pool, sauna, steam room and loungers, the Gym looked well equipped. We had stayed in the hotel several years ago but found the recent changes have seriously improved the overall experience. The food was also of excellent quality. Our room was a standard double (although there are superior rooms available too) and it was comfortable and clean with two small armchairs and a pleasant view. The room had a bath with shower over and there was an iron and trouser press, unexpectedly we also had robes and slippers. I believe as the visitor attractions in the general area continue developing and improving, the Inchyra Grange will become one of the most popular Macdonald Hotels. We look forward to returning in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateT56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Bought my mum and her friend an overnight stay for my mums 50th.They went on sat 28th september. They were 10 minutes late and had their spa treatment cancelled, a member of staff phoned me twice, was very rude to me and my mum and it wasted my mums stay. My mum wasnt shown around didnt know where anything was (sauna/relaxation rooms etc). They didnt get the glass of champagne that was included in their package, they were told they would get it next day after the treatments but next day they were rushed for breakfast, their treatment was cut short and they stil never recieved the champagne which was paid for. Very upset my mum didnt have a good experience especially as this was her 1st spa break. Good points were her room was clean and the waiters/reception staff were nice. Will not recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lisa Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armadale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

well what a few days for one off the proudest moments off my life given my daughter away and the hotel done everything to help making it run smooth and make it happen ALL the staff were only to willing to help and the venue was top drawer also the food was excellent and only down fall is price off drinks if they put them down by £1 each they would turn over more and mega more profits but all in all great venue

Room Tip: all rooms are nice big areas and very good quailty
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polmont
5.0 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
1.9 mi away
Grange Manor
Grange Manor
#2 of 4 in Grangemouth
532 reviews
1.5 mi away
Helix Hotel
Helix Hotel
#1 of 4 in Grangemouth
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Macdonald Houstoun House
1.3 mi away
Leapark Hotel
Leapark Hotel
#3 of 4 in Grangemouth
308 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
Address: Grange Road, Polmont FK2 0YB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Falkirk District > Polmont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Polmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa is perfectly located in the heart of the Central Belt in Scotland, meaning you are just 30 minutes away from central Glasgow, Edinburgh and Stirling and all the attractions and shopping that they have to offer. We are renowned for our wonderful Vital spa experience where you can unwind in our thermal suite, including 20 metre swimming pool, rasul, rock sauna and ice fountain. We are also a perfect location for business travellers to the area, offering free, unlimited WiFi so that you stay connected to the office. Extremely accessible, just off junction 5 of the M9, Edinburgh Airport is just 25 minutes away and Polmont train station easily connects to mainlines from Glasgow and Edinburgh. After a day of meetings, adventure or relaxation in the Spa, enjoy one of the best steak's in town at the AA rosette-awarded Scottish Steak Club restaurant. Selecting only the finest ingredients and 21-day aged cuts of beef from Scotbeef, it's our dedication to serving quality ingredients that makes us different. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel Polmont
Macdonald Inchyra Grange Falkirk
Hotel Macdonald Inchyra Grange
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa Polmont, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing