We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booking experience excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caersws
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Calling at the hotel for a drink we were so pleased by the charm and ambience (roaring log fire on
a cold grey day) that we decided to book a stay, we were shown a choice of delightful rooms by the charming receptionist. As I have a severe food allergy they arranged to e.mail the new menus which they have duely done and the chef has offered to cook special dishes!! I am truly impressed with this consideration ,I can now look forward to our visit without the normal anxiety and problems I encounter when eating out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

Only a one night business trip stay (unfortunately). We'd been working outdoors in the freezing rain and walking into the bar / lounge area with it's roaring open fire was the warm welcome we needed!
Our rooms were full of character and both a good size, Room 9 with it's exposed beams and sloping floor, and Room 7 with it's four poster.
Dinner was excellent, Pork Terrine followed by Cod Loin on seafood spaghetti, a more basic bar menu is also available. No hand pull ales unfortunately but Bass and Leffe on tap and a good selection of single malts. so couldn't grumble too much.
A really good nights sleep was followed by a great breakfast.
Overall cracking value for a midweek stopover, we didn't see it at it's best with the constant rain and local flooding but we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Room 9 at the front of the hotel is full of character - even has a sloping floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJLucas77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My bride and groom were married on the 3rd August 2013 at Maesmawr Hall Hotel. Lee was very easy to work with even with all the changes and added extras. The staff were excellent and attentive throughout. All the rooms had character, were spotless and very comfortable and the food was simply delicious. The guests were all impressed with the venue and I hope to be able to work with this venue again in the future.

Room Tip: I would advise that it is definitely worth the extra for a Superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-Finest-Detail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed on a business trip. Pleasant location, with hotel having large elements of a very old house (irregular stairs, massive beams etc) which made it quite quirky. The bar/lounge are had a nice open fire, and the seats were very comfortable. Enjoyed a very pleasant meal with my colleagues in a drawing room which felt very special. Prices a little steep on the bar, so expenses took a hit. I had a recently upgraded room with very lovely bed, nicely presented big bathroom - but struggled with a shower which I struggled to get wet under! Old building carried quite a lot of noise from voices/ tv's etc,
Breakfast was fine - staff were willing. Good luck to the hotel owners on their modernisation of facilities - but keep the quaint charm.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freshwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed overnight as part of group. Small hotel with lots of old character, real fires and very friendly staff. Food was good but we only had Sunday menu and breakfast. Would like to have tried weekday menu - maybe next time. Only complaint was not much shower pressure. Clean rooms, welcoming and definitely a nice place to stay with well tended grounds.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

There is nothing I can fault about this amazing hotel and staff members. We were looked after excellently all the way through planning our wedding and on our wedding day. Lee the wedding planner was wonderful and it is a shame the wedding is over so I can't annoy him anymore with endless phone calls that were never too much trouble for him. The food was fabulous and all my guests commented how it was the best wedding food they had ever had and how the room was decorated wonderfully. The room we stayed in was also lovely, shame we were only in there for a matter of 6 hours - the bar seemed a better idea at the time.........
I will recommend Maesmawr to everyone and can't wait to go back and visit!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucySrhayader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

My husband booked for 2 nights at New Year but didn't book until New Year eve morning. When booking, the hotel was very helpful and accommodating. On arrival we were given a free upgrade to a suite in the Coach House which was very spacious and comfortable. Even though there was a party in the hotel we heard no noise at all. Our dinner on both evenings was excellent, extensive choice of menu and excellent food. The same could be said for breakfast. All the staff were very helpful at all times and nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and look forward to visiting again. First Class.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ela552069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caersws
11.6 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
296 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Elephant & Castle Hotel
17.3 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Gregynog Hall
Gregynog Hall
#2 of 4 in Newtown
151 reviews
15 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
748 reviews
19.2 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maesmawr Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maesmawr Hall Hotel

Address: Long Length, Caersws, Newtown SY17 5SF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Newtown > Caersws
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caersws
Price Range: £66 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maesmawr Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating from before 1600 Maesmawr Hall Hotel is the perfect country house destination for business, leisure or that very special occasion. From the minute you turn into the long driveway and glimpse the half-timbered house that is Maesmawr Hall Hotel you know you are somewhere special. The hotel has a rich history and original features can be seen throughout the main house including the stylish restaurant, cosy bar and panelled meeting room. Set amongst the glorious Powys countryside, five miles from Newtown, it’s the ideal base from which to explore mid Wales and its many attractions; while the stunning coastline of Cardigan Bay is a mere 50 minutes away. Larger towns such as Shrewsbury, Chester and Aberystwyth are also within easy reach. Visitors will also appreciate modern facilities such as wireless internet access in the main house and a large function room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Maesmawr Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maesmawr Hall
Maesmawr Hall Hotel Caersws, Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing