We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Could have staaaayd!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Caersws, Newtown, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Keith B
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Could have staaaayd!”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We were a party of 13, aged 2 years to 72 years . We stayed in this glorious property for 2 weeks. The house is basically upside down, enhancing the breath taking views. The indoor swimming pool was used daily, and the hot tub was very relaxing. Both these facilities were tended daily, by Stuart our friendly owner, making sure they were kept clean. Even though we had 5 children under 13, peace and tranquility ruled. The nearest town is Newtown just 4 miles away, has all major high street outlets. Beaches are appr. 50 miles away. Stuart the owner lives on sight and nothing too much trouble, for him, to enhance your stay. I would certainly highly recommend ,this clean and spacious property.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
We couldn't be happier that you and your party had a great holiday at Old Rectory Cottage, thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. It sounds like there was something for all the family at this property, the swimming pool in particular sounds like fun for all ages! We will be sure to pass your lovely comments along to the owner and hope you return for another stay soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KennyC859
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing - Stunning - WOW!”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I honestly do not know where to start, this cottage was stunning in every single way possible. A lot of time and money has been spent making the cottage and the grounds as high spec as can be and The Old Rectory did not fail to please.

When we first arrived we were a tad early and the cleaners (who were very friendly) were still hard at work but we were told that we could have a look around the grounds whilst they finished off doing the brilliant cleaning job that they did, spotless from top to bottom.

The first thing to look at was the pool house...WOW!
This is the reason our family of 13 picked this cottage and it was more than we expected. A great big heated pool surrounded by comfortable pool furniture, changing rooms, showers and a toilet. Before long we headed back to the house where we found that the cleaners had finished and the cottage was ready for us to begin our holiday. We were met by Stuart's mother Cynthia who was an amazing lady, so friendly and so kind and took an instant liking to my 5 year old daughter, she made us feel at home and gave us the grand tour of the property. Once she had finished the tour and showed us how to use the hot tub (which was amazing might I add) she left us to it to enjoy our holiday.

The cottage itself it stunning from top to bottom, everything has been thought of to make everyone's holiday all the more pleasurable. The kitchens are fully stocked with every pot, pan, utensil, and gadget you will need during your stay. Both living rooms are full of comfortable sofas and chairs with massive big screen TVs in each one. Every bedroom has a tv as well but I will be the first to admit that during my stay I must of watched no more than 15 minutes of television which is a record for me as at home it is constantly on, yet here, there is so much to do and so much family time to enjoy that I really didn't even feel the need to put it on.

I could go on and on about how great this place is but it really does need to be seen to believed.

The highlights of the holiday was the pool house, hours and hours of fun was spent here from early morning dips to late night swims with the family, it really was the main attraction of the property. The hot tub as well was out of this world, sitting in there at night looking up at the millions of stars was a great ending to the day. The grounds were used to their full potential, we played badminton, football & rounders and on one occasion used the fully equipped BBQ provided to have a family meal.

The views of the surrounding countryside were out of this world and many of us spent time enjoying them. The cottage is only a 10 minute drive from Newtown which has all the shops and amenities we required during our stay - supermarkets, pharmacists, banks, restaurants and even a cinema.

When our 7 day stay was over none of us wanted to leave, this holiday was great for spending time with family and really relaxing and enjoying each others company . The little ones in our group (5 year old girl, 6 year old boy, 14 year old girl & 14 year old boy) were never bored and always had something to do.

The owner Stuart was very friendly and came every day to test ph & chlorine levels of the hot tub & pool and make sure everything was good. You are left completely alone by the owners but if they are ever needed they are only a phone call away and will help with anything that you need.

In a nutshell, would I recommend this cottage....too right I would.

We are hoping to go back next year although this may not be possible due to the new plans of the property which would mean a shared pool with another cottage. Sad as it is and as much as we would love to return, if the pool was not exclusive to this cottage and had to be shared and time slots booked then we would have to look at renting some where else. The luxury of this cottage is the pool and the fact that you can use it at any time morning, noon or night is the pulling power for such a glamorous property. I really do hope that Stuart and his team decide to leave it the way it is as I would come back in a heartbeat and we are already planning on booking up for next year once we know for sure regarding the pool situation.

Stuart & Cynthia, thank you for an amazing time, we hope to see you again.

Also, a big thank you to my family who made the holiday what it was.....AMAZING.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful review, we are absolutely thrilled that you had a fabulous family holiday at Old Rectory Cottage. What you describe sounds like the perfect holiday for all the family, and we would agree that the swimming pool would be the cherry on the cake! With all the entertainment you could need on the doorstep we aren't surprised there was little time for TV and nobody was ever bored! We will be sure to pass your compliments along to the owners and hope you return to enjoy the place again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L
1 review
“Wow”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A beautiful cottage, well equipped of the highest standard. Sole use of the hot tub and swimming pool made this stay extra special. Our whole family enjoyed a relaxing weeks stay.
Stuart and his mum were wonderful hosts.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2016
We are thrilled to hear that you and your family had a great holiday at Old Rectory Cottage and had everything you needed to hand there, plus, the hot tub and swimming pool - definitely a welcome treat! We certainly hope you return again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlliC_1
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Private, Peaceful, Perfect!”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a week at the Old Rectory Cottage with my husband and 3 children, with three members of our family joining us for a couple of days.
What a stunning property! Beautifully furnished, gorgeous views and everything thought of, from a better equipped kitchen than we have at home, to games, books and WiFi, and a TV in every bedroom.
We spent hours on the peaceful patio, sitting on the loungers and drinking in the beautiful scenery and some of our party tried the jacuzzi, which was amazing
The pool is huge and the pool house has showers, a loo, changing rooms, seating and toys for the kids to play with in the water. The pool was always a lovely temperature.
Despite the owner living next door, the property is very private - we only saw Stuart when we needed something. He is hugely welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for him - he even contacted us after we had left to let us know we had left something of value behind.
Our relatives had to leave on the third day and didn't want to go! We felt the same on our final morning at the cottage. It really is the most relaxing holiday we have had in a long time and we cannot wait to return next year.
Thank you Stuart for such a great holiday property!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing at all!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt1708
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Just returned home after a long weekend at the cottage with family. Firstly the surroundings and views from the cottage are breathtaking, there is a lot of privacy which was perfect for us as we had small children but, Only a few miles away was the local town which has everything you need from supermarkets, mini shops to fast food.

The cottage was spectacular and has been designed and finished to an extremely high standard, the pictures do NOT do this place justice!!

The owner was also so friendly and helpful, went out of his numerous times to help us.

finally the swimming pool and hot tub are amazing both are lovely temperatures.

Truly amazing its a MUST visit and you will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: swimming pool
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share this fabulous feedback, we couldn't be happier that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Old Rectory Cottage. It is wonderful to hear that the property exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed all the facilities on offer there - the swimming pool and hot tub sound particularly luxurious! We will be sure to pass all of your lovely comments along to the owner! We certainly hope that you make a return visit very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“mrs”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

THE BEST WEEKEND EVER, for our group its a yearly treat, we always try to go different places but when we got to this cottage we felt like nothing else could top this. The house is what you see on the picture and more and its TOTAL privacy even though owner lives on site its 100% privacy. There's also a book inside that recommend places to go around the area so we went to the WATERFALL OMG it was the cherry on top. Overall it was just brilliant, i would highly recommend this place.

(Dun knuw a fi go back Stuart big up uself)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2016
We are absolutely over the moon that you enjoyed your yearly treat at Old Rectory Cottage, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay there. It is wonderful to hear that you felt the property would be hard to top, we will be sure to pass your compliments along to the owner! The waterfall sounds fabulous, that book sounds like it was invaluable! We certainly hope that you return for another visit very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia J
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place, spectacular views!”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a large group of 14 of us (5 of them children) and we all thoroughly enjoyed the stay at the Old Rectory. The views were outstanding, the cottage has been decorated to a high standard, and we had all of the amenities we needed. The Pool was superb and big enough to have all of the adults and children in there most of the time! The hot tub was a lovely bonus, and we even braved this in the cold!! I loved the fact the bedrooms were downstairs, and two of them had french doors out to the gardens. Lovely place, and you felt relaxed just looking at the acres of land outside, and hills! The children loved the pool and all improved their swimming and even the youngest were joining in jumping in the deep end with the older ones! Great place, nice and quiet and peaceful, and the owners have made sure everything is to a high standard, and lovely decor too. Would really recommend to anyone who is looking for peace and quiet and to enjoy time with their families/friends. The week went way too quickly! Thanks for a fabulous memory for my upcoming 40th Birthday and my sisters 38th birthday celebrations, as well as celebrating my nephews birthday! We all had a fantastic break! :0)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: pool!
Liked least: leaving...
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share this thoroughly lovely review with us all, we are absolutely over the moon that you enjoyed your time at Old Rectory Cottage. The pool certainly sounds like it was a massive hit with everyone! What a fun way to keep the children entertained (and brush up on their swimming skills!). We couldn't be happier that you all had such a fabulous time for your special birthday celebrations and hope that you return for another visit very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing