We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deceptive and delightful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maesmawr Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caersws
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Deceptive and delightful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

On first arrival, very impressive approach, however not terribly clear where Reception is until you are at the Bar already, this may not be a bad thing though. I booked twin room and for £125prpn, was delighted to find this to be much more like a suite. Fantastic spacious shower, separate bath, little side area for making drinks, seating area and then bedroom. Rob/Lee and Ange looked after us both very well, nothing was too much trouble and we both felt very much at home. Breakfast was good, with plenty of choice. If I had to pick fault, it would be that the approach and entrance to our room, got narrower and narrower and the ceiling/beams could even catch me out and and I am only 5ft3", this and that one of the beds ran down hill, but then what do you expect on floorboards that old. Very clean. Booking again. Great location for Newtown and surrounding areas. Tarmac drive and car park for all your bikers!

Room Tip: We had Room 22.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisaabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    80
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
64
111
8
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We booked the function room to celebrate my parents 50 wedding aniversary. All the time we were making the arrangements Maesmawr Hall could not of being more obliging and helpful. On the day the function room was arranged perfectly. The food could not have been better and the comments from everyone was amazing and all of the management and staff worked so hard. I would definately recommend a party if you have something to celebrate at Maesmawr Hall.

Thank you
Annie

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebellwalesWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
179 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed for one night on their 24 hour conference delegate rate.
Pros: All the staff were attentive and friendly; excellent parking; pleasant environment; the food is generally good.
Cons: Some of the bedrooms are very dated.
Generally the staff's positive and helpful attitude throughout outweighs the fact that some of the bedrooms are in dire need of refurbishment (which is on-going). Would use again, provided I get a decent bedroom for the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshman_on_2ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

My son and I were recommended to this hotel for a one night stopover and pleased that we did.
The main building is full of character and charm with a wonderful log fire in the bar area.

We had intended to venture into the local town for dinner but after viewing the hotel menu just had to stay and sample the wonderful dishes on offer and we were not disappointed. 'Thank you Chef'

The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly and our rooms, not in the main building but in the Coach House were large and comfortable.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to stay again when next in the area.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank HS0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The 'annexe' or coach house is where many bedrooms are, not so much grandeur there as in the main building. Next time I would hope to stay in the main building, part or all of which is 'proper old'. The coachhouse is 'proper old coachhose' but done up to a finish which exceeds cheap but fails to hit really nice (but I have in the past been spoiled by my travels).

Great breakfast was had, and the bar was great on the evening (I would advise that ecigarettes can be an unexpected irritation, but that is 100% not the problem of the proprietors, suggest they consider if they are OK or not to use in what would have formerly been the reeking cigar and log fire lounge area :)

To their credit the staff/proprietors dealt with my grumpy self rather well.

I give myself two stars as a guest and the venue four stars.

Room Tip: Call ahead to book into the charm of the main building, not the coachhouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank CPHLN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for one night during my north wales countryside trip. Arriving in the early evening I could take full benefit of the outside area of the hotel with plenty of comfortable seats and tables. Restaurant was excellent but food arrived well done rather medium rare. Seems to be more an English problem than specific for the hotel. Staff was always very friendly and really made a great impression. The hotel itself is in a wonderful Tudor house with all it's original features. I loved the quirkyness of the place. Overall a great place to stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank HelicopterMgmt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Maesmawr was the venue for a family function of 32 on a Saturday afternoon. The building is very old and interesting but the function took place in the back room, which is large with lots of natural light. The room and table were beautifully set and the day felt special from the start.

We had a warm welcome from Lee, who was overseeing our function and took care of every detail.

The meal itself was faultless and of a high standard. It was hot, tasty and plentiful, served expertly by well-trained staff. The ambience was relaxed and there were no time restraints.

Everything about Maesmawr was of a high standard, from wine to loos. I look forward to my next visit.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenscreengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caersws
13.5 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gregynog Hall
Gregynog Hall
#3 of 4 in Newtown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
17.6 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#1 of 16 in Newtown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maesmawr Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maesmawr Hall Hotel

Property: Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Address: Long Length, Caersws, Newtown SY17 5SF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Newtown > Caersws
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caersws
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maesmawr Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating from before 1600 Maesmawr Hall Hotel is the perfect country house destination for business, leisure or that very special occasion. From the minute you turn into the long driveway and glimpse the half-timbered house that is Maesmawr Hall Hotel you know you are somewhere special. The hotel has a rich history and original features can be seen throughout the main house including the stylish restaurant, cosy bar and panelled meeting room. Set amongst the glorious Powys countryside, five miles from Newtown, it’s the ideal base from which to explore mid Wales and its many attractions; while the stunning coastline of Cardigan Bay is a mere 50 minutes away. Larger towns such as Shrewsbury, Chester and Aberystwyth are also within easy reach. Visitors will also appreciate modern facilities such as wireless internet access in the main house and a large function room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Maesmawr Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maesmawr Hall
Maesmawr Hall Hotel Caersws, Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing