We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh my god it was awful”
Review of Caeau Capel Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nefyn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Caeau Capel Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nefyn
Reviewed 1 July 2011

On entering this hotel, you will be suprised to find you are not in a nursing home as the lounge area is an empty mass of old people chairs pushed against the walls, just waiting for saggy bottoms! There is an awful smell as though the old people just left. It is quite unacceptable to open a hotel of this standard and expect people to stay there. We could only stay one night, the smell was so bad. It would cost a fortune to renovate a hotel of this size. It is in a beautiful position and in it's day would have been a beautiful hotel but it is way past it's sell by date. If it were mine, I would knock down the wing at the back and concentrate on the attractive front part of the hotel and have a smaller but much improved number of rooms to attract people would appreciate a home away from home.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank virginmaryIlkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Caeau Capel Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2011

We were the only guests and the hotel was very cold and unwelcoming. The shower in our room was a ruber hose attatchment to the bath taps. Our main complaint was the price of the food we paid £22 for 2 courses which consisted of a bit of bought pate and white toast and the main course was a frozen steak pie with frozen veg and chips. We only saw 1 member of staff who was quite pleasant but there was absolutely no atmosphere to the place. we did not stay for breakfast which would have cost us £10 each.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank desperadoscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Good value for money, clean and comfortable. Service was excellent and friendly welcome. Location brilliant for coastal walking. However it was not modern and could do with a bit of redecorating and upgrading.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivanhoe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

we had a lovely stay in this hotel, basically you are left alone to relax and the rooms are clean despite what brummy lad said in another review as i come from brum and we dont all moan about nothing, the hotel has a very warm and homley feel, and the staff are very friendly, and the food is very nice, you forget you are in a hotel and feel very much at home. mazza

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mazzaraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2008

my wife and i loved every minute in this hotel. the staff were friendly and welcoming. the rooms were well thought out and accommadating.every detail was thouroughly well planned by the staff and we were made to feel special. the food was to die for it was all locally produced and beautifully cooked to perfection.
having an evening meal in this hotel was a relaxed unrushed social event and made even more special by the attentive staff.
the main course of lamb was out of this world and the morning meal was a welcome st art to a lovely days sightseeing...we will with out a doubt visit this hotel again i recommend anyone who wishes to relax and unwind to do so..

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank garryali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2007

A friendly family who run it. The restaurant staff are friendly too. . The new owners have added toiletries, decent biscuits and wireless internet which is a start. They have plenty of parking and a lovely garden. It is a massive undetaking taking on a place like this and one has to wish them all the luck in the world. The hotel needs a refurb. though. But they do have a well stocked bar.
There's a new Indian restaurant in the town which is excellent - can't remember what it is called but there's only one. Even the staff in the Spar are really friendly. The local beach is not far to walk although if you are not so good on your feet you might want to take the car to get down the last slope! But that's nothing to do with the hotel. Nice cafe on the beach too.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ddraigcoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2007

Given the prices that are charged by this hotel, I was gravley disapointed with the cleanliness of the rooms , and the prominant smell of cooking oil. On our arrival we were shown to a room, that at a glance was not very clean but we kindley accepted Upon further inspection I had noticed that the floor could not have been cleaned, their was hair in the sink and a half eaten packet of bisccuit on the side. It was at this point that I had decided to inform the recptionist of the rooms condition. We were then moved to a room that was bigger but not much cleaner. This room was dimley lit, with again dirty floors and a very dirty bath which was not fit for use.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BirminghamBrown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nefyn
12.4 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
392 reviews
11.5 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
12.4 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
111 reviews
17.5 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nanhoron Arms Hotel
Nanhoron Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nefyn
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caeau Capel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caeau Capel Hotel

Address: Rhodfa'r Mor, Nefyn LL53 6EB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Nefyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nefyn
Price Range: £37 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Caeau Capel Hotel Nefyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing