We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inchyra debacle.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Polmont
GreenLeadersSilver level
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Inchyra debacle.”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Just attended the Strathcarron Hospice Glitz and Glamour fundraising event and to say I'm appalled would be an understatement. We were kept waiting in a queue for 45 minutes for the lunch, which was poor and cold. Only two hot trays of food available at any one time for the hundreds who attended. We were then graced with an over microwaved sticky toffee pudding at our fourth time of ordering. We missed the main fashion show over this and also the chance to spend more money at the stands. Not the fault of the Hospice at all but a venue which has become complacent when dealing with what should be a valuable client and an annual event. Shame on you Mr Ingle as General Manager.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larbert999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettIngle, General Manager at Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Larbert999,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. I was disappointed to hear that you had a negative expereience at the Macdonald Inchyra Hotel and Spa during the fundraising event for the Starthcarron Hospice.

I would like the opportunity to discuss this further with yourself. If you could contact me at the hotel or email me on gm.inchyra@macdonald-hotels.co.uk, it would be greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards,

Brett Ingle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    557
    346
    172
    106
See reviews for
385
651
27
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oban, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Booked into spa break for 1 night . spa and gym facilities were great . staff both in spa and hotel were attentive and friendly . hotel room and corridors were a little dated but clean . hopefully this is next on their list.
excellent evening meals with steaks being their forte . my wife's pasta ravioli starter was the best we have ever tasted.
All in all a great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edtheskyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettIngle, General Manager at Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear editheskyman

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed both your spa experience and the excellent food served in our restaurant.

Guest feedback is an invaluable tool to us, which we use to make continual improvements to the hotels quality and service we provide and we thank you again for taking the time to send yours.

We have an ongoing maintenance schedule at the hotel: this is currently focusing on the painting of all the bedrooms and work to the bathrooms. We also have future projects pending which form part of our continued dedication to improving the fantastic facilities we offer throughout the hotel.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Inchyra Hotel and Spa in the near future.

Kind regards
Brett Ingle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

My wife, 3 year old daughter and I recently stayed here and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The service on the whole was excellent and Katherine on the front desk was the perfect role model of customer service! With family in Hong Kong we travel a lot and have rarely had such good service from an individual.

The room was reasonably spacious, clean and tidy. A comfortable spare bed had been put in for our daughter. The front of the hotel, spa and restaurant have been finished to a high standard however the corridors leading to the rooms are very tired and in desperate need of refurbishment.

The breakfast was surprisingly good with a good spread of "continental" offerings and a great cooked breakfast served by attentive polite staff.

However, in addition to the tired parts of the hotel the free wifi was BT open zone hence a very poor connection and not fast enough for FaceTime or Skype. We felt a bit duped it wasn't the hotels own internet connection which we would expect to be reliable and quick.

In summary this hotel would be brilliant if a few improvements were made and the rather hefty price could then be justified. We would probably stay here again but try for a lower rate.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettIngle, General Manager at Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Anthony O

On behalf of the team at Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa, thank you for giving very positive feedback on your recent stay. We have a philosophy of committed excellence in our service delivery, the ingredients we source and the meals that we prepare and I’m delighted you enjoyed all of this.

You maybe pleased to note that we are currently in the process of installing the Cloud which will greatly enhance the internet connections, as well as offer FREE WIFI to all of our guests not only in the bedrooms, but throughout the entire hotel. I am sure you will agree this is will be a great addition to the hotels facilities.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to give us your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Inchyra in the near future.

Kind regards
Brett Ingle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

First time at the Inchyra Hotel & Spa on a dinner bed and breakfast package and on first appearances it looks very inviting having had a refurbishment to main areas and some bedrooms .Reception staff on the ball and quickly had the room keys in my hand we were given an upgraded room and was suitably impressed booked time for dinner and retired to room to rest and clean up after a long journey .A very nice bar and restaurant setting and excellent young staff who mostly seemed to be under twenty but were very efficient and impeccably trained at waiting tables and bar service a very beautiful meal and lovely red wine set the mood for a beautiful evening first class .Breakfast the next morning was in the same setting and again very efficient buffet layout for juices ,cereals, fruits etc teas coffee and full cooked breakfast all served by excellent young staff a credit to the Hotel .Spent a lovely day out in the Falkirk area at the Falkirk Wheel with family on the boat lift and short trip lunch out and a bit of shopping .Again dinner for slightly later time again first class service good menu selection mussels and t/bone steaks what`s not to like very nice house red and a very relaxing evening ,next morning breakfast packing and settling my bill all done with the minimum of fuss left the Inchyra to do a bit more sight seeing and travel home my thanks to the Hotel and Staff for a wonderful week-end break i will recommend this hotel most heartily .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haggs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettIngle, General Manager at Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Haggs2013

Thank you for giving very positive comments on your recent stay here at Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa. I will certainly be passing on your comments to the team, as I do with all of the Trip advisor reviews.

It was a pleasure to read your kind comments, and it was great to see that you enjoyed the Falikrk Wheel one of the many local attractions within easy reach of the hotel.

Once again thank you for taking the time to inform us of your views on this lovely hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future should you be visiting the area again and I will ensure that we enhance your stay in some way.

Kind regards
Brett Ingle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pudsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My wife and i booked this hotel as part of a weekend break in Scotland.......lovely hotel, lovely decor, excellent spa facilities and great value for money........the surroundings, spa and breakfast were all really good, the housekeeping staff were friendly, if i was to visit the area again i would defo stay here again..........

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shahid N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettIngle, General Manager at Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Shahid N

Thank you for taking the time to post such a kind and positive review. The team here at the Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa takes great pride in the service they provide and it’s encouraging to read that you appreciate all the hard work and dedication that they put in.

The Vital leisure and Spa since the £2million investment have proved to be very popular with our guests, and members alike.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Inchyra Hotel and Spa in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will ensure we enhance your next stay with us in some way.

Kind regards
Brett Ingle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The Inchyra was almost everything we expected from a MacDonald hotel. The surroundings, spa and restaurant were all really good.
The room was a little dated and in need of a little TLC but it was clean and housekeeping were helpful when we needed an extra robe.
The food and waiting staff were excellent, both a really high standard.
However, when we went to check out the relaxed mood evaporated. We had been charged for another guests food and drink, and we had already paid for our stay in full prior to arrival but the receptionist was unable to operate the computer system and we were made to feel as if we were trying to leave without paying. The receptionists were not helpful and it took over half a hour to finally prove that we had paid in full through central reservations.Meantime other guests came and went and could over hear the receptionists manner with us. Very embarrassing.
McDonald's have offered us a complementary spa voucher to apologise, however I would have preferred to have been able to check out still feeling refreshed and relaxed. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazjams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettIngle, General Manager at Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Kazjams

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa and for bringing the issues you experienced to our attention.

I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, however on check out it would appear that we have fallen short of our normally very high standards of service and customer care on this occasion. I can only apologise for the unfortunate errors on your bill at check out. This will be addressed thoroughly by front of house management team, and further training given if needed.

You may be pleased to note that we are currently painting and decorating all of the bedrooms on a continual maintenance programme, as part of our continued dedication to quality and service in all areas of the hotel.

Guest feedback is invaluable to us, and I thank you again for taking the time to send yours.

Kind regards
Brett Ingle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My friend & I booked a special offer on last minute.com which was £109 each for Dinner, Bed, Breakfast & a 30min spa treatment.

I phoned up the week before to ensure we got a twin room & also to book some extra treatments.

On arrival we were told we didn't have dinner in our rate- which we did. Eventually this was sorted.

We were then checked into a Kingsize room- nice but didnt want to share a bed with my mate.
When we walked back down to reception there was no apology, just a huff & a puff rather than trying to sort the situation by moving us they wanted to find someone from house keeping to seperate the beds!!
I advised I had a spa treatment booked so wanted things to moved along quickly- we were sent to the bar to have a coffee. This took 15mins & by this point I was ready to go home!
Eventually checked into another room with 2 single beds pushed together.... Should just have stayed in the King.
The room was nice, but maybe a little dated.
We were meant to have robes etc to go to the spa but they were missing from room also.


Eventually got down to Spa & my full body hot stone massage was excellent. Only managed to get 10mins in the sauna due to all the hassle at check in etc.

Evening meal was lovely & we ate from the all inclusive menu on the room rate which had a good selection.
We ordered drinks before our starters- they arrived AFTER our mains... had to ask 3 times for them to be brought out.... very bad service & the restaurant was quiet as well so no excuse!!

We had been advised breakfast was till 1030am so we headed down just before 10am to an empty restaurant.
When we spoke to waitress she advised breakfast finished at 0930!
Seriously could not make this up.....
So no breakfast for us.

Checked out of our room before going for our last treatment to find extras on the bill that we didnt sign for.
Reception advised we had "over eaten" on our dinner allowance even though we ate from the all inclusive menu.
The restaurant manager had to be called & checked the menu etc. Turns out it was a mistake & we had not "over eaten" by this point we didnt even want to have another treatment we just wanted to leave.
Faulty towers springs to mind...

No one at the Macdonald Inchyra wants to take ownership for any problems that happen there. There is a clear lack of team work & leadership at this hotel which is bitterly disappointing.

This could be a great hotel with an amazing spa but in the truth of it all it was just a joke.

Last treatment was a mini facial & the beautician was lovely but we were in a room that had a faulty air conditioning unit & it buzzed very loudly & constantly. She apologised & said it had been reported numerous times. She went on to say that they also nick named the hotel "faulty towers" and they never wanted to spend any money on sorting problems etc.

As soon as the treatment was over we made a sharp exit.... Never to return!

As I explained earlier- this hotel needs someone to take charge of it. There is a clear lack of communication & leadership. The whole time we were there no one to action or ownership for any problems that occurred.

I will be writing a letter of complaint to the Macdonald hotel chain.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettIngle, General Manager at Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Alanmcvey82

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Macdonald Inchyra Hotel and Spa, and secondly for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.

I understand that you have been in contact directly with the Hotel and our Customer Services department, we will shortly be in touch to discuss further your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Brett Ingle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Polmont hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polmont
5.0 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
1.9 mi away
Grange Manor
Grange Manor
#2 of 4 in Grangemouth
554 reviews
8.9 mi away
Macdonald Houstoun House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Helix Hotel
Helix Hotel
#1 of 4 in Grangemouth
110 reviews
1.3 mi away
Leapark Hotel
Leapark Hotel
#3 of 4 in Grangemouth
317 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Falkirk Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
Address: Grange Road, Polmont FK2 0YB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Falkirk District > Polmont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Polmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa is perfectly located in the heart of the Central Belt in Scotland, meaning you are just 30 minutes away from central Glasgow, Edinburgh and Stirling and all the attractions and shopping that they have to offer. We are renowned for our wonderful Vital spa experience where you can unwind in our thermal suite, including 20 metre swimming pool, rasul, rock sauna and ice fountain. We are also a perfect location for business travellers to the area, offering free, unlimited WiFi so that you stay connected to the office. Extremely accessible, just off junction 5 of the M9, Edinburgh Airport is just 25 minutes away and Polmont train station easily connects to mainlines from Glasgow and Edinburgh. After a day of meetings, adventure or relaxation in the Spa, enjoy one of the best steak's in town at the AA rosette-awarded Scottish Steak Club restaurant. Selecting only the finest ingredients and 21-day aged cuts of beef from Scotbeef, it's our dedication to serving quality ingredients that makes us different. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel Polmont
Macdonald Inchyra Grange Falkirk
Hotel Macdonald Inchyra Grange
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa Polmont, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing