We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nanhoron Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Nefyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I have today returned form a three day break staying at the Nanhoron Arms Hotel. It has been a great experience with friendly staff, nice rooms and outstanding food. Nothing is to much trouble I will definatly return to this hotel and I am pleased to recommend it.

Room Tip: room 102 has a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thundercat24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

took a dear dear friend out to dinner for her 94 th birthday,she ate like there was no tomorrow,i love my food especially home produce but could not keep up with her.the visit we had was out of this world,did not look at the surrounding areas just consentrated on the home made cooking and was not dissatified at all

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraint L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Called in late afternoon for tea & cakes as advertised on board outside hotel - only scones available. We were visiting the area and may have considered staying at this hotel, however we were put off by dark unwelcoming reception area and rather grubby eating area - the seating was very grubby and debris from previous diners still remained. Staff were friendly and did their best to encourage us to dine there in the evening. Based on our afternoon tea experience we would not consider staying at this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LinJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

It wasn't a good start. I checked in at 8.30am and asked if I could join for breakfast some relatives who had stayed the previous night.

"You'll have to pay for it" the receptionist barked.

OK. I wasn't expecting a free breakfast.

"And we haven't got any tomatoes."

Never mind.

"Or mushrooms"

OK, I'll have whatever's going.

For a moment we had been transported back to the 1970s when the locals had a habit of turning their backs and switching languages if your name wasn't Jones, Williams or Parry. (Happily, it's different today since the catering and retail sectors have realised which side their bread is buttered.)

Breakfast arrived - sans tomatoes and mushrooms - also lacking that basic ingredient, toast. By the time the waitress arrived I'd finished with brekky, so let it drop. Afterwards I spoke to the receptionist about this miserable offering. She had by now mellowed and offered me a 40% discount on the "meal". Thank you.

Other than that, it was a pleasant stay. The Nanhoron is in surprisingly good shape for a seaside hotel dependent on seasonal trade. The bedroom was clean and comfortable; the bar and reception areas are well kept and smartly decorated.

In the evening we enjoyed a dinner party for some 20 people. This was really quite good, especially my starter - a very generous helping of perfectly cooked scallops wrapped in bacon. Everyone seemed well satisfied with their meal.

Nice to see this long-established hotel still thriving. Four stars minus one for the breakfast incident.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulHowardCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We found the staff in this hotel to be excellent, friendly and helpful. Delightful. The restaurant meal was delicious - highly recommended. The tables and chairs add little to the ambience although those in the entrance area are very good. The bedroom and shower en-suite was spacious and spotlessly clean but the beds were not comfortable and thus we had a poor night's sleep. Breakfast was ok. So, it was an adequate stay made memorable by the dinner. We will stay there again but will ask for beds with newer mattresses.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Four of us (Two Couples) stayed here in February 2013 and we really enjoyed it. The room was perfectly adequate and the accompanying breakfast was very good. We ate both nights in the restaurant as it was so good. The tapas on Saturday night was great. The rate of £79 per room including breakfast is a bargain and we all agreed we will be staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front with bay windows look the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RafflesManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

The Nanhoron is a very reasonable hotel in Nefyn. Fantastic location close to Pwllehi, Abersoch and Snowdonia. Staff very friendly and excellent food in the restaurant. Rooms are basic but I have no complaints

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crisus1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nefyn
11.4 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
12.3 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
17.7 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
301 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Egryn, Abersoch
The Egryn, Abersoch
#4 of 12 in Abersoch
152 reviews
1.7 mi away
Yr Hen Felin - The Old Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nanhoron Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nanhoron Arms Hotel

Address: Ffordd Dewi Sant | Pwllheli, Nefyn LL53 6EA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Nefyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nefyn
Price Range: £79 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Nanhoron Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nanhoron Arms Hotel Nefyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing