We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Caersws, Newtown, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Babba W
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This really is a beautiful oak framed cottage & ideal if you want a quiet get away from it all. Sorry, but it looks like we had the best weather so far this year & we spent almost the entire week on the back patio watching the kingfishers. The cottage is smaller than it looks on the photo's but is well proportioned & very well fitted out inside.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vintage23...
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“February stay”
Reviewed 8 July 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The house is absolutely gorgeous full of character and space. We stayed for a week at the end of February beginning of march and we had a wonderful time. Ty nant was clean, airy, the kitchen was well equipped, both log baskets filled to the brim and a nice little welcoming gift when we arrived. The owner was fantastic, very friendly and helpful. I would recommend everyone to stay at Ty nant but families with small children or wayward dogs should just be mindful that there is a drop between the garden and a stream which runs at the back of the property and no fence but we had no problems with it. I don't think any other holiday cottage can beat it on price,setting or comfort so be warned that if you go here you'll want to come back time and time again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amanhertz
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love it - go every year!”
Reviewed 5 February 2017 for a stay in May 2016

We love it here, I have been going once a year for the last 5! All with different groups of friends. The area is beautiful and I love the fact it feels like your have complete privacy. There are a few close towns which aren't much of a drive and we always find lots to do.

The house itself is pretty amazing! It has enough social rooms (cinema room AND living room) which mean if you need to get away from other people for a while you can. Good size kitchen and I love the way the doors open to the back which has a great view.

The hot tub is a nice touch, something I always go in and out of when I visit, the wet room is very helpful with this as is the washing machine. The owner is fantastic and makes sure we have everything we need.

I will continue to visit this place every year!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonzo2000...
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Family holiday ”
Reviewed 5 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Arrived at Ty Nant cottage what a lovely place. The cottage is lovely very homely feel, comfortable and clean. We had a lovely family holiday very relaxing. Few minor issues which were addressed by the owner and dealt with straight away.
Cinema room a real hit with the girls and the pool table loved by all. The kitchen is big however the fridge and freezer are not very big so allow for that. The hot tub was great, especially sitting under the stars at night. Amazing views. One small problem was the master bedroom bed, it is an Italian style and very low down, not great for a bad back. But big spacious room with on suite. Our dog loved the enclosed garden, wondering round having a good nosey.
Overall a great house, great holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mex_34
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great summer holiday stay”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of 5 (plus dog) stayed at Ty Nant for a week in August 2016. The house was well equipped, the kids loved the games room, and we all enjoyed the hot tub in the garden. Beds are comfortable, the two separate living rooms are a bonus, and the garden is large and well kept. Nature lovers will spot kingfishers and herons in the stream beyond the garden.
We were exceptionally lucky to have a week of sunshine, and the house is a good base for exploring the surrounding area, and for travelling further afield - Ynyis beach and Devils Bridge are good day trips out for all the family. Newtown is a short drive away, and has a couple of large supermarkets for all your needs. It was really helpful that the basics were in place in the kitchen and bathrooms when we got there - hand wash, toilet/kitchen roll, dishwasher tablets, milk, tea, coffee, sugar, washing up liquid and scourers - as our grocery shop was being delivered the morning after our arrival. The range cooker was easy to use, and the fridge and freezer are small, under counter sized appliances.
The owners of the house were helpful and accessible when we had questions.
We'd love to go back when it's cold enough to justify lighting the wood burning stoves!
Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
We are absolutely ecstatic that you had a great holiday at Ty Nant, thank you for taking the time to share your experience there. Between the games room, great outdoor space, surrounding wildlife and (we think our favorite feature) the hot tub, there was certainly something there for all the family! We will be sure to pass your lovely comments along to the owner and hope you return again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenbeve...
Chester
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spacious House”
Reviewed 8 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Ty Nant is a lovely house that has several entertaining rooms perfect for a large family or group of friends. The kitchen is the best room in the house, perfect for get togethers. However it was a struggle with the unusually small fridge in the kitchen and small freezer in the utility room which, given the size of the house and occupancy these appliances should be larger. Due to this our turkey, goose and ham had to be stored outside in a bag! An extra fridge was requested but was not available. Fortunately my husband waas following on a day later so I was able to ask him to bring all the kitchen equipment from home that was lacking at the house i.e another frying pan, (only one is provided), more cooking utensils, gravy boat, selection of glasses, milk jug to name a few. Also missing was the handy instruction manual for appliances, heating etc which is usually found in rental homes but we were not able to find one in Ty Nant so we had to contact the owner on several occasions regarding the heating (we were melting at one point, then freezing the next) but she was very helpful and came and adjusted the heating to our needs. The bed in the main bedroom had broken wooden slats under the mattress and this became apparent when I sank down in the bed so we had to move the good slats to support me and move the broken slats to the bottom of the bed. This issue had already been mentioned by another reviewer that obviously had not yet been addressed. The table tennis table was small but it was a great hit as was the hot tub. We agree with another reviewer that coffee tables would enhance the stay because there was nowhere to put drinks etc except on the floor in both TV rooms. To summarize we had a fabulous fun filled week at the house but would not stay over Christmas again due to the lack of space for food and inadequately equipped. I did leave a note highlighting the issues for the owner so hopefully future renters will find the house better equipped for full occupancy in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Games room and hot tub
Liked least: poorly equipped for a house of this size
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2015
Thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback that you have given us regarding Ty Nant. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the spaciousness of the property - we hope you book with us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kxyz
Bucks
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful!”
Reviewed 11 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Ty Nant is an absolutely beautiful house in a delightful setting. The experience of staying in such a house, with its unique oak-framed constrution, was like living a fairy tale. Ty Nant was apparently built only a couple of years ago and was originally intended to be a family home. For this reason, the standard of decor, furniture and fittings are of high quality.

The garden is surrounded by sheep and has wonderful views over a stream. Attached to the main house is a useful and rather more functional 'games room', with a couple of small games tables and a large television - ideal for children.

Before going to Ty Nant, I was a little concerned to read reviews on this website about maintenance issues. However, rest assured, when we were there, all these matters had been attended to and everyhting was in excellent working order.

If i could request one thing - it would be a couple of tables in the sitting room and games room to put mugs, books, games, etc, on.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing