We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not fault it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hirwaun
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was a Groupon gift from our Daughter for our 39th. Wedding Anniversary.Amongst beautiful surroundings we were warmly welcomed and given a room with 3 single beds and a double bed,it was LARGE to say the least.Bathroom was also on the large size with Bath/Shower,Toilet,Towel Radiator and all the usual Soaps and Gells. Tea/Coffee making facilities with biscuits.Free Wi-Fi.The bar was cosy and prices very reasonable.The food was awesome.We had Mushroom and Garlic soup to start,superb.Main course was the Rump Lamb and i can honestly say "it was the BEST lamb I've ever tasted".Many thank's to the Chefs.Finally the Cheese Board was enough to feed 2 people let alone 1.Staff are very efficient and friendly.Breakfast was just as good.The quality of the food,the friendliness of all the staff makes this Hotel hard to fault and we would definitely go back.Thank you Ty Newydd for a great stay.

Room Tip: Room 25,very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Our first trip to Wales and we really had a terrific time. Inn staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel grounds, complete with sheep, horses and gardens were bucolic. Food was very good - especially our dinners. Hope to go back someday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingsfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This hotel has a beautiful setting to be much more than a 3 star hotel, and from the outside looks special. For all the improvements going on inside, modernising rather than being an old fashioned country hotel, it needs much more than this.
Breakfast consists of a buffet, but sack the cook, fried eggs slightly raw and as for the scramble I thought it looked like porridge totally non descript and the rest was very average. Coffee consisted of nescaff sachets, to help yourself with, I think a little serving at breakfast would not go amiss. Staff all though very helpful, if you asked for something, seemed unorganised with plenty of standing around when tables need clearing.
Evening meal was much the same, in trying to serve Gourmet food they need to add some sauce to there meals, they came out dry and lacked flavour. Vegetables were extra and came in a tiny bowl that I would not serve to a mouse. Food not cheap either. On our second evening went to Hirwaun to the Glancynon Inn, they would learn a lot from here, place was packed, food was perfect. On our return we were asked would we like to eat this evening, they only had one couple eating, that says a lot.
We upgraded from a standard to a delux room. It was very clean and tidy, but the bed was a standard double that had seen better days we kept rolling to the middle. Tv was a waste of time was not getting any reception, was to low down, so could not see it whilst lying on the bed .
So all in all a 3star hotel, always will be. We did enjoy our stay its a beautiful area in Wales and that's what we came to see.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LJBCarmarthenshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights 10 & 11 April 2014 in room 5, the staff can't do enough to help Alex and Irene were brilliant, as we arrived late on the first night we rang ahead and Alex found us somewhere to eat nearby and Irene changed the reservation we had in the restaurant for the next night. The hotel was lovely and a great location to see the Brecon Beacons. The room was clean and we'll decorated a few minor points door handle coming off to bathroom, socket loose near the bed and couldn't open the window but that's being very picky. The restaurant was lovely and food excellent. Restaurant has just been refurbished and is both modern but relaxing and service was efficient. Breakfast was buffet style and couldn't fault the food and the staff were helpful and polite. Had a good chat to one if the team at breakfast who told us all about the changes and places to visit and about the weddings, didn't get her name but a credit to the team. All in all a wonderful few days and if you get the chance travel up to Brecon town and visit the Cathedral and Heritage Centre a great visit.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Adamski43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Having know this establishment I booked in for 4 nights but sadly after the evening meal on the first night I was very disappointed. Taken into the new Resturant very new and empty except for one couple we were placed within two feet of them. Ordered the meal Steak appearred but no chips I enquired and was told they will be along in a moment not as though they were rushed with 4 customers I waited 5 mins. Brreakfast was served in another room and cooked for you and impressive until last moring when we were placed in the new resturant and food was out under lamps and downward step in my opinion. Coffee seemed to go from filter to Nescafe and you preparing it yourself A lot needs to be sorted.Breakfast staff and the young gentleman behind reception were very good and attentive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellernevis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I had a very large room which was comfortable although the tv signal intermittent, well it is in the valleys, bathroom probably needed freshening up but it was fine. 20 minute walk to Hirwaun where you will find the Glancynon Inn a CAMRA pub. Staff were fine especially the lady on in the afternoon and evening. Freshly cooked breakfast went down a storm nice stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank iantoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed for one night last weekend on a Living Social deal. Hotel is well situated for exploring the Brecon beacons. Pen y fan is about 20 minutes away and we enjoyed the climb up and the views! Dinner at the hotel was excellent, with a good choice. we found the staff attentive and friendly. Our deluxe room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. Freshly cooked and a great portion. On Sunday, we found another walk to waterfalls 10m drive from the hotel which was great.
We had a great time!

Room Tip: We had room 14
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hirwaun
5.7 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
11.4 mi away
Heritage Park Hotel
Heritage Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pontypridd
297 reviews
6.5 mi away
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
#1 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Llechwen Hall Hotel
Llechwen Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Pontypridd
426 reviews
15.1 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
970 reviews
6.4 mi away
Tregenna Hotel
Tregenna Hotel
#2 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Newydd Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Newydd Country Hotel

Address: Penderyn Road, Hirwaun, Aberdare CF44 9SX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Rhondda Cynon Taff > Aberdare > Hirwaun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hirwaun
Price Range: £74 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ty Newydd Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ty Newydd Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Newydd Country Aberdare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing