We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay for a wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caersws
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have just stayed here for a weekend for a relative's wedding and had a great time. The building is a very pretty Jacobean style timbered house with a modern extension and set in lovely grounds with mature trees. The staff were excellent - nothing was too much trouble and it has a lovely relaxed, quiet atmosphere. The food was also very good - fresh fruit salad and lots of choice for cooked breakfasts and in the evening a choice from a light bites menu or a more formal a la carte menu. The a la carte is reasonably expensive but we thought it was nice. The grounds are lovely and its easy to find a quiet spot to sit on their nice all weather rattan furniture with a coffee or a glass of wine.

The only downside was we were in a room (5) that had not been redone yet as part of the ongoing revamp they are doing and it really does need doing. They have replaced all the linen throughout the hotel so that was nice to have new hotel style white Egyptian cotton bedlinen, but other than that the room was very dated and falling to pieces (the loo seat was hanging off etc). A major downside for us was also that a lot of the rooms seem only have the very small 4 ft 6 size beds rather than a kingsize or Queensize bed, which would be much more comfortable and also we had no bath - just a very small shower room. This didn't bother us that much as we were there for a wedding so not in the room that much but we wouldn't have booked somewhere with such small beds and no bath for a weekend away.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slc41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Family visit for two nights
Great hotel very picturesque very good service staff were extremely friendly and helpful good food excellent stay.
shower in room could do with upgrade though
children loved eating outside and grounds were lovely which they could run in.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Smtret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights on business and everything about it was very good.
I had a lovely room with fantastic views out over the fields and I ate my evening meals in a cosy room with a roaring fire.
The service was that good that they even contacted me in my room to see if I was eating one night as they would not let the chef go home in case I was coming down to dinner.
A great hotel that I would love to return to but this time for pleasure rather than business

Room Tip: I had a room at the back right hand corner of the hotel and the views were fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Just got back from a two day (one night) training residential here and was very impressed. The hotel is beautiful and in a fantastic spot. The rooms were top class and the food was the best I have had in some time. The best part was probably the service though. Most professional and attentive staff I have come across. Thanks.

Room Tip: Coach house number 23!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank guyfromupnortho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

A group of 23 friends took up the special 3-day offer at Maesmawr Hall Hotel, for a get-together. Best choice we ever made. The rooms are great, food was excellent, with a wide choice of menu items, and the staff were extremely helpful - they couldn't have done more for us. I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank RosieL60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I spent one night in the beautifully decorated Executive Suite in the Coach House annexe. The whole place is absolutely stunning. Neil was extremely attentive and I felt that I was very well looked after. All I need now is an excuse to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluehook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Lovely place to stay
stayed for a week while working on the new subway store in Newtown.
Would definitely return if I was in the area.
Set in lovely grounds brilliant staff an the food was excellent .
Thanks again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Shelley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caersws
4.2 mi away
The Elephant & Castle Hotel
15.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
701 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Gregynog Hall
Gregynog Hall
#3 of 4 in Newtown
91 reviews
17.3 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,551 reviews
13.5 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maesmawr Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maesmawr Hall Hotel

Address: Long Length, Caersws, Newtown SY17 5SF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Newtown > Caersws
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caersws
Price Range: £78 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maesmawr Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating from before 1600 Maesmawr Hall Hotel is the perfect country house destination for business, leisure or that very special occasion. From the minute you turn into the long driveway and glimpse the half-timbered house that is Maesmawr Hall Hotel you know you are somewhere special. The hotel has a rich history and original features can be seen throughout the main house including the stylish restaurant, cosy bar and panelled meeting room. Set amongst the glorious Powys countryside, five miles from Newtown, it’s the ideal base from which to explore mid Wales and its many attractions; while the stunning coastline of Cardigan Bay is a mere 50 minutes away. Larger towns such as Shrewsbury, Chester and Aberystwyth are also within easy reach. Visitors will also appreciate modern facilities such as wireless internet access in the main house and a large function room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Maesmawr Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maesmawr Hall
Maesmawr Hall Hotel Caersws, Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing